8/9 Yoda amps 131 +4 55 +5 55 +6 50 +7 73 +8 56 Dose ??s

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21546

So Yoda has been going through some mini - bounces lately. I think he goes lower in the evening while I sleep, which is giving me the mid 100 preshots. Not bad numbers all in all, but higher than he usually gives me. I took his dose dose down from 0.5u to 0.25u a few days ago, and I have been getting the same numbers that we did on the 0.5u. Today he came down from his 131 amps very quickly and has been hovering in the 50's even with food. (he has already had between 4 and 5 oz of food so far today).

Should we try to take him down to a fat zero tonight, or should we start an otj trial and see where he goes? He is gaining weight so quickly still that I cannot feed him more. Our vet has already commented that we need to start restricting food because of his weight gain.
 
Re: 8/9 Yoda amps 131 +4 55 +5 55 +6 50 Dose Questions

Personally, I don't think Yoda is ready for an OTJ trial or for any further dose reductions. Sorry to serve up noodles but even the reductions you've taken haven't been based on the protocol (i.e., tested numbers being below 50). At this point, you're still getting mid-cycle numbers that are outside of the normal BG range. While Yoda's numbers look good, I think his pancreas will benefit from additional support and sticking with your current dose will help to better prepare Yoda for a successful OTJ trial. Why rush it?
 
Re: 8/9 Yoda amps 131 +4 55 +5 55 +6 50 Dose Questions

Yoda's SS is really looking beautiful with all those blues and greens! So great to see! I bet he will be ready in no time at all....
sometimes just a little support for that sputtering pancreas for awhile makes all the difference! Great job!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/9 Yoda amps 131 +4 55 +5 55 +6 50 Dose Questions

The only reduction that I took that was against protocol was going from 0.5u to 0.25u. When I took it down from 0.75u to 0.5u it was because he hit 50 only 4 hours after the shot and after food one evening.

I'll keep monitoring him today to make sure he doesn't go lower than 50. When he does go below 50 while at this 0.25u dose, what would our next step be though?
 
The next step down would be a 0.1u. Yoda is so close that the longer we can keep him on insulin the better his chances of a successful OTJ trial.
 
surfing the 50's is ok, it's great actually! On this small dose he'll be fine, LC food should be enough to keep him surfing safely.

At this point, it is worth it to try to hold onto these doses for as long as possible. He still needs to bring those preshots down. The goal is to prevent him from dropping below 50 for as long as you can so the insulin can work on those preshots. The best way to do that is by feeding several small meals during the first part of the cycle (not feeding more food, just dividing his regular food into several portions and feeding at say PS, +1, +2, +3. Also, for a lot of cats at this stage, a snack at +9 will help stimulate the pancreas to bring the PS number down.

Ideally Yoda will be able to stay in normal numbers (under about 120 overall) for a week on this dose, and then do the same on 0.1 before trying OTJ. We find that cats who stay on the juice for as long as possible, and work their way down the last few doses slowly, have the best chance of going OTJ and *staying* OTJ.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top