8/8 Taishi AMPS 317, +5 140, +7 127, +11 306

Woah! Taishi must have heard the talk of a dose increase and is shocking us with some blues this afternoon. My husband tested him at +5 and said he at first got 107. Tested again then got 140. I just tested again at +7 and got 127.

I wasn't home when my husband did the +5, so after he got that number he fed a *whole can* of Friskies Turkey & Giblets (a flavor we'd been avoiding due to my husband's suspicion that is was causing higher numbers... not enough data to verify) then left for an activity... not telling me what was going on until he had left. Ugh. Needless to say, Taishi has a very full belly right now haha

I assume that with these blues, we definitely do *not* want to increase the dose tomorrow. I know that these are good numbers (for him), but anything in particular I should be doing this evening? What do I do if his PMPS is still in the 100s?
 
Hi Jessie, did you get any tests after the 127? I'm curious to know how much lower he went after that?

This is your 7th day on this dose and I am wondering if a dose increase is due per TR - despite the blues today (You would hold the dose if you saw green today).
Going to tag a few others for dosing advice.

@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Marje and Gracie
 
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Taishi first say high blues 9 Cycles ago then today saw lower blue BGs. I would hold the dose for at least one more cycle after this one before increasing
 
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Taishi first say high blues 9 Cycles ago then today saw lower blue BGs. I would hold the dose for at least one more cycle after this one before increasing
Agree!! Oops....I miss counted cycles so please see my post (#10) below.
 
Last edited:
Sorry for the delay in an update. My husband and I had to "switch shifts" and I was away from the house for a few hours. Taishi's +11 was back up to 306, so he fed and injected 2U at his normal shot time. Wish he'd stay in the blues longer, but we'll take what we can get! Thank you everyone for your input. We are going to hold the dose for tomorrow and see how he does :-)
 
Sorry for the delay in an update. My husband and I had to "switch shifts" and I was away from the house for a few hours. Taishi's +11 was back up to 306, so he fed and injected 2U at his normal shot time. Wish he'd stay in the blues longer, but we'll take what we can get! Thank you everyone for your input. We are going to hold the dose for tomorrow and see how he does :)
Posting here since I don’t see an 8/9 condo.

I need to clarify something on the cycle count. Because Taishi is new to BGs under 200, we would hold the 2u dose for ten consecutive cycles starting on the PM cycle of 8/3. The tenth consecutive cycle would have been yesterday’s daytime cycle. It is clear that Taishi was clearing a bounce but it didn’t get him into BGs below 100. Therefore, his dose should have been increased to 2.25u last night. However, I can understand not wanting to increase on a nighttime cycle so it should have been increased this morning. There is no reason to continue to hold a 2u dose.

To clarify, the difference between a kitty new to BGs under 200 and one that is not is that the first time a kitty sees BGs under blue, we hold the dose 8-10 consecutive cycles. If a kitty is not new to BGs under 200, then one is looking for nadirs. That means you want to see more than just one stray nadir under 200 before you start counting consecutive cycles and then you would go back to the first nadir under 200 and count 8-10 cycles.
 
Posting here since I don’t see an 8/9 condo.

I need to clarify something on the cycle count. Because Taishi is new to BGs under 200, we would hold the 2u dose for ten consecutive cycles starting on the PM cycle of 8/3. The tenth consecutive cycle would have been yesterday’s daytime cycle. It is clear that Taishi was clearing a bounce but it didn’t get him into BGs below 100. Therefore, his dose should have been increased to 2.25u last night. However, I can understand not wanting to increase on a nighttime cycle so it should have been increased this morning. There is no reason to continue to hold a 2u dose.

To clarify, the difference between a kitty new to BGs under 200 and one that is not is that the first time a kitty sees BGs under blue, we hold the dose 8-10 consecutive cycles. If a kitty is not new to BGs under 200, then one is looking for nadirs. That means you want to see more than just one stray nadir under 200 before you start counting consecutive cycles and then you would go back to the first nadir under 200 and count 8-10 cycles.

Sorry for my misunderstanding. This is a lot to take in/learn. We aren't keen to up Taishi's dose during his PM shot. I guess we screwed up for today.
 
Back
Top