8/9 Buster PMPS 255, +3 134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
PMPS 222
+3 127
+5 107
AMPS 100
+3 105

Looking good today.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

I'm realizing we're at about 13 months since diagnosis now. Does that qualify as "long term diabetic?" Why is there a change in the reduction limit when a kitty has been on insulin for a longer time? I'm just trying to figure out what qualifies as a reduction for us at this point. Buster has been below 40 only one time in the past year so I'm not sure what to do with this reduction definition. Does that mean we need to be more aggressive with dose changes?

Thoughts are greatly appreciated. Happy Furday LL!

Previous Condo
 
Re: 8/9 Buster AMPS 100, +3 105 - define 'long term diabetic

Welcome to the "long term" club. It usually means being on the juice a year. Another option to going below 40 is to go below 50 three times on a dose.

Nice set of numbers today Buster, but couldn't you have started just 1 number lower? :lol:
 
Re: 8/9 Buster AMPS 100, +3 105, +5 152 'long term diabetic?

Nice blues for Buster today. I hope he gives you some green soon.
 
Re: 8/9 Buster AMPS 100, +3 105, +5 152 'long term diabetic?

I'm not sure I've heard anyone say explicitly why the rules change for a longer term FD. My read on it is that for many of the old timers, they have a track record of not holding reductions well. As a result, we make it tougher to get a reduction so the kitty stays in green numbers for as long as possible.
 
Re: 8/9 Buster AMPS 100, +3 105, +5 152 'long term diabetic?

Hey Tara,
My eyes are old and.. maybe.. a little color blind. ... it looks like :mrgreen: :mrgreen: to me.
We're right behind you... Ollie was diagnosed in Sept 2012.
I hope it's a great evening for you.
 
Re: 8/9 Buster PMPS 255

Hmm, I guess I'll try the 3 under 50 thing. We'll see how it goes. As for tonight's PMPS - NDW? Time will tell...
 
So, Buster - you be a bouncy, trampoline loving, elevator riding, adrenaline junkie kitter. :roll:

Nice blue at +3, could the lagoon be in your future?
 

Attachments

  • cat-crystal-ball-tarot-cute.jpg
    cat-crystal-ball-tarot-cute.jpg
    42 KB · Views: 246
Even with Buster's Low AMPS, it still looks like a great run to me, Tara, but I'd be nervous shooting at 54! The lowest we've done is 72 & that was scary enough!

I hope Buster stops his bouncing, but I can't offer advice there, either - Tigger can drop or rise with the best, too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top