9/07 Rufus AMPS 274... +7 87... PMPS 235

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Blue!

Morning, everyone.

Woke up in the wee hours of the morning and couldn't go back to sleep, so I'll definitely want to skip the coffee and take a good nap at some point here.

As for the important part:

Whoops! Forgot to update Rufus' Spreadsheet (and thread) with his PMPS yesterday. It's wasn't heart-crushingly bad, but it wasn't great either - between Rufus' happy nadir of 130 and dinner time he had jumped up to 270. Well, for a PS test, we can definitely cope with that.

This morning, his AMPS was 274. Once again - not stellar, but not depressing either, and if you look back at his SS, you'll notice that during his initial 1.00u run he seemed to like to spend his early mornings in the 200s. At this moment, he's upstairs sleeping (and pouting) because I shooed him away from the dog food. He'll come down eventually - maybe when he realizes that there's lots of good sunlight to sleep in down here. I don't remember getting any purrs this morning, but he was cranky for his breakfast. Litterbox is normal, he's definitely feeling frisky (the dog food is more of a game to him than an actual want, I think), and he was good and damp from his bath when I came downstairs. He's certainly acting like he feels good. :)

We got a voicemail from Rufus' vet about his diet. She thought it looked great, but urged us to handle the chicken on our own to avoid e.coli and salmonella poisoning as best as we can. (We were planning on parboiling and chopping, so that ought to reduce our risk to an extent). She also mentioned she'd been watching his Spreadsheet (we sent her the link) and she loves it. I think she may be pointing her other Diabetic Beans in this direction now - if for her ability to track her patients' progress only.

At first I was unsure about her - but to be honest, with scheduling issues, I had never been present when she discussed Rufus' condition (my mother was, obviously). So that wasn't fair of me at all. After being at a Rufus Appointment once my mind was very much set at ease. I like her and I trust her (even for my little devil angel). :lol:

Today is a busy work day, and since I don't drive (and Mom handles the vet bills, lol), we'll probably have to postpone the trip to the Animal Control center until tomorrow. I'll get in contact with them to see if John/Jack/Finn is even still available to adopt. It would be awful to get there and be told he went home with someone else the week before and they just hadn't taken down his listings. :-|

I'll cross my eyes and hope that everyone has a good day, full of lots of cool, breezy numbers. :-D
 
Re: 9/07 Rufus AMPS 274, +7 87 & 72 - 15mins. lapsed. Huh?

Alright, I didn't get a +3 (or 4, 5, or 6) but I just woke up from my nap and took a +7 that read 87. The blood was a little sparse, so I wondered if it wasn't a bit of an error. I waited about fifteen minutes and took his reading again... it was 72. I have no idea why he's dropped like this, but it's got me concerned with a 200 point disparity in his AMPS and current state.

I fed him a little LC snack - about a quarter of a 3 oz. can. He ate it right up, and is now sitting on the window seat, watching the neighborhood. I'll take another reading in a few minutes, and see if it wasn't just a boo-boo, but I figured "better safe than sorry". Needless to say, those numbers snapped me out of my nap-haze. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/07 Rufus AMPS 274, +7 87 & 72 - 15mins. lapsed. Huh?

Ok, we're back to 87. That's the tiniest bit reassuring. Weird: when he saw me sit in the chair he immediately climbed off the window seat, onto the arm of the chair, and sat himself right in my lap. :shock: Do I hear Twilight Zone music? Or do you suppose this is his way of telling me I don't need another cat? Hmm... :lol:
 
Re: 9/07 Rufus AMPS 274, +7 87 & 72 - 15mins. lapsed. Huh?

The difference between the 2 tests is probably just meter variance. There is about a 10 - 20% variability in numbers which is about what you saw. Any measurement has innate variance -- just goes with the territory. It's a small amount when numbers are low but there can be quite a range when numbers are in the pink or red zone.
 
Re: 9/07 Rufus AMPS 274, +7 87/72, +8 111 stick w/ 1u or go sk?

Lol, it occurred to me after I posted it - but even if it was just the meter, at +8 he's 111, so that feels a little better... except it could easily be attributed to the snack I gave him. My BIG worry now is... tonight's dose! If he continues on a consistent rise up until his +12 should I give the full 1u, drop it to a skinny 1, go lower, go not at all... ah, choices, choices.

I really want to get him regulated on the 1.00u and I know if we keep bobbing it's not going to happen, but a freak nadir in the 70's/80's is beyond me. Other than patiently appearing for his tests, he's acting perfectly normal - taking a bath right no- or leaving me for another room.
 
Re: 9/07 Rufus AMPS 274, +7 87/72, +8 111 stick with 1 or go sk?

looks like 1u bid is beginning to do good things! rufus is liking this dose. :-D
i would stick with 1u unless something unusual happens between now and shot time.
post for advice before shooting if you're unsure...
 
PMPS is 235. Alright, going to shoot 1u. Things look better now for Rufus. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top