tobakett
Member Since 2018
Last condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-4-a2-gizmo-amps-315.200575
*sigh* this cat...
Freaked out yesterday since he had little appetite which is completely unlike him (he literally destroys things and attacks his sister when he gets hungry) to the point I had my ex husband stay at my house while I was at work to watch him. Noticed last night he was eating until all the liquid was gone and then the moment he had to chew a chunk of wet food he held his head sideways away from the bowl and then lost interest.
Needless to say, I think he has a bad tooth. I'm gonna take him to the vet tomorrow and have them look but I suspect I will be taking off work next week Thursday to take him in for dental work. I'm terrified, not just that something will go wrong, but of how the *bleep* I'm going to pay rent since I'm probably looking at close to a grand. Even the humane society is quoting close to 850 dollars and they wouldnt be able to get him in for 4-6 weeks...and I can't leave him in pain that long. I'll live off ramen for a few weeks if I need to if it means him not suffering. At least with my vet the cost includes a preventive health plan that will pay for his yearly shots, and 1 blood, fecal and urine screening as well as free exam visits whenever I need for a year.
After work I went and got some other varieties of food that were more "brothy". 6 packs of "Purely" Fancy Feast (given the flavor names are identical I think its what used to be "naturals") as well as a few roasted, flaked, or chunky cans that fell 6 or under on carbs. I figure if it makes me excited enough he will keep eating through the pain. I got a look at his back two upper molars and they are brown and gross and he cried when I touched one so...yeah...
No shot tonight since hes really low. Possibly from eating less. He wolfed down the fancy feast and I even poured a little of the gravy from his friskies pate on it to give him a boost.
I broke down and bought a Nova Max Plus to do blood keytones. Showed up as "Lo" which gave me a sigh of relief since I was scared given the number of no shots lately.
If it is dental, maybe it will explain why I have had so much trouble with getting him regulated. Right now hes acting normal, though a bit more lazy than usual, which I get since if I am in pain I like just napping too.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-4-a2-gizmo-amps-315.200575
*sigh* this cat...
Freaked out yesterday since he had little appetite which is completely unlike him (he literally destroys things and attacks his sister when he gets hungry) to the point I had my ex husband stay at my house while I was at work to watch him. Noticed last night he was eating until all the liquid was gone and then the moment he had to chew a chunk of wet food he held his head sideways away from the bowl and then lost interest.
Needless to say, I think he has a bad tooth. I'm gonna take him to the vet tomorrow and have them look but I suspect I will be taking off work next week Thursday to take him in for dental work. I'm terrified, not just that something will go wrong, but of how the *bleep* I'm going to pay rent since I'm probably looking at close to a grand. Even the humane society is quoting close to 850 dollars and they wouldnt be able to get him in for 4-6 weeks...and I can't leave him in pain that long. I'll live off ramen for a few weeks if I need to if it means him not suffering. At least with my vet the cost includes a preventive health plan that will pay for his yearly shots, and 1 blood, fecal and urine screening as well as free exam visits whenever I need for a year.
After work I went and got some other varieties of food that were more "brothy". 6 packs of "Purely" Fancy Feast (given the flavor names are identical I think its what used to be "naturals") as well as a few roasted, flaked, or chunky cans that fell 6 or under on carbs. I figure if it makes me excited enough he will keep eating through the pain. I got a look at his back two upper molars and they are brown and gross and he cried when I touched one so...yeah...
No shot tonight since hes really low. Possibly from eating less. He wolfed down the fancy feast and I even poured a little of the gravy from his friskies pate on it to give him a boost.
I broke down and bought a Nova Max Plus to do blood keytones. Showed up as "Lo" which gave me a sigh of relief since I was scared given the number of no shots lately.
If it is dental, maybe it will explain why I have had so much trouble with getting him regulated. Right now hes acting normal, though a bit more lazy than usual, which I get since if I am in pain I like just napping too.


