? 85 pmps

I always defer to Djamila! :D (oh, and Linda, too. Hi, Linda!)

Out of curiousity/for future, what do you think a "F0" is the equivalent of? You have given that several times when she's been about 105 . . . ?
 
I wonder if one of those two was a wonky test. Would she mind terribly if you re-tested to see which one was most accurate? (darn meter variance!)
 
I always defer to Djamila! :D (oh, and Linda, too. Hi, Linda!)

Out of curiousity/for future, what do you think a "F0" is the equivalent of? You have given that several times when she's been about 105 . . . ?

Jenna, you've been at this plenty long that there's no need to defer to anyone! :cat:

Plus, the benefit of peer review is that sometimes we do all disagree with each other - in the nicest possible ways, of course! :bighug:
 
LI call a fat 0 when the top of the plunger is on the black 0 line. But still something to actually inject. I’m real sophisticated over here ;)
 
Ha! But what experience do I have with what Zoe's up to? None! :)

Here is my thinking: the .25 brought her too low for comfort from a 140 PS, but F0 (which is maybe, what? .05? Somewhere between .1 and "drop"?) has been okay when shot ~105. She's certainly lower now than this AMPS, but drop is much lower than .25 . . . So I would say, if green, none; if blue, "drop," just bc that would suggest she's still not *quite* ready to go on her own (coming up so much here at the end of the cycle).

Just my two cents. (And also b/c I'm curious and would like the chance to learn something! :D )
 
103 I’m confused

That's meter variance, which can be up to 20% (!). :rolleyes: I would suspect that the 85 was a touch low (from variance), and the low blues are a combination of "normal" variance + her coming up a bit toward the end of the cycle. (Assuming, of course, you didn't feed her anything after the first shot?)
 
You should be able to do "drop" with any syringe. You hold the syringe, but I wouldn't suggest anything more than drop if you decide to shoot anything, for all the reasons Linda and Djamila have given.

P.S. Arghh! I have to start getting ready to go out to dinner . . .
 
Oh my kingdom for syringes for finer dosing accuracy!

Jenna I agree BUT with the 85 first and making Zoe wait for dinner, it's a toss up whether she was rising on her own or just getting bent out of shape 'cause her dinner wasn't served as required of her servant Lindsay or a combination of both! It's fine to try dosing at lower numbers but I never did it on night cycles because I was always afraid I might fall asleep and not chase numbers adequately.
 
She did not eat between any of the shots. She is eating now because the natives (as I like to call my kids) were getting restless and circling me like I was their prey lol
 
Lindsay, this is where it gets tough. You hold the needle and it's ultimately your decision. You have information both pro and con with which to make an informed decision and I don't think any of us is going to tell you one choice is better than the other.
 
Lindsay, you aren't going to hurt her either way. It just comes down to how willing you are to stay up tonight. If you give a dose, you'll need to test since you haven't shot on a green before. So if you want to stay up and do that, you can try a drop. Worst case scenario is that you need to stay up testing and steering (giving extra snacks). If you skip the dose, no more testing tonight and you sleep. Either way, Zoe will be fine.
 
I went with a drop but only because I knew i will be home all night and it being a weekend I’m more willing to lose sleep With working full time i need sleep during the week haha! I will keep you ladies updated all night! Thanks so much for the advice
 
Sounds good, Lindsay. I know you'll keep a close eye on her (I think you already know this, but a +2/+3 is always helpful to see if the ol' pancreas is kicking in/where the cycle may be heading), and I'll check back when I'm home from dinner (maybe around your +4?).
 
Well! I’m sure happy she’s in totally safe numbers, but how interesting that she’s going up from her +2.5! A food bump, maybe? Did she have a good snack in the last hour?
 
Long time no talk! I was 30 minutes late for testing/feeding because of an appt. she was 82. I didn’t want to stall any longer because she was howling at me. She’s getting a NS tonight and I’m panicked about what her am # will be!
 
No need to panic. Avoiding PJ parties is A-OK and that's always a possibility when you shoot low pre-shots. The Beans well being and sleep is all part of the decision equation.
Your spreadsheet since the 25th of June has no mid cycle testing at all. It looks like Zoe is doing great but we don't know what she is doing at any point other than pre-shots. I know getting mid cycles is a problem during the week but grabbing a test before bed would be helpful to see how much she is or isn't dropping a few hours after her PM shot. On the weekends, if you can grab some mid cycle tests it would also help to fill in the picture.

Using the AT2 we don't have specific numbers for remission. My own experience suggested that if BG is staying under about 120-125 for the most part on the AT2 meter with some dark green making up the majority of time each cycle, you might be able to do an OTJ trial. While some of Zoe's pre-shots are still higher than the numbers I've suggested, without some mid cycle data you will never know if she is ready to try going it on her own. On top of that, most if not all of us don't have any baseline numbers to know what is truly normal for our cats. Most of Zoe's pre-shots are within normal AT2 BG range. ;)
 
I know I’ve been slacking on that! I just felt like she needed a break with the multiple pokes a day so getting 2 was the most important. I’m gonna get one now just to see where she’s at without insulin.
 
Good job getting that +3. What we would like to see is that the +3 after feeding is down not up, so it looks like she probably still need some insulin support. Don't worry if her BG is up tomorrow AM. She's proven to be a very bouncy little girl so an elevated BG is expected. Not to sound like a broken record, but keep getting mid cycles whenever you can so you can see what she is up to and when (fingers crossed) she is ready for an OTJ trial, you will know it. ;)
 
Back
Top