8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130 +4 118 +10 123

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
BCS Condo (08/09)


Well, while his numbers are a LITTLE higher, he seems to have survived his BCS. Now it is time to get back to business!

I got almost 8 hours of sleep last night, I can't tell you the last time I did that. I even turned off all the lights (I normally leave them on as it helps me get up for testing if the lights are on). I am still a little tired, but off to run some errands, stock up on some Skooter supplies and then back home to do some DEEP cleaning.

I am assuming that I might have a PJ party tonight, but we shall see....I hope other's are having a more relaxing Saturday than I will be having :)

Sending healing vines to all our lil kittehs and :YMHUG: to all the beans (whether ya need em or nor :-D )
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79

Why yes mommabean I would like to just jump right back on that wagon and earn me a reducie....thanks for asking....

well, I guess he is back on track lol

I need more strips I think!
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79

Yes he is and back to business he is....already at 70 and we are only at +3!
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35

Not 100% freaking out (and maybe I should be)

But just wanted to get some eyes on this one as I may need some assistance.....

He seems just find, is not acting any differently.....


Should I be testing every 15 for now or?
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35

Hi Molly, it's early in the cycle. Let's get him up above 50. Do you know the routine? What did you feed him after that 35?
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35

I gave him probably like 1/3 of a 3oz HC FF gravy lovers chicken....

He does typically nadir early, but this I am not liking too much, a little TOO low for my liking....
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35

Ok, so you'll test again 20 minutes after and continue the lather, rinse repeat, right?

ETA: We need to get him up ASAP.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35

That is my plan....I am thinking I should be freaking out....but I just restocked my MC, HC fuds, lancets, test strips this morning......

I just wanted to make sure I got some eyes on this bad boy since this is all new territory for us.....


So guess we go to 1.25 tonight!
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35

Laura's right. you just keep up what you're doing.

when you give carbs, concentrate on the gravy part, not the food. if you fill him up with food, you may not be able to get him to eat.

one teaspoon of gravy at a time, or a drop or two of karo.

i'll let her keep helping you, i just wanted to add that about the gravy.

reduce tonight to 1.25u.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32

Sorry, I knew about the gravy part....I think because of the low number I forgot about that part.....
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35

No freaking out necessary but you do need to get him up. He's earned a reduction so the most important thing is to get him up. A drop of karo may not be a bad idea. Hopefully, someone else will come along. It's been a while since I've dealt with such low numbers but I know Zeke very well so I know exactly what to do for him. Just stay on top of the testing right now.

ETA: Oh good. I see Julie and I cross posted.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32

Molly, most of the carbs are in the gravy. Some gravy with a little karo, honey or maple syrup may get him up quickly.'
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46

Going to give him a little more gravy and will put a few drops of Karo in it and retest in 15-20
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46

Good to see that 46. Since he's up a bit I wouldn't test every 15 - you want to allow time for the gravy/food to register. IMHO 20 minutes is good for now.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter AMPS 171 +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46

Perfect :cool:

So you have it handy -
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.


DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 6

Pretty sure I held him the wrong way or something cuz he started hissing at me a little bit.....

I hope I didn't hurt him too badly....not sure how easy it will be to grab him for the next test....

Since I have him out of the "danger zone" at this point I am looking for two rising tests without food, correct? I am guessing a +5.25 and a +5.5 (plus a few minutes)?
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 6

MollynSkooter said:
Since I have him out of the "danger zone" at this point I am looking for two rising tests without food, correct? I am guessing a +5.25 and a +5.5 (plus a few minutes)?

I would think this is fine. Two rising numbers without food or karo or gravy and then you could test an hour later. You've done great. Just don't get complacent because remember the karo & gravy will wear off. You'll want to know that he's not gonna drop once that happens.

ETA: The two rising numbers will help gauge the frequency of testing and steering with food or karo. But you need two hours with rising or steady numbers without the benefit of food/karo/gravy to have comfort in knowing he's truly safe.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 6

Ohhhhhhhhhh trust me....

I will be watching him like a hawk lol
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 6

I heard the sheriff is on his way to arrest Skooter for attempted mamacide.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 6

MollynSkooter said:
Ohhhhhhhhhh trust me....

I will be watching him like a hawk lol
Such a wonderful momma bean. Great job you two. Congratulations on the reducie.

I have an appt so I gotta go. Looks like you've got things under control. Way to keep your cool Molly. Just remember you want two hours with steady or rising numbers without the benefit of food/karo/gravy.

