8/9 Chigga AMPS 316

Status
Not open for further replies.

Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt)

Member Since 2010
Hey everyone - it's day four of the Lantus shots - still chugging along doing only 1 unit. My questions is - should I keep it at one unit until she's been on Lantus for a week? And then see where her BG levels are?
 
Hi Erica,

welcome back. Here is your last thread
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21715&p=215662#p215662

My question is, can you fill in the blanks a bit on your spreadsheet with spotchecks. Whenever you can, days off, random, bedtime time, lunch time.
I'm fairly confident others will suggest the same. With only preshots - it's very difficult to see how Lantus is working for Chigga. It's really useful to get those mid cycle numbers going. Testing does get easier, a little bit at a time if that works for you.

As for the diet right now, MD canned right? Slightly higher in carbs, and not very good quality wise. Some vets will have you believe it is what will work best.

I would like to suggest that you be prepared to offer any other brands, like Fancy Feast, Friskies, Wellness, as examples.
There may be an instance when Chigga will refuse to eat the DM, it has happened. So you'll want to have several varieties - trust me, how many of us have had various cans opened and cat won't eat! It can take kitties a little while to get them to eat anything!

Please read through Dr Lisa's Feline Nutrition link, tons of info in there about prescription food versus grocery store brands and raw as well (highly recommend by Dr Lisa)
Dr Lisa's Feline Nutrition

Janet & Binky's Food Charts
This food chart will help you determine carb % for your kitty.

Have a look at Curry's thread today, Curry & Tena as an example of what I mean by tracking how certain carb % affect your kitty. You may want to try this if you choose to change the food gradually. Certain carb % can have an affect on BG numbers.

Other than that, keep posting when you can.
 
Hi Erica and Chigga! Was Friday the last day you posted? I couldn't find any from Sat or Sun, but here is your Fri one:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21715

Someone should be along shortly to address your dosing question. Just wanted to say hello and see how you are both doing.!
I am wondering if you can please be sure to do a before-bed check at night. We find that many kitties go low during the PM cycle and a check at least before you go to bed will make sure that Chigga isn't going too low.

I am copying this from a couple of other people's condo today...thought you might like to read it:

Our kitties are so much more than just their BG numbers. There is a quick way of indicating how well they are doing by listing if all the Ps are in place...you might have read this somewhere if you are visiting other condos....well...the Ps stand for
P=purring
P=preening
P=peeing
P=pooping
P=playing
Sometimes you will see someone say "all Ps in place" or "missing one P and waiting my the LB to see if that happens" or something to that affect. LOL. All the Ps are a sign that the kitty is doing very well indeed! :mrgreen:
 
You might like to read the starred posts at the top of the page for a lot of information....particularly:
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOLS viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581 but someone should be along. As Ronnie said IF you can do tests during the day, that would be great! (or days off!!)
the more data on your SS the better to see how Chigga is reacting to the insulin, k?
 
I just saw your update on previous thread - that you are not around for day time...that's ok!
Nite time and days off help for those spot checks.
 
I have to say - she really hates getting her BG taken. After I prick her ear and then she eats after that she moves under my desk and just stares at me until I leave the room for her to go back and eat. Other than that all her P's are in check. So I should stick with the 1 unit and try to spot check tonight before I go to bed?

I have another updated SS (FINALLY). Also, I didn't think the M/D was high in carbs - according to the link it's the W/D that high in carbs but I will definitely get her other food if the M/D isn't what she should be on. She's eating really well and everything else is normal. She's already drinking less and using her box 2 times a day (3 at most) to urinate and then once for the other. She's a purr machine as usual which always makes me feel good.

So should I also try switching her to another canned food other than the M/D canned? And stick with the 1 unit and spot check before I go to bed?

Trying to stay calm...
 
Erica & Chigga (ChiggaButt) said:
I have to say - she really hates getting her BG taken. After I prick her ear and then she eats after that she moves under my desk and just stares at me until I leave the room for her to go back and eat. Other than that all her P's are in check. So I should stick with the 1 unit and try to spot check tonight before I go to bed?

I have another updated SS (FINALLY). Also, I didn't think the M/D was high in carbs - according to the link it's the W/D that high in carbs but I will definitely get her other food if the M/D isn't what she should be on. She's eating really well and everything else is normal. She's already drinking less and using her box 2 times a day (3 at most) to urinate and then once for the other. She's a purr machine as usual which always makes me feel good.

So should I also try switching her to another canned food other than the M/D canned? And stick with the 1 unit and spot check before I go to bed?

Trying to stay calm...


Staying calm is good.
Stick with the dose is good, unless someone else chimes in to advise.
Stick with the food she is eating right now, but yes, get some back up, include gravy types too.

If it helps, here is another suggestion of when to sneak in a test....so you get up, do your AMPS, feed, and go get ready for work.
Right before you leave the house, there's an opportunity to catch what we call an "out-the-door-check" if she will let you. :lol:
Same for when you get in later today. An "in-the-door-check"

This is very common for them to go runnaway and avoid the lady with the pokey thing. @-)
But it will pass, and ears heal. Treats work wonders for this stuff. (low carb only, freeze dried treats are da bomb!)

Those eating well, litterbox good, drinking less signs are very very good!
It'll be ok Erica. :-D
 
You're doing great! There's a lot to learn and the front end of the learning curve is huge. We're here to lend a hand. Pat and Ronnie have mentioned several of the things I was thinking, as well.

Pre-shot tests tell you whether it's safe to shoot. However, Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle -- the nadir. Without that information, we're guessing about what's going on throughout the 12 hours between shots. While it's tempting to think that there's not much action going on, that can be very far from the case. Back in early November, Gabby went from pre-shot tests in the 400s to a nadir in the 40s and earned a dose reduction. If all I looked at was the pre-shot tests, Gabby would have gotten a dose increase and we would have caused her numbers to start bouncing like crazy. Without the mid-cycle info, it's very difficult to make an informed decision about dose. Treats may help Chigga to forgive you for the pokes. (If you look at Pat, Ronnie or my SS, you'll see that we're testaholics and our kitties have forgiven us and we bribe them with low carb treats.)

I also want to encourage you to look at Janet & Binky's food charts. The M/D that you are feeding is a medium carb (MC) food. It is 14% carb. We typically encourage people to feed below 10% carb. If you look up the content of M/D, you're going to find that the first ingredient is animal by-products. (Yuck!) You can find lower carb, better quality food for at most, the same as what the vet is charging you for the prescription food. I suspect that if you start feeding a lower carb food, you are going to see a very quick improvement in Chigga's numbers. (You can also return canned food to the vet and get your $$ back.) There are LC canned foods at every price point on Janet & Binky's list.

Also, you will want to get several cans of high carb (HC) food. We use this to steer numbers should they drop low. You would look for varieties like Fancy Feast grilled or marinated (or the new Gravy Lovers) that contain gravy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top