8/9 Doogle PMPS 383+2 320+4.5 366+6 374+8 358

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & Doogle

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

AMPS 465........Well the past 24 hours has been interesting with Doogle. Needless to say his BG bounced big time this morning. We reduced his does again with him going under 50 last night. I love those numbers but dont love the 4am, little sleep wake up call. Feels like I am feeding a baby all over again.....lol.
 
Re: 8/9 Doogle AMPS 465

Hi guys .. I agree, you did great last night! Sorry to see the bounce, hopefully doogle comes down for you today .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/9 Doogle AMPS 465+2 397+4 330+6 361

Thanks guys for all the great compliments. I think I have this pretty much down pat. I just hope reducing twice didnt mess things up. Just now getting a chance to post numbers since I have been at work and the DH doesnt know how or like to do it for me. He at least txt me the numbers and if need be I can post while at work. But we have this pretty much figured out. Loved seeing those numbers but I knew he would bounce like a spring today. So I know I will see these numbers (or there about) for the next 24-72 hours. Hope everyone has had a great day though. We had some strong storms which I got caught in driving today. More coming tomorrow but at least this weekend will be nice.
 
Re: 8/9 Doogle AMPS 465+2 397+4 330+6 361

Cats bounce until they don't. :roll: Really, Doogle, any time would be fine. The link to Doogle's spreadsheet didn't work for me.
Liz
ETA: now the link is working.
 
Re: 8/9 Doogle AMPS 465+2 397+4 330+6 361

Well maybe he will get tired of bouncing and come down to earth. I rally hope I didnt screw up doing a reduction twice in a row. I just clicked on the link for the spread sheet and it seems to work. Could have just been a google screwup. If you try again, please let me know and I will relink it. Going to bed soon since I didnt get much sleep and had to work at the school trying to get ready for school to start, just glad their were no kids there yet. Gotta go back tomorrow and do it all over again. So hopefully no surprises tonight and the DH can handle it.
 
Re: 8/9 Doogle PMPS 383

(((Donna)))

Chin up, k? You really are doing well. Try not to worry too much about those two dose reductions right now. While you're clearly aware that *normally*, back-to-back reductions aren't recommended or applied often, that doesn't mean it's *never* the case. Maybe go back over the sticky posts (with stars, at the top of LL) and remind yourself of some of the basics of Lantus and how it works.

That AM-cycle on the 8th of August prompted the first reduction (with the drop to 47 at +3.5 --- you have a second reading of 56 listed, I gather you tested twice at that point). Remember that Doogle had been on the higher dose of 3.25u for eleven cycles when you reduced for the PM-cycle of the 8th, meaning that the PM-cycle drop to 49 (at +6.5) was most likely still caused by the eleven higher-dose cycles.

You based that 2nd reduction (to 2.75u) on LL protocol because you say another drop to sub-50. Again, though, remember that it takes Lantus a while to reflect dose-changes, because the shed needs to drain/fill (depending on whether you decreased/increased the dose), which can take a few cycles to show up on the SS. Also, a cat like Doogle, who isn't properly used to those beautiful greens, will bounce, showing numbers on the SS that don't really accurately reflect what the dose is doing - they reflect what the cat's system is doing (liver throwing out glucagon and hormones, etc.). Because we know this about Lantus - that the DOSE takes a while to do its best (or worst) work - we generally don't do dose-changes so close together: it can reduce the chance one dose has to be the "magic dose", and overall reduces the chance for a dose to show what it can do for the cat. Does that put it all in perspective for you a bit?

For now, I think we'll wait until the bounce clears. Then we'll start seeing what Doogle is going to do with the current dose. Doogle could decide he's happy with the 2 back-to-back reductions, likes his current dose, and will keep progressing. We'll cross our fingers for that, and if it's not what happens, there will be solutions to get back to steady progress.
Hope this helps a bit!
Jane

P.S. Please update your SS! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top