8/9 Walter AMPS 241, +3 271, +8 114 / Mandarin AMPS 226, +3 319, +8 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

This has definitely been the roughest few weeks since this whole FD dance began two years ago. Between Mandarin coming out of remission again, me being sick and dealing with sick foster kittens, I feel like I have reached my limit. But I think the hardest part is the realization that there is probably little to no chance that Mandarin will ever go OTJ again. As long as there was the hope that all of my efforts would make a difference, all of this was a bit easier.

So, at this point, I don't even know if it makes sense to continue with TR or if the constant pokes just make both of our lives miserable. His numbers are horrible, he's back to drinking tons of water, he's not grooming himself... I just never thought that we would be back here just a few short months after he went OTJ. :arghh:
 
My impression is that TR is about more than getting OTJ, it's a very good method for keeping BG in healthy range as much as possible. I'm so sorry that Mandarin is a difficult patient, but getting him regulated as much as possible will definitely improve his overall health.

You do so much for your kitties, and I'm so sorry that they're throwing you more work :bighug:
 
I know it's very frustrating, but TR helps keep the cat feeling good and in healthy numbers even if you can't get back to OTJ. There is still a chance you can get Mandarin back to OTJ. He just finished the AB. That could be keeping his numbers higher. Sending prayers and hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Christina I can only imagine how hard this is mentally & emotionally this is. I think you should do what ever makes things a bit easier on you and Mandarin. Hopefully there will be a big change now that the AB's and dental are done. I go through periods of not having the strength and energy to try with Doodles givin the known outcome of his condition to getting "back in the game". My theory of a day without pink for Doodles is a good day has helped my sanity somewhat. There is a chance for Mandarin, he's so young and not long ago his BG's were in the 40's OTJ. Sending lots of vines and prayers you way :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Christina I'm sorry all the fur babies seem to be ill and Mandarin is not responding.
I would try to continue with TR at least until a few days after the antibiotics are done. Were the antibiotics just because of the dental or was there something else going on?
Have you thought about having the labs run again? There have been a couple of times when I've had a kitty in for b/w, everything was ok, then a short time later the kitty had an infection.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: for better days to come. Come on kitties feel well..... and there is always hope for OJT:)
 
Were the antibiotics just because of the dental or was there something else going on?
Have you thought about having the labs run again?

Yes, they put him on ABs because they did a dental with extractions... and his mouth was pretty infected. He doesn't really have other symptoms and his BW looked pretty good (other than the Glucose level). He still has three more capsules of Clindamycin left. So he's not quite done with them yet.

I go through periods of not having the strength and energy to try with Doodles givin the known outcome of his condition to getting "back in the game". My theory of a day without pink for Doodles is a good day has helped my sanity somewhat. There is a chance for Mandarin, he's so young and not long ago his BG's were in the 40's OTJ. Sending lots of vines and prayers you way

I don't even know how you do it sometimes, Karen. None of this just seems fair. We have so many awesome cats and beans on this board and feels like they have all been put through so much.
 
Yes, I understand the overwhelming "nothing I'm doing" works feeling. And the frustration. And the exhaustion, emotional and physical. You know what you need to do for your kits; you know what you need to do for yourself. What you choose, is what is right. Mandarin's had a rough go with the dental and a/b, the stress of the testing. And you've had a rough go with the disappointment of falling from the Falls and the concerns with the kittens. Nope, it's not fair; it just is. So, take these :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: and indulge yourself with some time for you.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Christina, sending lots of hugs and I could just cry for you feeling your frustration and weariness. Is Mandarin eating okay? The reason I ask is because sometimes after a dental extraction a root tip could be let behind and will be an irritation and cause inflammation . (eventually would cause an infection but he is still on an AB ) If you see him favoring a side while he's chewing, like putting his head to one side while he is chewing, it could be an indication that something is still bothering him in his mouth and could be worth a look by the vet.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I think that I would wait until a few days after the ABs are done and if nothing has changed then, IMO, I would take him to the vetty so that the vetty could firstly examine his mouth to see if there is any inflammation and secondly run another set of labs. Is Clindamycin the normal drug to give after a dental? Potentially it didn't kill the infection.

I know how frustrated you must be right now! We do what we need to do and kitty doesn't respond and we just want to throw up our hands/scream/cry. I would give it a few more days.
 
Is Mandarin eating okay? The reason I ask is because sometimes after a dental extraction a root tip could be let behind and will be an irritation and cause inflammation . (eventually would cause an infection but he is still on an AB ) If you see him favoring a side while he's chewing, like putting his head to one side while he is chewing, it could be an indication that something is still bothering him in his mouth and could be worth a look by the vet.

He is eating fine (and is starving all the time now that he is back in higher numbers). They took x-rays before and after surgery and they were confident that they got everything.

I think that I would wait until a few days after the ABs are done and if nothing has changed then, IMO, I would take him to the vetty so that the vetty could firstly examine his mouth to see if there is any inflammation and secondly run another set of labs. Is Clindamycin the normal drug to give after a dental? Potentially it didn't kill the infection.

Yes, they either use Clindamycin or Clavamox and Clavamox upsets his stomach even more. But you are right - I will finish the ABs and take him back if he is not better. Obviously, he's very good at hiding pain since I didn't have a clue that he was hurting before the dental either.

...and I just went out to lunch with a friend. It helped to even just get out of the house for a bit and I thought it was safe to leave for a few hours. Amazingly, Walter's bounce is already breaking. He is really doing amazing and I just hope that Mandarin will get back on track. He is such a sensitive little guy and the fact that I am so stressed is making all of this so much worse. On good days, I can usually test him in about 10 or 15 minutes, but when he knows that I am upset, he won't even come near me.
 
Happy that you took some time for yourself and went for lunch with a friend!
Walter is doing really well! And I think there may be a pj party tonight....
 
Oh Christina, I totally get the exhaustion and all the juggling you're doing for your sick kitties. I'm glad you got out for lunch today with your friend. Be sure to take some time for yourself. It's so wearying dealing with constant sick kitties. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Hang in there with Mandarin. Even if you don't test him quite as much for now, he may still go OTJ again, or at the very least I'm sure he can be controlled in lower numbers after he's done with the AB and finishes recovering. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top