9/01 Butters PMPS 355/+2.5 322/

Butters & Lyla

Member Since 2020
Yesterday
Last night, I caught Butters looking at the sharks: 52 @+5.5. Very close to reduction territory. She stayed in the greens all night, I think:
90 @+7.5,
85 @+9

And now an 83 AMPS. I know shooting greens is a gift. I have done it before.
I feel trepidation this time because of how close she came to earning a reduction. She could have been lower before the +5.5 reading that I got. Should I be concerned or just carry on with the current dose??? All advice/encouragement welcome! Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Now is the time to take a deep breath and say to yourself 'shoot low to stay low'...

Sometimes it works, sometimes not. Most importantly are you going to be home to monitor? Set an alarm for a 1+.

Luci did the same thing yesterday - I avoided giving her MC, but tested frequently. I was hoping she'd surf...and since she tends to come back up in the afternoon, sure enough she did just that.

I hope Butters gives you a lovely green surf today - no sharkies!!! She needs to try to coast along in those greens without going under as long as possible...it's healing time...:)
 
Yes I will be. She is getting fussy about her ears after the last night and day prior, but I'll manage. I was just gonna type that we are going to do the full dose as per TR. I guess if she did drop below 50 and I missed it, well, it doesn't count. :D
 
Yes I will be. She is getting fussy about her ears after the last night and day prior, but I'll manage. I was just gonna type that we are going to do the full dose as per TR. I guess if she did drop below 50 and I missed it, well, it doesn't count. :D

You're right...only numbers that you've actually gotten 'count'. All is fair in diabetes and this war we wage against it.

Try to prop her up and keep her away from the sharkies...put on your helicopter wings for this morning...let's see how long you can get her to surf - safely. No going to visit the sharks there Miss Butters...you did this day before yesterday and it worked beautifully! Looks like it's time for a repeat performance. :)
 
Did you see her night last night? All I can say is, I'm tired! And the forum is a lonely place so early in the (Eastern Daylight Time) morning. :)
Thanks for the help, Sue:bighug:

Yes, I saw that you've had a long night! And now you're going to have a long morning too from the looks of it.

But I have to say, these cats are prone to doing this...I've seen it time and time again - they go from some nasty looking numbers, to the not so bad numbers and then, as if a light switched on, they 'turn the corner'...and head right on down to the lagoon...some blues here and there, lots of greens and guess what comes next!

And yes, it's exhausting! Caregivers up half the night and then rinse/repeat the next day. Let's hope it doesn't last too long...but this IS the time for your most intense and most exhausting testing ... try to catch a nap if you can...an hour isn't much for settling in for a nap is it?

Take a look at @Sarah and Blaze SS - that boy used to keep her up late nights all the time...he meant business though...when he was headed for 'you know where' there was no stopping him.

I hope you like coffee :)
 
And yes, it's exhausting! Caregivers up half the night and then rinse/repeat the next day. Let's hope it doesn't last too long...but this IS the time for your most intense and most exhausting testing ... try to catch a nap if you can...an hour isn't much for settling in for a nap is it?

I hope you like coffee :)
Nope, not enough time for a nap. And I actually don't like coffee at all. But, Butters just got frightened by a HUGE bug (centipede) that ran across the room and under my couch. She is now waiting for me to trap it. :rolleyes: That's enough of an adrenaline boost to get me through the hour.

I looked at Blaze's SS. I will happily stay up most nights if those numbers continue.

For my timekeeping purposes, next test in 40 minutes.
 
Wow, busy night for you last night! Hope she stays low but safe for you today!
Thanks Lisa!

Go Butters :D Hope you and Lyla have a wonderful day! I have learned so much from following your journey!
Thanks Susanne! I'm glad you're reading other condos and looking at other kitties' spreadsheets. I still learn so much every day by doing this, too.
 
Last edited:
Either she got a huge food bump or she may just be rising or maybe going into a bounce...who knows. I sure don't. :facepalm:

Could have been a food bump...can you test again in 90 minutes? Gives her a little time to digest...

Did you or Butters catch the centipede? Excitement!! :eek::eek:

I found reading other people's condos and looking at their SS's to be one of the most useful/educational things to do...I learned a lot from other people's experiences, trials and tribulations I suppose you could say...when to shoot, when not to shoot; how to steer with food...yes, every cat is different, but it's amazing how many trends you'll see by studying as many as you can...:smuggrin:
 
Could have been a food bump...can you test again in 90 minutes? Gives her a little time to digest...

Did you or Butters catch the centipede? Excitement!! :eek::eek:

I found reading other people's condos and looking at their SS's to be one of the most useful/educational things to do...I learned a lot from other people's experiences, trials and tribulations I suppose you could say...when to shoot, when not to shoot; how to steer with food...yes, every cat is different, but it's amazing how many trends you'll see by studying as many as you can...:smuggrin:

I will test again in 90 minutes! Can always use more practice with juggling the testing, feeding, and conference-call balls. :)
So that will be at 0940am my time, or 75 minutes from now.

ETA: Butters ran away from the centipede, leaving me to fend for myself :rolleyes:. Those things are fast. It disappeared down my cold air return and will probably reappear on my pillow tonight. :(
 
I think a poke break for a bit is a good idea :bighug: you'll probably want a test somewhere in +4 to +6 somewhere to see where she wants to go today.

Late PJ party lady night! Nice to see Butters in some pretty greens :D
 
Yes, I'd agree with that :) Looks like Miss Butters is all pooped out from her late night of partying in the lagoon...and she's bouncing. Might as well get that nap now...hope it doesn't take her too terribly long to break that bounce.
 
Butters heard y'all loud and clear: she has been napping all day.:D I have been working.
275 @+5.5. Still zooming upwards.
So much for a poke break. It took me four tries to get enough blood to check. I may have overdone it on the neosporin ointment application yesterday. :facepalm:
 
Afternoon Lyla, I hope you get some rest today after last night.
Our kitties are like having infants, nap when we can lol

Did you shoot the 1.75 this morning, it's not filled in.
Give Butters scritches for me. I hope tonight is peaceful for you :bighug::cat:
 
Good job shooting and handling things last night. I hope Butters comes back down and surfs safely today. Hopefully the centipede is gone for good.
Thanks Carla!
I just know the centipede is going to show up tonight and carry Butters away. That's how big it is.
 
Back
Top