9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE at 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehsuan

Member Since 2011
Previous Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=51467

Happy Labor Day everyone. Hope you got the day off!

Wasn't able to post yesterday, but here are Tableau's numbers from 9/04:

AMPS 346
+ 3 141
+8 104
PMPS 154!!!
+3.5 80

Today's numbers:
AMPS 251
+ 2 138
+ 4 48
+ 4.5 36
+4.75 37
+5 43
+ 5.5 35
+ 6 30
+6.25 +32 gave karo
gave karo and food until we got him up to 46 @+7.25
+7.5 83
+ 8 87
got the sheet of paper wet, so not sure of exact numbers until...
+ 9 136
+ 10 211
+11 318


I am watching him closely to make sure he doesn't go into hypo and will get readings every 15-30 min, til he starts to go up.

So, it looks like a dose decrease is in order, right? from 1.75 to 1.5?

Oh, yeah, and he finally pooped on his own last night, and a fairly substantial amount. Never thought I'd be so happy to see cat poop! :lol:
Thanks.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 + 4 48- reduce dose?

hi emily! i'll let someone else answer that question, but just wanted to say hi and cheer tableau on! what super numbers this weekend!
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 + 4 48- reduce dose?

Hi, Julie. I hope you are having a great labor day!

Yes, I am so happy to see what he's done the last two days...I'm cautiously optimistic that the giant bounding is over!
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 + 4 48- reduce dose?

Unfortunately, and I hope I'm wrong and Tableau is moving up a few grades in Liver Training School, I'm thinking there will be a bounce. There's a 200 point drop in 4 hours. That's a lot -- so don't be surprised if numbers shoot back up.

What to do about dose really depends on how hard you have to work to get Tableau's numbers up today. If it's a lot of work to get the numbers up, it may make sense to reduce the dose.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 + 4 48 +4.5 36 +5 43

lather, rinse, repeat. I would keep feeding/testing every 20-30 minutes until he is at least holding in the 50s. And yes, congrats on the reduction!
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 in the 30s

Any updates?

OK. So I was wrong. Sort of. I guess you had to work. Congrats on the reduction. (I do suspect there will be a bounce, though.)
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 in the 30s

Oh, he's at 36 right now. I gave him some karo - 2 x, so far. I wish he'd come up. Not sure what else to do. No symptoms of Hypo, but...I could give him more karo - usually I give him 1 ml but that just sends him waaaay high, so I tried just piutting some on my finger and rubbing his tongue - I did this twice so far.

Any advice?
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

what + hour is it now?

is he eating anything to go along with the karo? Have you tried high carb wet food? Usually that helps bump them up and also gives them some food to help keep them up. Sometimes you do have to repeat a bunch of times, though. Test, gravy, test again, repeat... A little at a time so he doesn't get too full.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

don't worry about sending him way too high, ok?

what + hour is it now?
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

Personally, I don't care if 1 ml makes Tableau zoom up, get him out of the 30s. If a cat is going to surf in low numbers, we look for a surf in the 50s or 60s. You have no room for error with a cat in the 30s. You've earned the decrease now work to bump the numbers up, please.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

RIght now is +7 and I just tested and he's at 33. Gave more Karo, this time.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

if he won't eat, then go ahead and give more karo. You can rub some on his gums too, for good measure. It can't hurt.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

He's eating now - only cooked chicken, won't eat the carby fancy feast.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

Now he's eating fancy feast - not the carby stuff, just regular. still not interested in carby.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

Several drops of Karo on LC food is fine. It works just as well as gravy. Just don't dish up a big plate of food. Use about a teaspoon of food plus several drops of Karo.

Please remember to bookmark or print out the sticky on shooting and managing low numbers when you have a chance.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE in the 30s for a w

better. lather, rinse, and repeat.
re-test in 20 minutes, please.
 
Re: 9/05 Tableau AMPS 251 + 2 138 UPDATE at 45

And zooming up he goes...at 86 now.

Thanks everyone. Yes, I will continue to test every 20 or so til I'm sure he's stable.

What a day.
 
Great job, Emily! It is very nerve wracking, dealing with low numbers. Congratulations! Tableau is lucky to have you for his bean.
Liz
 
Thanks again, everybody for your help and support. I'm a wreck. But Tableau's holding at 86. Will keep testing. Just glad I was home today.
 
Good!! Numbers can still wobble around as the HC wears off. Like you and Libby noted, you'll want to get a repeat test in 20 - 30 min. Nice going.
 
Hi Emily

Wow...what a day for you!!! Good job getting him up. I hope you kept testing. They can go up to 86, karo wears off, back down to the 40s. Whew, huh??? :lol:
 
Quite the day for you all!!! Dosecrease definitely earned, so congrats! I remember the constant pokes in the early months after Willie's dx. thankfully, he has calmed down and his cycle is much more consistent. Keep up the good work!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top