9/01 | Mochi | AMPS 393; +2 272, +4 151

Status
Not open for further replies.
Condo here.
Am I doing this right?

Mochi seems much improved this morning. He's perkier and his numbers actually came down a bit overnight despite not giving him any insulin last night.

I will test at +2, +4, and probably +6 today just to keep an eye on him.
Yes, you linked your previous thread (condo) correctly. :)
 
Condo here.
Am I doing this right?

Mochi seems much improved this morning. He's perkier and his numbers actually came down a bit overnight despite not giving him any insulin last night.

I will test at +2, +4, and probably +6 today just to keep an eye on him.


Perfect!!

It is a good sign that the numbers dropped from last night even without any insulin. I posted this on the other condo but will repost it here:

"This post gives an idea how an active cycle with Lantus might look:

Example of an ACTIVE, but NOT necessarily typical Lantus cycle:
NOTE: Until kitty is pretty well regulated, the description below is NOT not what you'd consider a "typical" Lantus cycle. It takes time and patience for kitty to achieve a "typical" cycle! The example below is what you're working towards (a nice shallow curve). A relatively flat cycle is the ultimate goal.

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3
- Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/"

According to the "usual" progress with an active cycle...one where the numbers may drop faster....if the +2 is the same or less than the prehot then it could show an active cycle and you would want to do more testing.

Good luck with the numbers today. You have certainly learned a lot and come a long way in just 24 hours :bighug::bighug:
 
With that +2 reading being that much lower than the preshot it would be a good idea to try and get a +3 readings. Lantus usually starts taking effect around +2 so Mochi may have still been dropping from last night or this morning's shot may be starting already. Hard to say at this point but some extra tests would be a good idea.
 
Hi there :cool:

Glad to hear Mochi is better today.

A quick housekeeping note-
On the spreadsheet please indicate how many hours passed between this mornings shot and the previous one. It's very important information and helps those willing to help you jump in and make a fast, accurate assessment of what has transpired. Just place the info ( it looks to be around +36 hours?) in the same cell as your AMPS. (have a look at my Black Kitty's ss for examples). If you have difficulty putting it in the cell, you can place the info in the remarks for the day.
 
With that +2 reading being that much lower than the preshot it would be a good idea to try and get a +3 readings. Lantus usually starts taking effect around +2 so Mochi may have still been dropping from last night or this morning's shot may be starting already. Hard to say at this point but some extra tests would be a good idea.

Well, drat. Too late for a +3. Just did a +4: 151

I have to run out to the grocery store, but DD & DS are home and will be watching him. I will test again when I get back.
 
Looking like an active cycle despite the no shot last night. As mentioned yesterday with a overdose yesterday, it could take a few cycles to drain the depot so keep up the good work testing.
 
Looking good. Getting into nicer numbers without huge drops or dropping into hypo numbers. So far the 1 unit is looking promising but do continue testing and posting your results.
113.gif
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top