8/9 Bella AMPS 187, +6 133, PMPS 177, +3 113

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-8-bella-amps-219-6-89-pmps-215-3-158-7-115.292944/

Yesterday Bella had a checkup to do some blood work and I was wondering if an admin or someone can look at it. Looks good to me, nothing out of range except her cholesterol is slightly above the range but lower than it was in February. No glucose found in her urine and that’s consistent with my checks at home with the urine sticks.

vet recommended giving her insulin 1x a day and when I questioned it they said to try to make my life easier. It definitely would but my question is how does that work? He suggested 1 unit 1x a day and we have her on 0.75 2x a day. We worry that her sugar will be high at night or go to low in the morning. She was on 1u but she got under 50 twice back to back. As much as giving her insulin once a day would help us out with our time management I want to do what’s best for her. They said I can do 0.5 twice a day. That leads to my next question - since dropping her down to 0.75 the lowest shes went to is 51 and who knows maybe lower and we didn’t know. Do I follow the vet and drop her to 0.5 or continue with the 0.75? I’m torn, this vet is an Internal Medicine doctor so he knows Diabetes and I shared the spreadsheet with them so they can see all her numbers. Would love some input/advice. Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-8-bella-amps-219-6-89-pmps-215-3-158-7-115.292944/

Yesterday Bella had a checkup to do some blood work and I was wondering if an admin or someone can look at it. Looks good to me, nothing out of range except her cholesterol is slightly above the range but lower than it was in February. No glucose found in her urine and that’s consistent with my checks at home with the urine sticks.

vet recommended giving her insulin 1x a day and when I questioned it they said to try to make my life easier. It definitely would but my question is how does that work? He suggested 1 unit 1x a day and we have her on 0.75 2x a day. We worry that her sugar will be high at night or go to low in the morning. She was on 1u but she got under 50 twice back to back. As much as giving her insulin once a day would help us out with our time management I want to do what’s best for her. They said I can do 0.5 twice a day. That leads to my next question - since dropping her down to 0.75 the lowest shes went to is 51 and who knows maybe lower and we didn’t know. Do I follow the vet and drop her to 0.5 or continue with the 0.75? I’m torn, this vet is an Internal Medicine doctor so he knows Diabetes and I shared the spreadsheet with them so they can see all her numbers. Would love some input/advice. Thanks in advance.
@Wendy&Neko
@tiffmaxee
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
vet recommended giving her insulin 1x a day and when I questioned it they said to try to make my life easier.
Out of curiosity, is remission a goal you have for Bella? Cause if so, that's the ultimate in making life easier.

At Bella's size of dose, what would happen, depending when you shot the 1 shot AM or PM, it would wear off 14-16 hours later and she'd be high for the next shot. In my time here, I've seen exactly two cats for whom 1 shot a day works. Both were on a drop dose which they got more or less when their numbers went above a certain number - to keep them in green. Bella's spreadsheet doesn't look like 1 shot a day would do anything for her. Though as you said, it would make your life easier.

When following TR, you want them to drop below 50, and you want to see it. We don't guess what might have been. If she did go below 50 and you missed it, you'll see it again soon enough.

As far as labs go, it's helpful if you bold or put in red the items that are out of range. I think it's just cholesterol? I don't "speak" US lab units.
 
Out of curiosity, is remission a goal you have for Bella? Cause if so, that's the ultimate in making life easier.

At Bella's size of dose, what would happen, depending when you shot the 1 shot AM or PM, it would wear off 14-16 hours later and she'd be high for the next shot. In my time here, I've seen exactly two cats for whom 1 shot a day works. Both were on a drop dose which they got more or less when their numbers went above a certain number - to keep them in green. Bella's spreadsheet doesn't look like 1 shot a day would do anything for her. Though as you said, it would make your life easier.

When following TR, you want them to drop below 50, and you want to see it. We don't guess what might have been. If she did go below 50 and you missed it, you'll see it again soon enough.

As far as labs go, it's helpful if you bold or put in red the items that are out of range. I think it's just cholesterol? I don't "speak" US lab units.

yes, remission is definitely our goal and dealing with the diabetes for these past 6 months have definitely been hard and has involved a lot of sacrifices. At the end of the day me and my husband want the best for Bella and I already had it set in my mind that she will be getting insulin twice a day not once.

so we should keep her on 0.75 until we see a number under 50 and disregard what the vet said?
 
so we should keep her on 0.75 until we see a number under 50 and disregard what the vet said?
If you are following TR, then yes. This is your decision. Not all internal medicine doctors are well versed in endocrine conditions, including diabetes. It's a wide field with lots of topics. I liked Neko's IM doc, but diabetes management was my job, he dealt with the rest of the issues.
 
If you are following TR, then yes. This is your decision. Not all internal medicine doctors are well versed in endocrine conditions, including diabetes. It's a wide field with lots of topics. I liked Neko's IM doc, but diabetes management was my job, he dealt with the rest of the issues.

I feel the same. At the end of the day Bella’s health is my number one priority and I know following the TR method is what we need to follow to get her to remission. I hope she gets a number under 50 soon so that she gets 0.5. I’m just happy her blood work was a good report. Thank you for your help. As always this group has been so great in helping us navigate feline diabetes.
 
The labs look really good to me. I agree with Wendy. Even internal med vets get minimal training in fd. I don’t think they are used to their clients testing like we do and so think everyone wants to make life easier thus keeping the cats’ bg overall too high. That’s just my opinion. I think with TR Bella has a good chance at remission. She’s not a bouncer but one shot a day would make her one I think.
 
The labs look really good to me. I agree with Wendy. Even internal med vets get minimal training in fd. I don’t think they are used to their clients testing like we do and so think everyone wants to make life easier thus keeping the cats’ bg overall too high. That’s just my opinion. I think with TR Bella has a good chance at remission. She’s not a bouncer but one shot a day would make her one I think.

i agree that I can get her to remission if we keep doing what we’ve been doing. Every once in awhile she bounces but it doesn’t happen often.
 
Back
Top