? 85 pmps

At least you know you don't need to consider raising the dose . . . :rolleyes:

Did you get some U100s, btw? I'm thinking that being able to shoot .2 and .4 (and be confident that it is indeed those measurements because there are lines to draw to) may be very helpful. When you're drawing such tiny doses, even being a teeny smidge off makes a big difference.
 
Last edited:
Oh, Zoe :rolleyes: She sure is a bouncy one, isn’t she? :bighug:

Once you get the U100s, if it were mr, I’d smidge her down to .2 and hold there unless she throws you another lime.
 
Oh, Zoe :rolleyes: She sure is a bouncy one, isn’t she? :bighug:

Once you get the U100s, if it were mr, I’d smidge her down to .2 and hold there unless she throws you another lime.
Ok! Do you know if I need to get them from the pharmacist or if they are just on a shelf?
 
My Walmart didn’t have the syringes. Can I order online? I looked but there were different CC numbers 1/2 or 1 and i was confused.
 
We order from adwdiabetes.com. Here’s a photo of the kind we use, which I like bc it has short needles. (May not be best for longer-haired cats?).

FE4F6A57-6D84-47B0-AC0B-04D2BA30038B.jpeg
 
Just be sure you order the kind with half unit markings since that’s really the whole point! :D

We didn’t the first time ... :banghead:
 
I wound up with some from Walmart -- they were the correct .3cc, BUT no half unit markings, and the markings that were there were not what we need for small doses, they were useful, IMHO, only if you needed to shoot entire units of U-100 insulin -- crummy for using with U-40 :mad:
 
Ordered the ones you have @Jenna Josie. I’ll be honest the past few times I’ve shot below what I was considering .25. Wondering if what i was actually doing was more like .40. Holding my breath but it seems to be better for her. :nailbiting:
 
Our PMPs numbers have been good!!!! My syringes shipped so hopefully I have them soon!!!! I did under .25 tonight
 
Yes, they have been good! I wonder if her higher AMPS are from going low over night? (Many cats run lower at night.).

I’m glad the syringes are on their way. Hopefully that will make life easier :)
 
I'm not really sure why they run lower at night...it could be because they aren't running around as much or eating as much at night. It's something we see with most cats, but we only have theories as to why.
 
That’s not really a choice for the conversion on U100s. The great thing about U100s is that that you can make tiny dose increments and, because there are so many lines, you can be confident that you’re always drawing a consistent dose.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/insulin-conversions.htm
Some of us draw odd-numbered doses (e.g., 0.3, 0.5, etc) by framing the plunger right between the lines, so you’ll need to go either .2 or .3.
 
Her PS numbers are quite pretty! (I admit I'm a little jealous ;) ) Looks like she finally decided to settle into the dose for you. Do you have an idea of how low she may be going during the cycle? Not too low, or I'd expect to see some bounce-numbers PS, but I'm sure curious . . .
 
Her PS numbers are quite pretty! (I admit I'm a little jealous ;) ) Looks like she finally decided to settle into the dose for you. Do you have an idea of how low she may be going during the cycle? Not too low, or I'd expect to see some bounce-numbers PS, but I'm sure curious . . .
I’m gonna get one tonight but my thought was she wasn’t getting too low or she’d bounce
 
So this morning she was 100 at AMPs I stalled to 107 and then fed her I can’t stall much in mornings with work. I went with a fat 0 on the insulin. She’s like a completely different cat anymore. Her coat is shiny and soft her dry skin is gone and she’s playing and doing things she did years ago.
 
She’s looking so good, Lindsay!! :)

I’ll write more later but wanted to post this before I forgot .... Djamila wrote this about how to draw the dose FDMB calls a “drop” of insulin: “you push the plunger in as hard as you can. Then insert the needle into the vial, invert, and release the pressure from the plunger. It will suck in one drop of insulin. Then you inject that. It will feel like you injected absolutely nothing ...”
 
