9/04 Biggie PMPS 293 +2 243 +7 206 +10 233

@tiffmaxee when do you think I should be testing ideally based on his cycles? +7 to +11 seem to be when his nadirs happen. I’m getting pretty sleep deprived but I’m afraid of missing something.

Also, on SLGS when cats go OTJ can they end up in the normal green range on their own or is the only way to accomplish that through TR?
He seems to have late cycle (even end of cycle) nadirs in cycles where he is clearing a bounce and that's not unusual for some cats. I'm sure you must have been asked this before, but is there a reason you are following SLGS and not TR? For the amount you are testing you might as well follow TR so you can hold a dose where he is seeing green. That way he can spend more time in healing numbers - that really helps with newly diagnosed cats in getting them to regulation which is a first step to remission.
 
He seems to have late cycle (even end of cycle) nadirs in cycles where he is clearing a bounce and that's not unusual for some cats. I'm sure you must have been asked this before, but is there a reason you are following SLGS and not TR? For the amount you are testing you might as well follow TR so you can hold a dose where he is seeing green. That way he can spend more time in healing numbers - that really helps with newly diagnosed cats in getting them to regulation which is a first step to remission.

I am scared to take the plunge but would love to see him in a healing range since he has responded so well. I want him to go green but afraid to see green. If we do TR, you think we could bump it up just a bit to try .4U since he saw green on .5? What do you think is optimal for him since he is responding pretty well?
 
I am scared to take the plunge but would love to see him in a healing range since he has responded so well. I want him to go green but afraid to see green. If we do TR, you think we could bump it up just a bit to try .4U since he saw green on .5? What do you think is optimal for him since he is responding pretty well?
Lower numbers are scary at first but become addictive soon. Almost everyone here has gone through what you are going. But with the amount you test, you have the means to keep him safe. Lantus is also very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low. If you look at spreadsheets of other cats you will see how numbers have flattened out with time as caregivers have started shooting lower and lower numbers.

As for dosing, just because he saw certain numbers at a dose previously, it does not mean he will respond to the dose in the same way now or in the future. A cat's insulin needs can and do change.

See what he does today. Looks like he might clear the bounce and head lower. Unless you see green, you want to take him up to 0.5u tomorrow.... that is, if you want to switch to TR.

With SLGS you would hold the dose a week. Even if the numbers are not where you want them to be. It's a more conservative protocol targeted for caregivers who cannot monitor as closely as those following TR.
 
Seconding @Bandit's Mom advice! She successfully twisted my arm and I’m so glad I did!! Green will become your new favorite color!
Thank you @Sugar’s Mama, so nervous now but I’m sure I will be glad once I decide to do it!

If you do switch to TR don't forget to note that in your signature you can put TR and the date and also note it on your SS up top
You will love seeing those greens :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:

Thanks @Diane Tyler's Mom ! I will make sure to make those changes! :bighug::bighug::bighug: These hugs are so cute!
 
Lower numbers are scary at first but become addictive soon. Almost everyone here has gone through what you are going. But with the amount you test, you have the means to keep him safe. Lantus is also very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low. If you look at spreadsheets of other cats you will see how numbers have flattened out with time as caregivers have started shooting lower and lower numbers.

As for dosing, just because he saw certain numbers at a dose previously, it does not mean he will respond to the dose in the same way now or in the future. A cat's insulin needs can and do change.

See what he does today. Looks like he might clear the bounce and head lower. Unless you see green, you want to take him up to 0.5u tomorrow.... that is, if you want to switch to TR.

With SLGS you would hold the dose a week. Even if the numbers are not where you want them to be. It's a more conservative protocol targeted for caregivers who cannot monitor as closely as those following TR.

Thank you @Bandit's Mom for this advice. The part about how their numbers start to flatten out when you shoot lower is part of the puzzle I wasn’t getting. I was just thinking but if he is going low, and I give him insulin, won’t he go lower? So, knowing that they tend to flatten out sets my mind somewhat at ease.

Yes…He seems like he is clearing a bounce…I thought it would be today, but maybe it will be this evening…
 
Thank you @Bandit's Mom for this advice. The part about how their numbers start to flatten out when you shoot lower is part of the puzzle I wasn’t getting. I was just thinking but if he is going low, and I give him insulin, won’t he go lower? So, knowing that they tend to flatten out sets my mind somewhat at ease.
Yes, that's the biggest fear when one thinks about shooting low. You see them go from 350 to 85 and think that if you shoot 200 or 150, they will drop too low. But strangely and surprisingly it doesn't work like that. Bounce clearing cycles do have more downward momentum and you want to feed and test more in those cycles but "normal" Lantus cycles are much gentler and flatter. As a cat gets used to lower numbers, you will see more of those.

Yes…He seems like he is clearing a bounce…I thought it would be today, but maybe it will be this evening…
Yeah, looks like he's saving the fun for the night. You will probably see blues at the end of the PM cycle. They like to play games when you are considering an increase by giving you a lower preshot. LOL.
 
Yes, that's the biggest fear when one thinks about shooting low. You see them go from 350 to 85 and think that if you shoot 200 or 150, they will drop too low. But strangely and surprisingly it doesn't work like that. Bounce clearing cycles do have more downward momentum and you want to feed and test more in those cycles but "normal" Lantus cycles are much gentler and flatter. As a cat gets used to lower numbers, you will see more of those.


Yeah, looks like he's saving the fun for the night. You will probably see blues at the end of the PM cycle. They like to play games when you are considering an increase by giving you a lower preshot. LOL.

I’ve noticed his numbers have flattened out a lot in each cycle, so will be interesting to see, and hopefully he can get some flat green cycles soon.

He’s at 293 so I am thinking it will be a fun night. Luckily I got some actual sleep last night!
 
Back
Top