8/9 Moo, AMPS 220, +3=81, +3.5=56

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
Good thing I am home all day today!
Looks like we may have an interesting day.

*** What is the number he has to go below for another reduction??
And does he have to fall below it once or multiple days?
 
it's 50. From the Tight Regulation Protocol sticky:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

If anyone suggests otherwise, they are putting your cat at risk! Our kitties are not just numbers. They are living beings who trust us to look out for them. The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive.

Keeping YOUR cat safe is the #1 priority of the FDMB.
Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus Tight Regulation ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.

with a 56, i'd get another test in 30 minutes.

a newly diagnosed cat only needs to go below 50 one time to "earn" a reduction. In Moo's case right now, that would mean if he goes below 50 today, your dose tonight would reduce to 0.5u.

if a cat has demonstrated that he/she can't hold a reduction, meaning that every time you reduce the numbers go back up, then we go to plan B on reductions. But that doesn't apply to Moo right now. Try to catch his naidirs and if he goes below 50, take the full 0.25u reduction in his dose.
 
Re: 8/9 Moo, AMPS 220, +3=81, +3.5=56, +4=57, +4.5= 67

Thanks.
What constitutes newly diagnosed?
He was diagnosed dec 2013.
I just cut his spreadsheet down today because it
Was too long and took for ever to upload daily.
 
less than one year is still newly diagnosed...

the rules change after they are on insulin for longer than a year....

Glad Moo is enjoying some :mrgreen: time...
 
ah, i see you joined in dec 2012 - was that when he was diagnosed? if so, he isn't newly diagnosed any more.

The protocol says once under 40 for a long-term diabetic. some people use 3 times under 50, just depends on the cat. Look at the part I quoted in my last post above.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top