8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56 +9.5~242 PMPS~324 +2~295 +3

Status
Not open for further replies.

my Casey bear

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49552

Hi everyone,

Home for lunch, so not much time to type but I wanted to post this ASAP since she has such a nice BG#! :razz: Yeppie!!

The question is in my reply to Julie.


8/9
AMPS~178
Put down 2/3 5.5 oz can of 9 Lives - Free Feed
2nd cycle~1.25u by the way the #'s increased, (I was sleepy this morning and I don't know for sure), I could haave given her 1.5u
+5.5~53
+6~56
Put down 3oz can FF - Free Feed to keep her BG# from getting any lower while I am at work.
Pick-up food at +9.5, eat about 1/2 of the FF
+9.5~242 - Wow, guess the extra food catapulted her BG#
PMPS~324
Put down the remaining FF and 1/3 5.5oz can of Friskies
3rd Cycle~1.25u
+2~295
+3~255
+4.5~203
+5.5~207

Roberta
and Casey
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53

roberta - glad you posted!

just fyi - the 53 is awesome but you don't want casey to go lower. you gotta test again before you leave home, and it would probably be a good idea to give some food if you're going to be gone for a while longer. 53 is super. 49 needs attention. not a crisis, but food and retesting.
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53

julie1220 said:
roberta - glad you posted!

just fyi - the 53 is awesome but you don't want casey to go lower. you gotta test again before you leave home, and it would probably be a good idea to give some food if you're going to be gone for a while longer. 53 is super. 49 needs attention. not a crisis, but food and retesting.
I plan to test her again at +6, before going back to work. I do have a question now too. It is about the time I have the food picked up, but her food dish is empty and she is asking to be feed. :?: Do I put more food out or not?
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53

i'd test and then feed. no reason not to feed her, but testing first will give you a non-food-affected number.
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53

julie1220 said:
i'd test and then feed. no reason not to feed her, but testing first will give you a non-food-affected number.

Tested, and appears to be starting an up-swing; I don't know how low she had gotten though because I am not sure where her peak was. From what I could tell, it seemed to have been around +4-+5. I couldn't leave work for lunch any sooner today, but my bother was keeping an eye on her for any hypo signs. (Casey will not let him touch her, but he would put out the syrup & HC food and call me if it looked like she went hypo.) I live about 15-20min from work, depending on traffic.

Thanks for the advice, it is greatly appreciated!!

Roberta
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56

just so you know, most cats on lantus seem to not show any signs of hypo until they are below 30 and reaching a critical point. testing is really the only way to know.

if your husband won't test her this afternoon i'd give her quite a bit of food to make sure she doesn't go lower, maybe even some higher carb food. 53 and 56 are the same numbers, testing wise. glucose meters have a 20% variance rate so - well it's the same number.

what would persuade your husband to get into the testing? mine watched me and helped hold punkin for several weeks before he finally agreed to do it. then it took several more weeks before he would give a shot. now he's good on all of it - and our son too. believe me, it's like an enormous relief to get others to help you with it.
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56

julie1220 said:
just so you know, most cats on lantus seem to not show any signs of hypo until they are below 30 and reaching a critical point. testing is really the only way to know.

if your husband won't test her this afternoon i'd give her quite a bit of food to make sure she doesn't go lower, maybe even some higher carb food. 53 and 56 are the same numbers, testing wise. glucose meters have a 20% variance rate so - well it's the same number.

what would persuade your husband to get into the testing? mine watched me and helped hold punkin for several weeks before he finally agreed to do it. then it took several more weeks before he would give a shot. now he's good on all of it - and our son too. believe me, it's like an enormous relief to get others to help you with it.
My brother is willing to test her, but Casey does not even let him pet her...let alone test her. I just put the entire 3oz can of FF out to be safe, and she is chowing as I am typing this.

Thanks again,

Roberta
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56

silly kitter! i understand - hahahaha, in your earlier post you said your "bother" and i thought that's what you were calling your husband. :lol: sorry about that!

oh, maybe your brother could work on wooing casey a bit. feed her from his hand kinda thing, to develop a little friendship.
 
Re: 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56

julie1220 said:
silly kitter! i understand - hahahaha, in your earlier post you said your "bother" and i thought that's what you were calling your husband. :lol: sorry about that!

oh, maybe your brother could work on wooing casey a bit. feed her from his hand kinda thing, to develop a little friendship.


He has been working on that for years... My brother was usually the only one who gave her treats from what we were eating like snall pieces of chicken, fish, etc. She had developed a "I can touch you, but you still can't touch me" additude. :lol:
Even at times that she was struggling to hop up onto the couch, because of her neuropathy, and my brother tried to help her up, she flipped-out. :roll: That's my Casey, an exclusively momma's girl.
 
Re: Dosing advise 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56 +9.5~242

Dosing question nailbite_smile :?: Casey's BG# seemed to ski-rocket after I tested her at +6. Should I continue w/the 1.25.... :o I do not remember if I accidently gave her 1.5 or not... or reduce the dose(fearing she is rebounding)? It is shot time... nailbite_smile Hope I am doing the right thing....I did give her the 1.25, just incase i did give her 1.5u by mistake. I guess I will be watching her close, and extra testings...hopefully I will be getting sleep tonight.


Edit 1: Uugh...My bad!! I put my question up on the original thread, thinking doing an "edit" would bring it to the top of the list; just realized it did not. :oops:

Edit 2: :?: How soon should I start doing check tests?
 
Re: Dosing advise 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56 +9.5~242

The edit just changes what's visible. You need to add a new post to move your condo to the top of the queue.

When numbers drop into lower ranges or drop fast (I wouldn't call today a fast drop for Casey, btw), the liver goes into protective mode and dumps a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the blood stream. This sequence of events is what causes the bounce. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

Unless the drop is into a range that earns a dose reduction, you do not decrease the dose. Given the spike into high numbers, you don't want to increase the dose. If you were to increase, once numbers come back down, you could be giving too much insulin. So, in response to a bounce, you wait it out.
 
Re: Dosing advise 8/9 Casey AMPS~178 +5.5~53 +6~56 +9.5~242

Sienne and Gabby said:
The edit just changes what's visible. You need to add a new post to move your condo to the top of the queue.

When numbers drop into lower ranges or drop fast (I wouldn't call today a fast drop for Casey, btw), the liver goes into protective mode and dumps a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the blood stream. This sequence of events is what causes the bounce. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.

Unless the drop is into a range that earns a dose reduction, you do not decrease the dose. Given the spike into high numbers, you don't want to increase the dose. If you were to increase, once numbers come back down, you could be giving too much insulin. So, in response to a bounce, you wait it out.
Yeah, I realized a little late that I was supposed do a new post... :roll:

The drop into the 50's did not scare me at all, I was happy to see them. It was the steep incline to the high # got me nervous.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top