Christie & Maverick
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-aug-maverick-amps-563-5-459.181885/
I sent over Mav's spreadsheet this morning to the vet, and I have some concerns about the comments that I received, I would really appreciate any feedback!
They agreed with me that dose increase is recommended, but they want me to increase to 2u. Then, I was told not to bother with any more testing, I should just run another BG curve in 7-10 days. I politely tried to explain that I am uncomfortable with giving him any shot without at least testing AMPS and PMPS, and an odd one here or there to see how he is doing, and to get a better picture of how his treatment is progressing. I was told the testing is probably just stressing him out and that if I keep testing, he'll become afraid of me and I'll damage my bond with him. WHAT?! I explained that is not an issue at all, Maverick is just fine, and while I won't be testing him 6 times a day, I will be testing him AMPS and PMPS regardless of what they feel is required.
I also asked whether it would make sense to go up in a smaller interval vs. a full 1u, since he might have been bouncing up to the reds following the yellows. The comment I received is that this is what they normally recommend, and based on what they saw on my spreadsheet, the vet is not worried at all that I am risking possible hypo. Telling me not to worry, that it's very unlikely to happen makes no sense to me. I'm very frustrated at their nonchalant attitude in general.
I would prefer to have a good working relationship with my vet, and I don't want to go all "rogue" on them and not follow their instructions, but I think it's time for a second vet opinion.
In the immediate term, is an increase to 1.5u possibly warranted based on his high numbers and not much movement down over the last week, or as per SLGS, I should take a patience pill, bump to 1.25u and see how we do?
I sent over Mav's spreadsheet this morning to the vet, and I have some concerns about the comments that I received, I would really appreciate any feedback!
They agreed with me that dose increase is recommended, but they want me to increase to 2u. Then, I was told not to bother with any more testing, I should just run another BG curve in 7-10 days. I politely tried to explain that I am uncomfortable with giving him any shot without at least testing AMPS and PMPS, and an odd one here or there to see how he is doing, and to get a better picture of how his treatment is progressing. I was told the testing is probably just stressing him out and that if I keep testing, he'll become afraid of me and I'll damage my bond with him. WHAT?! I explained that is not an issue at all, Maverick is just fine, and while I won't be testing him 6 times a day, I will be testing him AMPS and PMPS regardless of what they feel is required.
I also asked whether it would make sense to go up in a smaller interval vs. a full 1u, since he might have been bouncing up to the reds following the yellows. The comment I received is that this is what they normally recommend, and based on what they saw on my spreadsheet, the vet is not worried at all that I am risking possible hypo. Telling me not to worry, that it's very unlikely to happen makes no sense to me. I'm very frustrated at their nonchalant attitude in general.
I would prefer to have a good working relationship with my vet, and I don't want to go all "rogue" on them and not follow their instructions, but I think it's time for a second vet opinion.
In the immediate term, is an increase to 1.5u possibly warranted based on his high numbers and not much movement down over the last week, or as per SLGS, I should take a patience pill, bump to 1.25u and see how we do?
I need one for +5 or +6 tonight, and for sure one tomorrow AMPS, I had a few error out on me. I guess my vet needed to order them in, so I have to wait until tomorrow. That's just a wee bit annoying
.
. I had a long haired Calico, she was full of personality and attitude, but no comparison to the torties
. 