? 8 Dec | Girlie AMPS 182; PMPS 162; +3=52; +4=97 AT2 Reduce or try to hold her at current dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-shark-dive-alpha-trak-2.187665/#post-2083117

Cycle 3 at 0.5 and she's hit shark territory again! I assume this means I have to reduce again in the morning to 0.25... Are back-to-back reductions like this okay?

She didn't eat much today. I left 12% and 15% food out while I was at work, but she'd eaten very little by the time I got home. Her BG levels were still blue, though. It was hot today, and her tummy is bothering her again after the poop and pukas the other day.

Oh Girlie! And here I was so looking forward to a good night's sleep... :rolleyes:
 
While I'm waiting for the timer to go off to test again...

I found out that I got the job - phew! What a relief...

More importantly: I got my Magic Bullet today and it does a splendid job of pureeing a small, 3 oz can of food. For once, Max actually ate an entire can of cat food instead of just the sauce! And I finally got a moment to build him his own cat tree... he's still barred from the bedroom as he causes too much trouble with Girlie re: food, etc., so I bought him that to try to assuage my guilt... :rolleyes:
 
Well, no yay for eating right now. Her stomach must be bothering her or something; I think she's a bit constipated. Usually when she shark dives, she's just begging for food, but now she's refusing food - and this is early in the Levemir cycle - and she also didn't eat much today. I guess I have to resort to giving her a tiny bit of Mirtazapine to force the issue. I hate to do that, though...

Maybe I'll wait 20 minutes and see how she's going without food...
 
Yay for the job!! Sorry Girlie's feeling bad. :( Is the Magic Bullet hella loud? I got the Walmart store brand and was surprised at the noise. It's quieter than a full-sized blender, but a lot louder than the Ninja Blender I was using to puree food. It is a lot easier to clean than the Ninja and does a nice job.
 
Yay for the job!! Sorry Girlie's feeling bad. :( Is the Magic Bullet hella loud? I got the Walmart store brand and was surprised at the noise. It's quieter than a full-sized blender, but a lot louder than the Ninja Blender I was using to puree food. It is a lot easier to clean than the Ninja and does a nice job.

Thanks for the congrats! We have a major restructure every three years - it's awful. But I've decided to take a voluntary redundancy (early retirement) for the next one. I'll get a full years' salary for that, and there's no guarantee that they'll keep offering that for much longer. I'll be too young to retire, but I can always build a tin shack in the bush outside of Darwin and live off the land.... (just kidding!) :-)

You know, I'm so tired I didn't even notice how loud it was! :rolleyes: It was loud, but it pureed everything so quickly that it wasn't a bother... I'm just so glad I found something that will do the job so quickly and easily. And it is really easy to clean...
 
Girlie now 149: still won't eat, but I'm leaving her be as she's still going up. :-)

I'm really surprised that she's earned another reduction on the third cycle. That seems awfully quick to me... ?
 
Hey, just curious, were you born in Australia or in the US? You've mentioned both of your folks live in the US... Sorry so nosy! :oops: :eek:
Ask away! :-)
I was born in Baltimore and grew up in Washington, D.C. Then I went to Northwestern outside of Chicago, then Indiana Uni for grad school, where I met and fell in love with fiancee #2, who was from Berlin, Germany. So I spent four years in Berlin - amazing, amazing place - then came back to the US for a year and headed to Australia. I'm an Australian citizen now, but I'm fortunate in that Australia and the U.S. allow me to have dual citizenship. I've been in Oz since 1996.

My dad retired to Denver, Colorado, but my mom still has the house in D.C. that we grew up in. She has Alzheimer's now, though, so she's in an assisted living house in Maryland. Both of my parents grew up in small towns: my mom is from Youngstown, Ohio, and my dad from Altoona, Pennsylvania.

I see you're in Oklahoma - I've never been there, but it must be quite beautiful. Deep snow in winter though, yes? :-)
 
Girlie now 140 with no food for the past hour...

She dropped quite low again for the AlphaTrak 2 on only the third cycle after another really deep drop. I'm assuming I should reduce again and then just see how she goes. Is there advice for situations like this?
 
Congrats on the job! I'm glad the magic bullet is working out. I'm from just outside of D.C. as well (NoVA) and most of my family is still there.

When you took the reduction to 0.5 on the 7th, did you go back up to .75 in the am on the 8th and then back to 0.5 in the pm again? Or was that a typo?
 
I see you're in Oklahoma - I've never been there, but it must be quite beautiful. Deep snow in winter though, yes?
Really not too much snow. Occasional periods of several inches, and about every 5 years there will be an ice storm that takes down power lines and trees. Of late we've had mild winters, so probably due for another ice storm.

OK has some beautiful native prairies and some granite mountains that are great for hiking. My husband and I were both born here. We lived in Manassas, VA for about a year and San Rafael, CA for about a year, but we always wind up back in OK!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top