I would maybe just pet Skooter without testing or do something else he really enjoys so that he'll be open to the testing. If you know treats don't make his numbers rise you can give him a treat or two.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter +2.25 79 +4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 6

I think there is enough evidence to charge him.....
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 65 +5.5.75

Just a couple of questions as this is new territory for us:

1. Is it possible for a bounce to start within the same cycle that he went so low

2. Do I still want to shoot the 1.5 if he is bouncing at PMPS or because he was in the 30s you go to the reduced dose, in this case the 1.25?

Thanks....
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4 35 +4.25 32 +4.5 46 +4.75+5min 65 +5.5.75

i suspect this fast rise is just from the amount of carbs you gave him. it can take 30 minutes for them to take effect, so if you were carbing every 15 minutes (which was fine) it may have meant more overall carbs. hence the 112.

it is possible for a bounce to start, yes. you'll know if it's a bounce later when you see more numbers. it could be just the carbs.

because Skooter is going down the dosing scale fairly quickly, if he were mine, i would not shoot through the bounce anymore. I would take the reduction with the next shot. especially with a number in the 30's - he is clearly saying he needs less insulin.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.5 46 +4.75+5min 65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88

So looks like he is coming down from his carbo load, which I expected him to do.....so my next couple questions would be:

1. Would it be an option to go down to 1u (skipping the 1.25u mark) since he seemed to do so well on the BCS and it is apparent by the low of 32 that he for sure needs less insulin? He technically did earn a reduction to 1.25 on am cycle 08-06, which we decided not to take since he had earned one just the day before on his am cycle of 08-07

2. If he is still double digits at PMPS, do I still want to shoot?

3. Since he seems to be on a mission at this point, if he dips below 50 again tonight, do I take that reduction or are we still thinking back to back reductions are not a good thing.

I know that the protocol doesn't really allow for that (for lack of better words) and with Skooter on a mission and seeing as ECID, thought I would throw that out there...



Thanks all (especially Laura and Mr. Z) once again today....

If he lets me, I am thinking I might have to swing out for a second 2 liter of caffeinated beverage for tonight....I have a sneaky feeling he will be having fun again.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.5 46 +4.75+5min 65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8

Ugh this cat is killing me....I need to run out and get more Skooterfood but I cant get two consecutive rising numbers.....

he has not had his second meal of the day, since we were dealing with his numbers in the 30s this morning....

So I am gonna give him his 1/4 can of 5.5oz and run out as quickly as I can to get more Skooter food and I think another 2 liter bottle of a caffeinated beverage for me....
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.5 46 +4.75+5min 65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8

Hi there :cool:

Well done!

I agree that you are seeing the effects of todays HC fest.
Yes, a bounce can start in the same cycle - however Skooter does not seem to have severe bounces. It will be interesting to see what unfolds.

julie & punkin (ga) said:
because Skooter is going down the dosing scale fairly quickly, if he were mine, i would not shoot through the bounce anymore. I would take the reduction with the next shot. especially with a number in the 30's - he is clearly saying he needs less insulin.
I'll add my voice to that. The 30s are nothing to mess around with.

MollynSkooter said:
Would it be an option to go down to 1u (skipping the 1.25u mark) since he seemed to do so well on the BCS and it is apparent by the low of 32 that he for sure needs less insulin? He technically did earn a reduction to 1.25 on am cycle 08-06, which we decided not to take since he had earned one just the day before on his am cycle of 08-07
Sure it's an option, I did it many times during BKs free fall. I had occasion once where I shot a BCS and it ended up being his new dose. I've also done back to back reductions. I think every possible combo of skips, stalls, BCSs, reductions etc. can be found on BKs ss during those free falls down the dosing ladder. You can always take it up to 1.25u if 1.0u ends up not being enough.

Based on Skooters reactions to the inconsistent doses this past week he will likely roll with whatever you decide. :cool:

eta - The TR protocol is a very comprehensive guide, however it's not written in stone. ECID.
When it comes to safety and peace of mind straying from the guidelines is A-OK. :cool:
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.75+5min65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8 74 +9.75

There is the Skooter version of a bounce I was looking for after that 32!

I think I am going to try 1u BID for six cycles (unless I see his really starting to jump up, in which case I will increase to 1.25u BID). But my gut is saying go with 1, so that is what I am going to do. I was worried about he BCS and he sailed through them with no problem whatsoever, so I am feeling pretty confident about this.

I may actually get a little teary-eyed as it was almost 3 months to the day that we started our journey with Lantus and he will now be back at his starting dose. I just never dreamed this possible after having week after week of tests in the vet's office in the 400s and 500s and the weekly increase all the way up to 5u BID.

