? 8/9 BamBam AMPS 225 Quite a low PMPS 130 do we shoot?

ChrismazB

Member
Hi - we are a little concerned and confused. Bam Bam was recently diagnosed, July 23. We were dosing at 1.0 and started 1.25 yesterday PM. His AMPS today was lowest it has been and he ate a med carb FF (by accident) so I expected his PMPS to be higher. But it is at 130. Just tested again +30 he is at 135.
We talked to the vet yesterday and asked about this type of situation and her guidance was to stay on the new dose for a week and do a curve and check in with her.
But the info on this site says not to give it. Any guidance would be appreciated.
 
I’m sorry nobody saw this. Being new to insulin and 130 the lowest preshot you had a few choices. First thing is to not feed, stall, and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if the bg comes up on irs own. You were right to skip as the bg has still not come up much 2 hours after eating.

The issue I see is you have very few tests to see how low 1 unit was taking the bg and dosing is based upon how low the bg goes. It would help a lot to get one extra test in between +4-7 when possible. Without those extra tests I would not have raised the dose. Bam Bam could be dropping into the 100)s at nadir and bouncing by preshot.
 
We are very nervous as this is so new. We decided to skip. We will see where he is in the morning and I will try to do some mid cycle checks. I was thinking I would do that after a couple days on the new dose. We were just very surprised by the drop.

Btw is this the right way to ask a question like this?
 
You were right to skip. Had you stalled he would not have come up to 200 as he dud t after eating. I suspect he has dipped other times.

That’s the perfect way to ask.
 
Back
Top