Re: 8/9 Doogle PMPS 383
(((Donna)))
Chin up, k? You really are doing well. Try not to worry too much about those two dose reductions right now. While you're clearly aware that *normally*, back-to-back reductions aren't recommended or applied often, that doesn't mean it's *never* the case. Maybe go back over the sticky posts (with stars, at the top of LL) and remind yourself of some of the basics of Lantus and how it works.
That AM-cycle on the 8th of August prompted the first reduction (with the drop to 47 at +3.5 --- you have a second reading of 56 listed, I gather you tested twice at that point). Remember that Doogle had been on the higher dose of 3.25u for eleven cycles when you reduced for the PM-cycle of the 8th, meaning that the PM-cycle drop to 49 (at +6.5) was most likely still caused by the eleven higher-dose cycles.
You based that 2nd reduction (to 2.75u) on LL protocol because you say another drop to sub-50. Again, though, remember that it takes Lantus a while to reflect dose-changes, because the shed needs to drain/fill (depending on whether you decreased/increased the dose), which can take a few cycles to show up on the SS. Also, a cat like Doogle, who isn't properly used to those beautiful greens, will bounce, showing numbers on the SS that don't really accurately reflect what the dose is doing - they reflect what the cat's system is doing (liver throwing out glucagon and hormones, etc.). Because we know this about Lantus - that the DOSE takes a while to do its best (or worst) work - we generally don't do dose-changes so close together: it can reduce the chance one dose has to be the "magic dose", and overall reduces the chance for a dose to show what it can do for the cat. Does that put it all in perspective for you a bit?
For now, I think we'll wait until the bounce clears. Then we'll start seeing what Doogle is going to do with the current dose. Doogle could decide he's happy with the 2 back-to-back reductions, likes his current dose, and will keep progressing. We'll cross our fingers for that, and if it's not what happens, there will be solutions to get back to steady progress.
Hope this helps a bit!
Jane
P.S. Please update your SS! ;-)