A great big thank you to everyone who has helped Skooter and I on our journey so far!!! Even if he doesn't get OTJ, if he can stay around the 1u BID mark, that would be AMAZING.

OT: I had to run out again because I forgot the D batteries for Skooter's new feeder. I got to the store, got some other things and ALMOST left again without the batteries. :roll:

He is getting a bit antsy with testing, so since I have decided to go with the 1u BID, I will wait until PMPS to test again.....I have my second liter of caffeinated beverage at the ready if need be, but I am guessing if needed it would be tomorrow sometime.

another OT: I MUST be super emotional as I am only on the second episode of Leverage and I am crying....I forgot how sweet some of these episodes were....DARN YOU TNT FOR CANCELLING THIS MOST EPIC AND AWESOME TV SHOW!!!!!!!!!!
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.75+5min65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8 74 +9.75

honestly, i wondered about skipping to 1.0u this morning, even as i wrote the 1.25u. When a cat is going down the dosing scale, it's so individual. some flatten out for weeks on end, some bounce all the way to OTJ, skipping doses.

i think 1.0 makes a lot of sense & it's fine to try it. however, if you reread the part on reductions in the TRProtocol page, it says that if a reduction fails (ie, if you reduce the dose and the BGs trend upwards) go immediately back to the last good dose.

I would interpret that to mean that if you drop to 1.0u and his numbers go back up, i'd go to 1.25u instead of the 1.5u. I'd only give it a couple of cycles to decide so that you don't lose any momentum he's got going. which is a lot. :lol:
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.75+5min65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8 74 +9.75

I am pretty sure if you look up the word momentum in the dictionary right now, it would be Skooter's picture LOL

I will probably try and give it through his AM cycle on Monday as I hate doing increases in AM cycles during the week as while my schedule has allowed thus far for daily check ins and I have a VERY understanding boss, my work is starting to pile up from the missed day last week and the "long lunch" from last week as well. I know for most cats, it takes them a cycle to get used to a new dose, but Skooter seems to be reacting within the same cycle that the change takes place.

Now, I shall spend some time trying to figure out this timed feeder lol...I am hoping to set it up for tonight around his + as that is when he normally gets his last meal...I still need to get an ice tray to fit in there as the one I got doesn't fit in it, but at least I can try!

I thought it only fitting to have a "Totinos PARTY pizza" for dinner tonight, so when Skooter gets fed, momma will get fed :smile:


RANDOM OT Question....so I have the fun smiles off to my right, but I have seen some other really cool ones out there....MJ Frog from WB, camels among many others....is there a listing of all of those other fun ones out there that I can use?
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.75+5min65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8 74 +9.75

canned food will stay ok all day. one of my cats grazes all day long. people assured me that it would be ok for punkin, and it was. usually i put one ice cube on top of the food in each tray when i left for work in the morning. it melts, keeps the food cold and from drying out.

there is a button to forward the tray one compartment. you got the PetSafe 5 Compartment one, didn't you? Every time you put the food tray in the base, make sure you rotate it forward by pushing the button. if it only rotates partially you don't have it fully seated in the base. take it out and put it back in, making sure it's all the way down. when you try it, it will make sense.

you're in the "make decisions one cycle at a time" phase. ;-) :mrgreen:

for the smilies, you can go to google IMAGES and search for something like "camel gif". Gifs are pictures that move. like my favorite wootie troupes
woot.gif
are gifs. love my wooties! :-D

then you use the Img button instead of the URL button to insert them into a reply. They can't be too big. When I look on google at the images, you can see the size. I can't recall what the exact maximum size is, but 400x400 will fit. i think you can do 400x600 or so - when you try to post something too big the board will tell you what the max size is.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.75+5min65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8 74 +9.75

I am nervous and excited about this phase all at once....

I wanted this to come so bad, but now that it is here, I am wondering why I wanted this lol....but this is good....I am hoping that perhaps we can start the new month off with an OTJ trial (antijinx, antijinx, antijinx)...

Hrmmmm I am not having luck with getting the images in here....I will have to work on that one lol
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter+4.75+5min65 +5.5.75 112 +6.5 88 +8 74 +9.75

are they too big? if you notice, most google images tell you the size right from the google search page. my experience has been it's either that the image is too big, or i've tried using the URL button instead of the Img button. if you do that, what you pasted will appear as the URL when you click post, instead of the picture from that page.

if that makes any sense at all .. . :lol:
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123

I just don't think I am doing it right, Julie....

I will have to spend some time on it trying to figure it out....

Since he was down 17 points from +9, almost didn't shoot at all, but went with the 1u....I have supplies at the ready if need be.

