8/9 Tibbs NEED HELP amps 352 +5 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
help. i need advice please. it's been a crazy week so i didn't have a chance to test his nadir.
today it came in at 64 !!! I tested again and 63. I even tested myself to make sure the meter was correct.
Is it possible to go from the mid to high 300's down to 64 at nadir? and if yes is his dose too high? I am
panicking over here. I made him eat some canned food and a few pieces of dry and he seems ok. What should
i do? Thanks so much.
 
Nadine - I'm not really qualified to give you much advice, but, yes, as you can see for yourself, it's definitely possible! Have you tested tibbs again? I would test him at least hourly to make sure he's not going any lower.

64 is a perfectly normal number. Has he ever tested that low before?
I didn't have a chance to look at his SS. What dose has he been taking?

Maybe some of the long-time posters will see your NEED HELP plea and give you some advice on how to dose this evening. Until then, don't panic, and do test sweet tibbs again. Unless he continues to drop, I wouldn't give him any more dry food. In fact, he's probably already rising because of that.

:YMHUG:
 
hi geneva
he has never gone that low. his nadirs are usually in the high 200's and low 300's. that's why we were going to increase his dose. i don't know how he got so low.
thank you
 
Nadine - I don't know about increasing his dose ... he would probably go even lower, don't you think? Did you increase his dose this morning?

And, most importantly, did you test him lately? Like in the last few minutes? If not, do it now if you can. I bet he's already rising from the bit of dry food you gave him. 64 is a good number, but do test to make sure he's not dropping further.

How long has he been totally transitioned to wet food only? Diet can make such a huge difference in BG.
 
Oh, and Nadine, you may want to edit your first post and click the red/yellow 911 icon instead of None. That will help alert other posters that you need some quick advice!
 
hi geneva
yes his +8 is now 70. he is acting normal. no problems. i will def not increase his dose. if he stays this low for his pmps , i may give a reduced dose. his next shot is not until midnight so i have time. is it possible the insulin all of a sudden started working? and that's another thing, he is not completely on wet food yet. he still gets a very small amount of purina d/m dry when i go to work. he eats very little of it though. i just don't understand this rapid drop
 
oh and this morning i gave him a "fat" 1.5 . it was really just a half drop more than usual. but tonight i may have to give a reduced dose. i will wait for advice.
thanks so much for your help
 
I also don't have educated advice for you, but if you look at Sunshine's SS, you'll see that she also has had some large plunges. As long as he's asymptomatic for hypo, he's okay. But definitely don't increase his dose and even consider decreasing it, at least until Mel can get back to you (on Monday, I'm guessing). If he isn't above 150 at his PMPS test, you might consider skipping the shot altogether. Better to be too high tonight and tomorrow than too low! (Though the 150 number is from TR, so other, more knowledgable people, may have different advice for you!)
 
Nadine,

Hopefully, I can help.

Yes, it is very possible that the insulin shed has built up and has reached a point where it really kicked in and brought Tibbs down.

If your PMPS is less than 150 tonight, I would consider either skipping the dose or cutting it in half. If the BG is above 200, I think you would be safe with your current dose.

Sometimes with fairly new diabetics, they reach a point where the pancreas starts to work on its own. Then, you need to test as much as you can and be prepared to bring his insulin dose down to avoid lows. Be aware that the pancreas may sputter as it starts to work. That's why extra testing may be a good idea.

I see you are in Connecticut. I'm in Mass and I am a night owl. So, PM me if you have questions tonight. I will definitely be up until 1:00 am. If you want to call and talk, just PM me your number and I'll call you back.

All the best, Nadine, to both you and Tibbs.

Claudia
 
hi claudio
thank you so much. his next shot is at midnight so i will definetely post what's going on and send my number. thanks for your help
 
Claudia - thank you for stepping in with great advice! And what a wonderful offer to be of further assistance! Makes me happy to witness once again what a caring, compassionate place this is!

{{{ group hug }}}

Nadine - I hope everything goes well for you and tibbsy tonight! dancing_cat
 
yes. thank you both. people on this board are amazing!!!
i don't know what i would have done without it and i hope to give back when i am more experienced.
 
Hi Nadine,

Did you get a 12:00 BG? Just checking in. Want to be sure you don't need me later tonight.

Claudia
 
Hi Claudio
yes his pmps was 353 so i am relieved. I shot him 1.25 instead of 1.5 just because he went so low. Is that normal to have such extreme readings?
as you said something may be kicking in but i thought lantus was supposed to be sort of semi-flat. this is wild swings. Thank you so much for your help.
what do you think i should do?
Nadine
 
hi Claudio
i sent you a PM but for some reason all my pm's seem to be "stuck" in the outbox and are not being sent. do i have something set wrong?
thank
nadine
 
Nadine,

Glad Tibbs is back up. I think you made a good dosing decision. Hold it in the morning and see what you get at somewhere between +5 to +7 if you can.

I'm around tomorrow if you need help.

Get some sleep. You deserve it. Kisses to Tibbs.

Claudia
 
oops. so sorry i meant claudia !!!!!! i was so stressed i didn't see that i had typed claudio. you are wonderful. thanks so much for your help.
 
Assuming that Tibbs is okay this morning, please take the 911 off your first post so we know all is well.
 
Linda,

I think Nadine will test around noon, since she tested at midnight. Like you, I am waiting to know how Tibbs will be this morning.

Claudia
 
hi claudia and linda
i am running home from work at noon to test him but he was completely normal this morning when i left for work. got up and ran out to screen porch
he was even running around the room like he used to. i am just so surprised by the big drop in numbers. i will post his amps as soon as i run home at noon. then i'm going to take several readings when i get home at 3. thanks for all your help and i did take off the 911. thank you
 
Nadine - glad to read the good update.

Especially happy about tibbs "running around the room like he used to." That also can be a positive sign of improvement.

You may have already read this, but here's The 5 Ps (created by BJM as an additional tool for monitoring feline diabetes)

THE FIVE Ps
Purring - is the cat exhibiting customary signs of contentment or happiness?

Playing - will the cat play and interact with others?

Preening - is the cat maintaining its fur and cleanliness?

Peeing - occurs, and is a normal volume?

Poohing - fecal material is formed and passable?

Constipation may happen with a food change; adding a tablespoon or so of water may help, plus ensures the cat is hydrated properly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top