+ 8 hours BG 120 Thanks

Status
Not open for further replies.

Idjit's mom

Member Since 2018
He doesn't appear to have any symptoms, he's been taking his usual nap. I have him 3 oz. can F2F 13 carbs, he ate it all. Watching him carefully.
 
He doesn't appear to have any symptoms, he's been taking his usual nap. I have him 3 oz. can F2F 13 carbs, he ate it all. Watching him carefully.
Holy Moly! I'm glad you caught that! Following the Lantus dosing guidelines, either TR or SLGS, this calls for an immediate dose reduction to 0.25 u tonight. I know you've only been dosing once a day but twice is better. Test again in an hour and post here.
 
Holy Moly! I'm glad you caught that! Following the Lantus dosing guidelines, either TR or SLGS, this calls for an immediate dose reduction to 0.25 u tonight. I know you've only been dosing once a day but twice is better. Test again in an hour and post here.
There is absolutely no way to dose of 0.25. DH got wrong syringes, I don't have 1/2 units after all. I tried to measure a half this am, should have skipped it. I ordered correct syringes but won't have for 2-3 days. Perhaps, until I get them, I should adhere to vet's sliding scale.
 
There is absolutely no way to dose of 0.25. DH got wrong syringes, I don't have 1/2 units after all. I tried to measure a half this am, should have skipped it. I ordered correct syringes but won't have for 2-3 days. Perhaps, until I get them, I should adhere to vet's sliding scale.
I forgot about that syringe issue. Why not hold off on deciding anything until you see the numbers up to PMPS. That 60 was at +6. Get a +7 and +8 to track his progress.
 
Here's your post from earlier today: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/please-help.194326/#post-2173745
We try to just start one post per day, so we can keep the conversations all in one place.

@rhiannon and shadow (GA) was right, time to start practicing those 0.25 units doses. Magnifiers help. Are you near a Walmart? They carry 1/2 unit marked syringes. Or you can take your usual syringes and practice the drop method. Load the syringe to 1 unit and practice taking one drop out at a time. Try for consistent sized drops. Count how many are in 1 unit. Then load to 1 unit and take out 3/4 of the drops to get a 1/4 unit. Please don't use the sliding scale. Too much insulin at this point would be a bad thing.

When you see those lows, don't give him too much food. Maybe just a couple tsps. You want him to be hungry if he's still low and you need to feed him again. Please test again 1/2 hour after he ate to make sure he's coming up.
 
Since my memory escapes me since Davidson was on insulin 4 yrs ago - I thought we earn a reduction when we are under 50?? I see the SS format has changed from back then to now have a dark green colour, and a light green colour - so maybe the TR or SLGS has also changed..........can someone please confirm so I know what to do when Davidson gets to those levels.

Glad you've reach the low greens!!
 
Since my memory escapes me since Davidson was on insulin 4 yrs ago - I thought we earn a reduction when we are under 50?? I see the SS format has changed from back then to now have a dark green colour, and a light green colour - so maybe the TR or SLGS has also changed..........can someone please confirm so I know what to do when Davidson gets to those levels.

Glad you've reach the low greens!!
Lime green under 50 with the human meter SS and under 68 with the pet meter SS.
 
Tnx, I just also read there is a difference between newly DX and long term DX.............Since Davidson was in remission 4 yrs, I assume he is considered "newly" DX

CONGRATS on your reduction!!!
 
Here's your post from earlier today: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/please-help.194326/#post-2173745
We try to just start one post per day, so we can keep the conversations all in one place.

@rhiannon and shadow (GA) was right, time to start practicing those 0.25 units doses. Magnifiers help. Are you near a Walmart? They carry 1/2 unit marked syringes. Or you can take your usual syringes and practice the drop method. Load the syringe to 1 unit and practice taking one drop out at a time. Try for consistent sized drops. Count how many are in 1 unit. Then load to 1 unit and take out 3/4 of the drops to get a 1/4 unit. Please don't use the sliding scale. Too much insulin at this point would be a bad thing.

When you see those lows, don't give him too much food. Maybe just a couple tsps. You want him to be hungry if he's still low and you need to feed him again. Please test again 1/2 hour after he ate to make sure he's coming up.
Sorry wendy, I just wanted someone to see and respond.
 
No worries. You can always change the subject line of your first post on the main thread. Go to the top right of the first post and there is an Edit Title menu where you can change the title to get more attention. And you can put the "?" prefix on which means you need help.
 
No worries. You can always change the subject line of your first post on the main thread. Go to the top right of the first post and there is an Edit Title menu where you can change the title to get more attention. And you can put the "?" prefix on which means you need help.
Oh, thank you! I didn't know. He's sitting on the back of his chair looking outside.
 
Still too low. Do you have anything higher carb than 13% If not, maybe a couple tsps of his regular food with a drop of honey or syrup/karo on it.
 
He's really mad at us for poking him, he's running away from dad. He will probably go pee on the floor to get back.
 
What would be best to do now? Certainly test at +12, but I am very hesitant to give a shot. We do have proper syringes now, 1/2 unit, but I don't feel at all confident about a 0.25 dose.
 
What would be best to do now? Certainly test at +12, but I am very hesitant to give a shot. We do have proper syringes now, 1/2 unit, but I don't feel at all confident about a 0.25 dose.
Here's something: why not skip tonight but do a test or two this evening to see what happens to BG without insulin. You need evening data if/when you start BID dosing. This would give you a glimpse of what happens when only one dose a day is given.
 
025unit-1.jpg


pay attention to the black rubber stopper line..... that's how you get it right....
 
Here's something: why not skip tonight but do a test or two this evening to see what happens to BG without insulin. You need evening data if/when you start BID dosing. This would give you a glimpse of what happens when only one dose a day is given.
Yes, I think that is an excellent idea. We had planned on testing at 6 pm, so that would be +12 . (,if he will cooperate). I have been awake since 3:30 am, all I want to do is finish this day in an even keep and go to sleep. Thanks again, to each of you, for helping us get through our first crisis.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top