8/9 Snuggie: PMPS 347; +8 480 ((AMPS 484; +7 376

Jay Dee

Member Since 2021
Well folks what do we think?

I was keeping him on 9.25 because we saw some greens early on and I’d heard to keep them on for 10 cycles once you see the first green.

His bounces were shorter but we were seeing few greens and the ones we did see were in the 80s.

I won’t be able to monitor him for most of his cycle on Wednesday so didn’t want to change dose too close to then - I want to know how he reacts to it so thought last night was the best time to change dose.

So with the same thinking that led me to increase from 9 to 9.25, I increased from 9.25 to 9.5 last night. But looking back, his last few preshot numbers at 9.25 were blue and his nadir-times were yellow - for multiple cycles - and now his AMPS on 9.5 is 484, so I’m just plain confused. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance!

*reminder: he’s an acro-kitty

@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @PerfumedCatMom @Purrberry @Bandit's Mom

Last post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-7-snuggie-amps-171.251017/#post-2831994
 
Last edited:
… anyone? I just don’t know if i should have gone up when I did, or should have decreased instead. Just worried I’m hurting my boy. Thanks!
 
Hi. Not my area with of expertise but I do know a .25 increase is not going to harm. At this dose increases are .50. I know Wendy is not available much this week. Did you post on the Acro forum?
 
Hi. Not my area with of expertise but I do know a .25 increase is not going to harm. At this dose increases are .50. I know Wendy is not available much this week. Did you post on the Acro forum?
Thanks! I always forget about the acro forum but if Wendy isn’t around much this week I’ll hop over there this evening.

We (Wendy and I) had bumped up 0.25 last week bc we thought we were really close to a good dose and based on his poor performance when we dropped him from 8 to 7.75, we thought maybe that was all he needed. Clearly not! :joyful::banghead:
 
Posted on the acro forum, but I am feeling like maybe this dose is too high with the PM+8 of 480…could be NDW tho too. Guess time will tell. Always one to try to find the silver lining though, I guess I can take a break from worrying about hypo for a few days … :confused:
 
Not my area of expertise either, but I don't think the 0.25U increase is causing any issues - unless it is NDW. Doesn't look like you are missing any lows to cause him to bounce extra high.
The only thing to do is wait it out and see :-)
 
Hi there! I'm unfortunately not qualified for dosing advice, but I will say from experience with Fred, it takes a bit of time for the new dose to settle in and build. Just when I think he's not going anywhere, he'll have a lower cycle. I'd tend to agree with the (much more experienced!) members that it may be NDW.

I also swear they throw us a few wacky days, just to keep us on our toes. ;-)
 
I’m really not qualified to help, but if the Snuggle monster is seeing numbers like he is, a modest increase can only do good I think. Give the cat as much insulin as it needs and let it settle in for 6 cycles. Maybe some patience pants are needed? NDW?
 
Just hold that dose for six cycles, unless he drops low. Then you can see if he has nadirs in the 300s or in the 200s or we can hope in the 100s after the NDW hopefully clears up. There is a helpful sticky on the acro forum about increases.

I think it may be time to talk to Wendy about adding in some R insulin- with those high preshots. But you would need to have the time to do the testing that goes along with it. So you might want to hold off if it isn’t a good time for you to add something new. Anyway, it’s just something to think about. More hugs.
 
Thanks all! Tomorrow am will be his 6th cycle at this dose so I’m hoping for some lower #s this cycle.
I’m not sure about the R- addition just yet. Lots going on in the next few months and possibly work travel depending on how covid goes, so we will see. The high pre shots are something new so fingers crossed it’s temporary!

Thanks for the replies and the hugs everyone! Snugs says thank you too.
 
Back
Top