8/9 Harley AMPS 144, ACK!! PMPS 382

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/9 Harley AMPS 144

what the...???? robin he is doing sooooo great! are'nt you getting just a little excited about these beauties?
and i have to admit, 144-.5, reasonable. what can you do? i mean he's sputtering! before you would'nt have even shot below 150 good for you with the .5.
yay!
 
Re: 8/9 Harley AMPS 144

Thanks, I am getting excited and a little nervous too because you just never know when it's going to sputter and when it wont.
 
Re: 8/9 Harley AMPS 144

saw your lunch time #...next time maybe .7?
 
Re: 8/9 Harley AMPS 144

That's what I was thinking. We'll have to see what tonight brings. Probably high.

I need opinions, I'm thinking of taking Harley on a road trip.

I've been invited to a family lake place with about 10 family members. It sounds like fun and they don't care if I bring him.

Harley is not a good car rider, but the only times he has been in the car was to go to the vet about 6 blocks away and he yowls almost the whole time. This would be a 2-3 hour drive. I could set up the dog crate with a litter box, food and bed for him to ride in. It's just an overnight trip we would be driving home the next day.

Would the stress of the car ride set us back on the progress we've made so far?

This isn't an important event just sounds like fun and if it would not be good for him I'd rather not go.

Any opinions or experience with is appreciated.

Thanks,
Robin
 
Re: 8/9 Harley AMPS 144

Great job going with 1.2 last night, and awesome PS this morning, yay!!! I'd probably drop back to 1u or 1.1 since that PS this morning was a little lower than you want.

If you try shooting a little less than 1.2 tonight (and hey, great PS and he didn't even need his usual f1.2, right? that's progress!!!), then maybe you'll get a PS in the morning that isn't scary, and maybe you'll feel ok giving 0.8 or something at least.

If you shoot something like 1 or 1.1 tonight and the PS is in the yellows in the AM then you'll know you pulled back too far, and if that happens I would go right back to 1.2 in the morning. If the PS is right where you want it, say 180-200, then I'd stick with the same dose you shoot tonight. And if it's lower than 150 again (or whatever # tempts you to shoot 0.5 ;-) ), then I'd lower it a hair more when you get back to giving a full dose.

But in any case, the blue this morning is great, and I think he is doing better even on doses a little lower now, so that is really awesome to see!
 
Ack, Ack, Ack. Ok, is this because I went with .5u and should I have gone with a higher dose on the 144? What .75? or do you think he may have gone too low? At +5.5 he was 172.
 
LOL, I think Lori & I had our bets on a PS like this, so we are finally raking in the dough!!! It's about time!!! I lost big on all those blues yesterday, I thought he would have gone higher on the 0.5u.

I'd really be surprised if he went too low, and I would be equally surprised if the 0.5 would have given you a decent PS. I would go ahead tonight with probably 1.2 afterall since the PS is so high. On the next good PS, I would probably shoot 1u personally, but on the quest for data I would say you know 0.5 is too low, so next time, try 0.75. Then if that's still too low, you try 1u on the next one.
 
p.s. On the traveling question, I think it's a big ECID. One way to look at it is that there are always stresses in life, and if it isn't one thing, it's another. More or less I think if they are going to go OTJ they probably will, and if they aren't going to, they probably aren't. So even if the trip does stress him out a lot, you can't live in a no-stress bubble (sadly, or I tell ya' I'd be there in a heartbeat!!!), and there will always be things that stress them out. Some cats do fine with travel, others don't do as well, so I don't think there's anyway to really say for sure how it would go - could send his BGs up for a while, or might not really affect things much at all.

That's probably not much help, sorry. ohmygod_smile

Since it's just an overnight trip, can you leave him home? That might be less stressful for him...?
 
Just kidding!!!!!!!!!!! :lol: Remember you've shot 1.2 before on a 170! I wouldn't actually shoot 1u on a 144 now that you mention it. I would probably wait 30 minutes & retest - if the # has risen a lot then I'd shoot 1u. If it only rose a bit, I'd probably go with 0.8u. When I said "good PS" I meant something more like 160.

Personally I'd rather see you wait a bit and shoot a bigger dose, than shoot right away with a token dose. There are times when you have to do that, if you have to run out the door or whatever, but pretty much if you drop the dose more than maybe 0.2u (unless the dose was too high of course), you can figure the #s will be flat at best, and might go high.

Remember too that for the most part he is dancing in #s that are good but not super-great. So it's not like you are hitting a nadir of 50, and then deciding on a dose for a lower PS, in which case there are some good reasons for reducing the dose sufficiently to be safe. But when the nadir is only say 130 on a higher PS, the need to reduce the dose on a lower PS is a lot less compelling (since the dose on the higher PS is not hitting a low nadir to start with).
 
Hi Joanna,

Could you give me a list of what dose you would give on a given PS?. I know there are alot of except when's, but maybe a guideline.

My memory doesn't function as well in the early mornings as well as it used to.
 
Well I would keep the same dose regardless of PS, and keep your no-shoot high enough that you feel comfortable with that dose. So if you are ok with shooting 1.2 on a 200 PS, but are worried below that, I would make that your no-shoot (ok, maybe 190 or something).

If time is such that you can't retest past +12 if you get a lower PS & have to shoot right then, then you have a smaller dose that you shoot, the highest you are comfortable with, maybe 0.75 (assuming the PS is above the bottom-line no-shoot of 150).

When I'm saying try 0.75 on a 150 it's not that I think that's the highest safe dose. I think the dose will be too low. But I support gathering data to be sure. If you wanted to shoot 1.2 on a 160 I would be fine with that. He freefeeds, right? So I really doubt hypo is a big risk. Since you don't have a lot of data with doses like that on the lower PSs and I know you are gone most days at work and probably worried, that's why I would say you shoot a lower dose on the lower PS - for your own sanity. Then on the weekend, you shoot the higher dose and get some data to be sure it is safe.

What I see from the data that you have so far is that 1.4 is too high on any PS, and 1.2 is too low on any PS. I think 1.2 is good though as a "safe" dose - you can shoot that on a PS you feel comfortable with, and leave the house feeling good. He probably won't drift into high #s, and he probably won't hit greens. If you saw a PS between say 150 and 190, and felt comfortable shooting say 1u, that seems reasonable to me.

So long story short, LOL, how about:

PS 190+ - 1.2u
PS 150 - 190 - 1u

Great job today with the 1u! Nice PS, and nice blue mid-cycle. You can see there's room for improvement as well, and though this is fine for a safety dose, you can see it's safe to try 1.1 or 1.2 on this same PS next time. That's how you figure out the doses needed for the lower PSs, so great job getting really useful data today! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top