9/02 Rufus AMPS 118, +1 151

Status
Not open for further replies.

RuBee

Member Since 2010
Yesterday Was Multicolored

Morning, everyone. :-D

Ok. I am not putting him (or myself lol) through a day full of testing immediately following a night of the same. I was wondering about trying to get .6u or something. I really want us both to be able to take a break after last night. He really fought me this morning, and I'll be alone all day, so I won't have anyone to help me hold him still. I'll get some tests in early to get a look at what he's doing, but I want to be able to take a nap today ('gonna need it). *head+wall=konk* ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 9/02 Rufus AMPS 118... geesh. Reduce, yes - by how much?

Wow. 118. Nice number.

No advice here since I'm newbie. Hopefully someone will come along and give some feedback. Good work yesterday.....its a full time job monitoring our sugar kitties. Hope you can get a nap today...you both deserve it.
 
Re: 9/02 Rufus AMPS 118... geesh. Reduce, yes - by how much?

Thanks, Tena. I shot the .6, anyway. If I had skipped, we would have just been standing in line for the roller coaster. I'll learn the dosing eventually - for now... well, we just like to go spastic every chance we get, lol. Find myself staring at the cat (who is crying for his breakfast), saying things like, "Why can't your blood just behave? Why do you have to do this sort of thing to your mother?" He just reaches a paw out, trying to snatch the open can out of my hand. :lol:
 
Re: 9/02 Rufus AMPS 118... geesh. Reduce, yes - by how much?

Nice amps!
No advice here as I have no clue how to deal with this crazy FD most days.
Good luck measuring that .6
 
Re: 9/02 Rufus AMPS 118... geesh. Reduce, yes - by how much?

yeah no advice here either .. this sugar dance is the worst but you guys are doing awesome and this is a beautiful way to start the day!! Have a great one!
 
You did a great job last night...great numbers for Rufus! So happy to see those wonderful greens for him!!! :mrgreen:
I do understand how you feel about taking a nap and all..believe me...I do know the feeling....
(power napping is what keeps me functioning...I am soooooo tired!! I set my alarm for an hour at a time)

but I will suggest that you still test him throughout the day even though you gave the reduced shot.....okay?
These kitties do have a mind of their own, ya know!
 
Oh yeah, "we" (the testing kit and I) are going to go search Rufus' favorite hiding spots in a few minutes for a +3. Maybe a small snack if it looks necessary. After that - I really do need to reduce the amount of testing I do today. To be honest, when it's just the two of us in the house, it'll get me more worked up than is good for either of us. If he's too low for comfort, we'll continue to test, but if he's holding steady, I'll go for our preferred spot checks.

As for naps... I wish I could power nap! I have to take a whole cocktail of medicines (Rozerem may not work for many people - but it is a GODSEND to me) just to sleep on a regular "up in the morning, down in the evening" schedule. Oh, to be born with an established circadian rhythm. Nights like last night hit me really hard, since I've got a medically-induced sleep schedule. The answer is this: ~O) @-)
 
I probably wouldn't have reduced Rufus' dose. What you're most likely seeing is that he went from greens last night into the blues with a blue pre-shot and he's not continuing on his way up. My guess is that he'll be in the yellows this cycle.

With Lantus, the idea is to shoot your current dose until a dose reduction (BG < 50) is earned. If you jump between doses, numbers tend to get wonky since there's an effect on the shed every time you change a dose. You want Rufus surfing in those green numbers. The more time he spends in the above 50 range, the more his pancreas has a chance to heal and he becomes accustomed to being in lower numbers. In other words, his system recalibrates to more normal BG levels and there are fewer and less extreme bounces.

Rufus wasn't seeing very much, if any green, at the 0.75u dose. Increasing made good sense. You need to remember that you are not basing your dosing on the pre-shot number. So, a difference between a pink at AMPS yesterday and a blue at PMPS is nothing to be concerned about. Gabby had a yellow last night and a green this morning -- I'm thrilled with the green!! (If you do the subtraction, there's a bigger difference in Gabby's pre-shot numbers than Rufus'.)
 
I understand about sticking with a dose, but so far Rufus doesn't seem to have very recognizable reactions to insulin. Sometimes he can take a full dose at 180 just fine, and other times it puts him on a slide. I'd rather risk him being in the yellow for an afternoon than going into the low greens when I'm low on HC (my can and a half turned out to be just a half a can) and have no way of getting him any help if he should need it. He can do .75 tonight (that won't make him lopsided, will it?), and see where it lands us in the morning. Hopefully he'll be in a good place for the 1u, or just under the line, maybe. On the weekend, when my mother can help me, I'll stick the dose, happily.
 
A good investment is a bottle of Karo syrup...it will last forever and can be added to bring up the numbers if you happen to not have HC gravy on hand. It is important to have some in the house so maybe consider putting that on your shopping list too...or honey will do it too if you have that. Just one of those staples that we should have available.... :razz:
 
ohmygod_smile We have both, I just didn't think of them when I was busy pulling my hair out this morning. (Don't be surprised - I start pulling my hair out when even the smallest of things goes not-the-way-I-planned). :lol: I really need to put in for that prescription of Xanax next time I see my doctor.
 
Hi hope your evening is going well!

I'm adding my ditto after Sienne's post. Lantus likes consistancy.
Lopsided? Um yea, unfortunately.
It does get easier thou sticking the same dose until a reduction is earned.
I hope soon ok?

You're doing great with collecting your data, no issues there,
and you are around to keep an eye on his numbers, know how to steer them with foods.

Have a good nite guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top