Here is his morning recap, since I reset his Condo subject line:

AMPS = 171
+2 = 79
+3 = 70
+4 = 35
+4.25 = 32
+4.5 = 46
+4.75(+5minutes) = 65
+5.3? = 95
+5.75 = 112
+6.5 = 88
+8 = 74
+9.75 = 140

I am thinking I am in for another active cycle....I am trying not to already be thinking ahead to tomorrow's cycles, but ugh, this is nerve racking....

But I must remember that I have my tools and I should be fine...if he dips rather low again tonight, is it difficult to get them to come back up in back to back cycles?
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123

Hi Molly, what a great day for Skooter. You're doing a great job staying on top of his drops and steering his BG. I hope he'll flatten out some for you tonight but based on how he's been doing, I'd be surprised if that turns out to be the case. This kitty may be on an accelerated path. It's good you're all stocked up and ready for (BG) action. Glad I could lend some support this morning.

Hope you and Skooter have a great night.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123

Just read through your exciting morning, and it appears you could have an exciting evening.
What is bcs?
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134

I am glad he had a food spike...at least I am not going hard core right away lol

BCS - Big Chicken Shot - my understanding is that is when you don't give them their full dose whether because you won't be home or nervous about numbers, etc
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134

BCS is Big Chicken Shot....or Big Chicken Sh** shot

It's when you give a lower dose than the scheduled dose because you can't be around to monitor or they're lower than you're comfortable shooting the "scheduled" dose...or any number of reasons
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130

Good job today Molly and congrats on the reduction. Reading Skooters condo was a good way to pass time today. :-D

Paws crossed for some gentle sliding and maybe even a good nights sleep tonight too.
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130

Thanks, Wendy!

Of course he would pick one of the two nights a week I have told him go ahead and have PJ parties to NOT have one :roll: :roll: :roll:

He sure isn't making this easy on his mommabean....good thing he is so darn cute and snuggly....I just keep telling myself, it looks like there is a light at the end of this tunnel and if we can just make through, the reward will be TOTALLY worth it
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130

i just went through the process so i could tell you exactly.

1. go to google.com
2. click "images" on that page.
3. in the search box, put what you want a picture of - for this one, i put "cute cat gif" in the search box
4. it will generate a list of possibilities. hover your cursor over the picture and you'll be able to see the size.
5. choose one that is 400x400 or less (like i said, i think the board allows slightly bigger, but 400x400 is definitely ok). click it.
6. click "view image" and you should have ONLY the picture on the page now.
7. copy the URL (website address) for that page
8. Come here and in the posting window, click the Img button that's 9 to the right of the left side of the page, in the row above the window that you type replies in.

should look like this:
URL%20here

9. click "preview" to see if it's all working

cute-cat-o.gif
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130

First off, ADROABLE kitty!!

Second, thanks for the step by step! I will try this tomorrow morning....I think Skooter might be giving me a permission slip to go to bed early again...I might even be able to turn lights off and everything! I was gonna try and get some more deep cleaning done, but having a diabetic kitty is kinda like having a newborn...with a newborn, you sleep when they sleep and with a diabetic kitty you sleep when the numbers seem to be calming down some lol
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130

so true!

i keep forgetting to say that i like your new user name - mollynskooter is very charming! :-D

enjoy your good night's sleep. although . . . . just saying, i'd probably get a +4 and make sure he doesn't decide to drop. he's been a little "active" lately. you've no doubt noticed. ;-)
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130

Ya, I kinda like this name better, too :)

the +4 was already on the agenda, if it wasn't I would probably be in bed and asleep by now lol....

How sad, its Saturday night at 9:30 and I am sitting watching the time til 10 so I can test and hopefully go to sleep.

Going to get my burgers started for tomorrow...I am a freak about olive oils and balsamic vinegars and so I am going to mix a little Garlic EVOO and 18 year aged balsamic in the meet and let it sit overnight. I did it once before but did not let it sit so the flavors could really get in......

Tomorrow I am going to start marinating some chicken in a Rosemary EVOO Blueberry Balsamic mixture with some rosemary, thyme, and I think it is parsley that the recipe calls for......
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130 +4 118

Sooooooooooooooo thoughts on if this is a go ahead for momma bean to get some sleep?
 
Re: 8/9 Skooter PMPS 123 +1 134 +2 130 +4 118

Hi Molly,

To me it looks like, it would be fine to go to sleep since he is only dropping slowy. When was the last time that you fed him? When is his usual nadir?

Maybe someone else will give an opinion as well. I want to be sure with Skooter since of all the action lately
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top