8 Aug Tucker +6 520! In the black, what's happened? AMPS: 20.1 (362)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-aug-tucker-amps-14-252.200738/
A disappointing start to the day for our Tucker. He was crying and crying for food, purry even during his morning pretest but his eyes looked sort of blurry. Flashback to the day he didn't look quite right in the eyes and I brought him to the vet and he was diagnosed. Poor baby. He had a raw food diet last night, no chance of him getting any carbs and Kurt was sure there was no fur shot last night.
 
+6 was 28.9 (520)! He has never been nearly this high before. I didn't realise there even was a black number....very upsetting. What does this mean? His ketone test is fully negative, he is laying here giving himself a big bath around the ears after being poked.
 
I know those black numbers are hard to see, trust me, I know how you feel. I hated seeing them too. :arghh::arghh: Especially when the meter said "Hi", which meant over 600. :banghead: I'm sure the high numbers will be temporary. He will feel lousy but get over it.:bighug:

There are a few reasons for those blacks, the first of course is a bounce. On the spreadsheet, I see no entires on the PM cycle of the 4th. Did he go lower tha night? Some cats will go high before they go low as they start to break the bounce. If so, it may be a busy night. Any chance of a fur shot this morning? I would sniff his injection site. Did you retest? Any chance of a testing error? And lastly, could be the tail end of some New Dose Wonkiness from the increase and he's heading up before heading down. Good job getting the ketones test in.
 
I know those black numbers are hard to see, trust me, I know how you feel. I hated seeing them too. :arghh::arghh: Especially when the meter said "Hi", which meant over 600. :banghead: I'm sure the high numbers will be temporary. He will feel lousy but get over it.:bighug:

There are a few reasons for those blacks, the first of course is a bounce. On the spreadsheet, I see no entires on the PM cycle of the 4th. Did he go lower tha night? Some cats will go high before they go low as they start to break the bounce. If so, it may be a busy night. Any chance of a fur shot this morning? I would sniff his injection site. Did you retest? Any chance of a testing error? And lastly, could be the tail end of some New Dose Wonkiness from the increase and he's heading up before heading down. Good job getting the ketones test in.
Thank you for all of this. I'll answer your questions in order:
On the 4th he did not go lower.
No chance of a fur shot this morning, he was purring and calm during the shot and I did smell the site afterwards--all good.
I did retest. The next one came down a little bit 25.2 (454)....so in the red. Also a place we've never been before but better than black?
I'm wishing when we had him up at 5.5 and starting getting low numbers (but not hypo low), we had eased him back instead of cutting the dose in half...........but what do I know?! I'm just upset. Tucker is sleeping here with me but I can tell he is nauseated, he keeps licking his chops and his eyes are so so sad, 3rd eyelid droopy sad.
 
Good to know there were no lower numbers on the 4th. The spreadsheet is missing data.

I am glad you found a lower number on the retest. The previous test could have been off.

As for dose, you just have 2 more cycles after today and you can increase tomorrow night, if he doesn't go lower in between. Almost there. :bighug: He did see green on the previous dose. You've also learned a lesson about dosing. Following the protocol usually works. However, those larger depots can impact quite a few cycles after a reduction. Being a bit cautious is fine, maybe not so much next time.
 
Thanks so much! Big learning curve but luckily there are people like yourself watching out for us.
 
High numbers are discouraging. But this is just temporary bounce. The high numbers are only bad if there is a history of them - and the result is glucose toxicity. Nothing to worry about with Tucker.

Tucker probably doesn't feel great. And he is not absorbing calories as well - as shown by the high BG. Probably wouldn't hurt much to feed him a bit extra, and some extra loving too.
 
Kudos to you for pulling a BG number so late. That is nice to see he reached the blues.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top