Tara & Buster
Member Since 2012
PMPS 222
+3 127
+5 107
AMPS 100
+3 105
Looking good today.
I'm realizing we're at about 13 months since diagnosis now. Does that qualify as "long term diabetic?" Why is there a change in the reduction limit when a kitty has been on insulin for a longer time? I'm just trying to figure out what qualifies as a reduction for us at this point. Buster has been below 40 only one time in the past year so I'm not sure what to do with this reduction definition. Does that mean we need to be more aggressive with dose changes?
Thoughts are greatly appreciated. Happy Furday LL!
Previous Condo
+3 127
+5 107
AMPS 100
+3 105
Looking good today.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
I'm realizing we're at about 13 months since diagnosis now. Does that qualify as "long term diabetic?" Why is there a change in the reduction limit when a kitty has been on insulin for a longer time? I'm just trying to figure out what qualifies as a reduction for us at this point. Buster has been below 40 only one time in the past year so I'm not sure what to do with this reduction definition. Does that mean we need to be more aggressive with dose changes?
Thoughts are greatly appreciated. Happy Furday LL!
Previous Condo