So I think it's time to break out those new syringes, if you haven't already!

She's looking really great, and I'm hoping for very good things for you both! I don't have much experience observing this stage of things, but from what I recall reading, etc., you want to keep supporting her with insulin until -- hopefully!! -- she can handle things on her own again.

IIRC, you want to give 0.2, 0.1, and then "drop" until she's good on her own. (A 0.1, on the U100s, will be with the plunger essentially "centered" on the first, left-hand line [that's the first 1/2 mark line, which is 0.2 for us using the conversion].)

So two questions:
1) what did you end up shooting (if anything) this evening? 0.1? "drop"? nothing?
2) would it be possible to get some +4-+7 tests in? I am really curious to see how much time she is spending in the "normal" range, which is 40-60 on a human meter? (I know you use AT; that range would be a little higher, but I'm not sure what . . . I'm sure it's in the stickies somewhere! :) )
 
We usually say that normal for a non-diabetic cat is 50-120, with most numbers in the 50-80 range (human meter), and 68-150 on the AT2 with most numbers in the 68-low hundreds. I'm not sure that if that is in our stickies or not. It's probably in the stickies over in Lantus though. They get all the good ones ;)

Zoe is looking pretty good these days :cool:. It doesn't look like she's ready to go it on her own just yet though. I'd like to see more green before you try taking away the insulin. Jenna has given you good suggestions about how to walk the dose down, and she's right that you want to keep going with the insulin as long as she needs. Hopefully this weekend if you can get some of those mid-cycle tests in, we can get a better idea of how she's doing.
 
Still on the u40’s switching this weekend not going to lie can you send me a pic of where the plunger should be so I know exactly? (I’m a visual learner haha) this is where I typically put the plunger for her I’m calling this .25 but let’s be honest i have no idea ? When I say F0 I actually go under this line so it’s more on the first line. It’s basically no liquid but still something so could be more like .10? That’s why the u-100’s will be great.
 

Attachments

  • 05BDFBA5-7C01-4C9C-9C75-0B0447BD4C6D.png
    05BDFBA5-7C01-4C9C-9C75-0B0447BD4C6D.png
    178.6 KB · Views: 352
This is 0.2 on U100s. It’s the first half-unit line, so the first on on the *left* side.
 

Attachments

  • 569F2B48-C1EB-455F-B4B5-1C446C8F62E0.jpeg
    569F2B48-C1EB-455F-B4B5-1C446C8F62E0.jpeg
    53 KB · Views: 370
This is a 0.1, where the plunger is centered on that first half-unit line (on the *left* side). Essentially, that line is bisecting the plunger, so that half the plunger is above the line and half is below the line. Or, if you prefer, you are centering the plunger between the zero line (the very top line; it’s thick and dark) and the first line on the *right* side.

Edit: this picture unfortunately isn’t taken exactly straight on, so the plunger looks a little higher bc of the angle, but hopefully the descriptions clarify.
 

Attachments

  • 61DD735D-37D1-4049-BE8F-B58368669983.jpeg
    61DD735D-37D1-4049-BE8F-B58368669983.jpeg
    50.2 KB · Views: 360
Hi Lindsay. You use an alpha track, right? She’s still fine, but I would get another test in here to see if she’s going to flatten out or dip into the limes.

Do you usually feed her a bit about this time in the cycle? It might not be a bad idea to give her a little bit of her regular low carb food.
 
Given that she's still under three months since diagnosis, and she was just barely above a lime green today, I think I might suggest skipping. A drop could be okay, but you'd need to get some tests tonight to be sure, and I tend to error on the side of a good night's sleep. ;)

Let's see what Jenna thinks....
 
You can stall but I doubt it's going to bring her up much. Oh I see others are sharing my opinion. She's a little close to the lime green margin and like Djamila, I tend not to create pyjama parties....they're bad enough when they are spontaneous. I'd skip. Besides you've never shot a pre-shot that low with any dose.
 
Back
Top