8/9 Fitzel -AMPS -244?/+2-80/+3.5=81/+5.5-83/PMPS-256?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fitzel's Condo

Do I have a great wife or what? Because we shot on such a low number she stayed up and got BG's.
Shhhhh...... she's sleeping right now.

I'm worried about the high numbers in the AM. Okay, I'm just worried. Is this dose the one?

Also: need to note here. Unless you've been to the main board you won't know that yesterday we rescued a 5 week old kitten from some 8 year old boys who were very unschooled in what to do with the tiny one they pulled from under their house. They were going to drop it off last night in a box, with no food or water, at a shelter. That was NOT going to happen. So, that little one is in our house, snuggled in a soft carrier and towel, waiting for her first trip to the vet later today.

She might be joined by a sibling who's still under their house. I'm going over later to see if it's still there. It couldn't be caught last night in the dark under the house. Seems mommy (who had 5 babies there) was in the process of moving them when the boys intervened).

The reason I'm posting this here is that Fitzel and the other kids are VERY upset at this newcomer. She's in a closed off room - but that doesn't stop them from hearing her - she's crying for mommy. :cry:

I'm thinking this situation is playing into Fitzel's numbers now, and since, we are not sending this baby or its sibling if we get it, to the pound - this will be an ongoing situation for the foreseeable future.

I guess the universe felt we didn't have enough going on here. ohmygod_smile
Shai
 
Re: 8/9 Fitzel -AMPS -244?/+2-80

Wow...that's a pretty big drop, Shai. Please be sure you get a +2.5. You might need to feed a little higher carb and intervene on this cycle because she may give you some really low numbers.

I'll PM you later about the profile....I have to run out while I can and get fud for Missy G.
 
Re: 8/9 Fitzel -AMPS -244?/+2-80/+3.5=81

Marjorie - yes I'm staying until I get two rising numbers.

I won't be able to do the profile today - swamped with 5 week old kitten issues. :-D

Can we reschedule?

Shai
 
Re: 8/9 Fitzel -AMPS -244?/+2-80/+3.5=81

Shai,
Has any food been given since the shot time meal?

Carl
 
Re: 8/9 Fitzel -AMPS -244?/+2-80/+3.5=81

Hi Carl -

Fitz was fed a bit of HC food after the 80 and more after the 81. I'm not taking any chances of another 31.

Thanks for checking in on us.
Shai
 
Re: 8/9 Fitzel -AMPS -244?/+2-80/+3.5=81/+5.5-83

Nice surf, Fitzel! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I can't wait for the profile. :-D
Liz
 
Hi Sherry - Hi Anne - Hi Sienne -

Thank you all for checking in on our surf-ari today.

Sienne - I've read that article - but thank you for reminding me about it. I need to re-read it. Fitzel is so high lately in the am. Then she's okay - mainly green/blue during the day and then BOOM - she's up to the mid/high 200's PMPS. Could this still be part of the bounce from that 31 and the 50 the next day? How long do bounces usually last? Or is there no usual? I know ECID, but has anyone got a curve over the years and cats to notice any pattern?

Of course now we have Amma - all 13oz of her. Oh, and the vet says she's 4 weeks not 5 and she's too young to sex. Everyone there thinks she's a girl, but then...... Her first vet visit went very well. She's (we're calling her a she until we see something that says that ain't so) very healthy. She had her worming, but no blood tests and no shots. Too young - too tiny. Pics soon.

All our cats know Amma's in that room. Whenever I go in Fitzel camps outside, practically leaning on the door and meowing her crying meow. When I come out she's very upset with me. She hisses at me sometimes or, when I reach down to pet or pick her up - she'll trot off - not her usual - she loves when mommy picks her up. Well, she did more before we started ear poking.

How much credence should I give to Amma being here and Fitzel's BG numbers. I'm not sure how to mitigate this if it is a cause for concern.

Anyone got ideas on how to soothe injured feelings when a new baby is in the house? Kitten baby that is.
Shai





How much credence should I give to the baby toward Fitzel's high numbers AM and PM?
 
Shai

While stress can raise the BG, I just don't think that is the issue here. I think she's bouncing just as she has on other doses. I wouldn't worry about the pre-shots ...just focus on the nadirs, which are great. The AMPS is always the last one to come down.

Did you take away the late meal?

Bounces are normal and natural. Really, we all need to learn to ignore them....except to tell when they have cleared. Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear.
 
Marjorie - thank you for the info on bounces. I won't pay so much attention to the PS - AM or PM then.

Her late meal is gone. I've readjusted her two o'clock meal to three thirty-ish. Next meal is after the PMPS test. She's let me know it's a long wait between 3:30 and 10:00. But if this is a better way to go, then this is what we'll do. Unless you think I should tweak her food times again. Definitely open to anything that will help.

Thank you for the info on Profiles. I'll PM you after I get answers to all the questions. I really, really, appreciate you doing this for Fitzel and me.

Shai
 
You're welcome, Shai! :-D

I really just think she's a little bouncy still. The thing we need to watch for is those dives .....those can increase the bouncing. So we may need to have you start doing a +1, to the extent possible since she does not like testing, OR start having you feed on a frontloading schedule to flatten out those bounces. But first....let's give her some cycles and see if she continues this pattern or flattens out on her own.

BTW, I can't remember if you ended up using a lancing device or are free handing. But be sure that the bevel of the lancet is facing up. If you look closely, you'll see they are beveled just like the insulin syringe needles.....they just don't have a hole. But by having the bevel face up, then the sharpest part of the lancet goes in first....and always poke at an angle.

No worries on the profile. We'll get it done.

Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top