Hello,
Apologies, as I Haven't filled the introduction part yet, been an observer for the past month or so.
Eti (short of etienne) , female, Dx beginning of May (fructosamine 850, fasting glucose 290), immediately switched to canned high-protein, low carb food, attempted one month on acarbose only, no success (fructosamine down to 750). Preexisting condition eosinophilic gastritis - intermittent steroids as as a treatment. Last occurence >0.5year ago. Mildly elevated AST and ALT (2x upper limit), USG didn't reveal any inflammation, vet assured nothing to loose sleep about.
June 4 started on Lantus 1u b.i.d + 25mg b.i,d. acarbose, link to spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Z5SLIhbT3__1c__oxHnxCVYdFQFdJDRJiIfJXgW4Es4/edit?usp=sharing (Two weeks flying blind)
Trying "start low, go slow" protocol. Using Juniorstar pen (half units increments, one unit minimum).
She's currently on 2units twice daily . I started tread as dosing advice would be greatly appreciated:
1) today's +11 values is 66, PMPS +88. After meal at shot time (30min after pmps) it was 201, after much deliberation with partner we shot 1.5u and will observe into +2 (before sleep time), should it be <120-150 intend to give small amounts of high carb dry food . Is it appropriate reduction or should it we slash it lower?
2) As PMPS values are getting lower, what dose reduction strategy might be better? Slashing PM dose to 1.5u or going wholly back to 1.5u ? Yesterday's daily curve was almost reference one.
Thanks!
Apologies, as I Haven't filled the introduction part yet, been an observer for the past month or so.
Eti (short of etienne) , female, Dx beginning of May (fructosamine 850, fasting glucose 290), immediately switched to canned high-protein, low carb food, attempted one month on acarbose only, no success (fructosamine down to 750). Preexisting condition eosinophilic gastritis - intermittent steroids as as a treatment. Last occurence >0.5year ago. Mildly elevated AST and ALT (2x upper limit), USG didn't reveal any inflammation, vet assured nothing to loose sleep about.
June 4 started on Lantus 1u b.i.d + 25mg b.i,d. acarbose, link to spreadsheet:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Z5SLIhbT3__1c__oxHnxCVYdFQFdJDRJiIfJXgW4Es4/edit?usp=sharing (Two weeks flying blind)
Trying "start low, go slow" protocol. Using Juniorstar pen (half units increments, one unit minimum).
She's currently on 2units twice daily . I started tread as dosing advice would be greatly appreciated:
1) today's +11 values is 66, PMPS +88. After meal at shot time (30min after pmps) it was 201, after much deliberation with partner we shot 1.5u and will observe into +2 (before sleep time), should it be <120-150 intend to give small amounts of high carb dry food . Is it appropriate reduction or should it we slash it lower?
2) As PMPS values are getting lower, what dose reduction strategy might be better? Slashing PM dose to 1.5u or going wholly back to 1.5u ? Yesterday's daily curve was almost reference one.
Thanks!
Last edited: