8/9 Grady PMPS 166 - first time shooting low

Status
Not open for further replies.
You are likely shooting a dropping number and Grady is clearing a bounce. That means it is possible he could go lower tonight.

Do you have plenty of test strips, food including HC gravy, syrup or honey, are you rested and can you stay up and test if necessary?

You have a few options:

1. Shoot the full dose of 1u on time and get a +1 and +2
2. Stall, without feeding, for 30 mins and retest to see if he's going up
3. Shoot a reduced dose.

IMHO, if you have supplies and can test, I'd shoot the full dose now and get the +1 and +2.

What do you think? BTW, we won't leave you....one of us will stay up and help you if his numbers go lower.
 
Hi!

I can be here until +3 along with Marje, and I'm sure others will pop in too.

Carl
 
Dwayne
I deleted my post from the other condo so we can all stick with one.
You said you didn't feed him at PMPS?
 
Marje and Carl....My lesson for the day has been that big drops in short lengths of time can cause the liver/pancreas to panic too...since Grady dropped over 300 points since AMPS, is it possible this is the beginning of a bounce due to that?

Just dropped by to see what I could learn from Grady today

Good luck to you Dwayne!!
 
The +2 might tell us more, but if he didn't eat at shot time, then obviously this isn't food related. It could be the continuation of a bounce we thought had cleared?
 
227 at +2. Normally he eats after his shot but tonight he just curled up and went to sleep. He seems fine though. What if he asks for food now? Should I give it to him?
 
Or how about this....
He went lower than the 166 prior to that, and was climbing at PMPS, and this is him still climbing until this dose reaches onset at +2 or +3?

(That's Carl thinking out loud) :smile:
 
Yes, Dwayne, if he says "feed me" you can do so. I'm thinking this cycle is just going to be a "head scratcher".
 
At the rate things are going he shouldn't dip too low overnight, should he? I'll make sure he gets some food before I go to bed. He had a major spike yesterday and this morning, although I don't know why. He's eating the same food as usual.
 
I don't think he has any surprises in store tonight based on these numbers. You mentioned in the other thread that this wasn't what you were expecting? I agree. I figured he'd be keeping you up late ;-)

Just feed him before bed and he should be fine.
 
Sorry....caring for my three.

Normally you would want to have food on board prior to onset which is generally +2.
sirswithin said:
That is correct. He hasn't had anything to eat since a couple of hours before the shot.

It is common for cats to bounce from a fast drop. I also think you are ok to go to bed but I would absolutely be sure he eats.
 
Down into the blue range at 187 +3. Food has been given. I'll try to get some more readings before I shamble off to bed. Just after midnight here.
 
Great job last night/this morning!

I always have at least 50 strips in stock. Murphy's Law does seem to apply if you're running low on strips.
 
Not sure if 117 was the low but he's bounced back up to 414 at +11, so I won't be shooting low this morning. Thanks to everybody for all your help and support :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top