8/8 - Shakes home-do I shoot? or wait to morning

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Hi everyone
thanks for al the well wishes
He is home now and looking really sad,
the vet said she gave a reduced dose at 9am this morning cause his BG was 467
(he was 367 when he left here)
so we are home and she said to give a reduced dose tonight
but I checked his level and he is 210 at +9
should I shoot a reduced dose late tonight
or wait until tomorrow morning to shoot
He is eating a little bit at a time
and he is attacking his mouth
I am sure the stitches are bothering him...
any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Denise and Shakes :sad:
 
An advice giver I'm not, but I would think you should give him some insulin tonight. Reduced dose? I don't know, but I'm sure someone else will be able to help you better.

Hang in there!
 
I don't know...interesting that his numbers are continuing to come down.

With Kitty, I shot the night after the dental...I based my dose on the preshot.
 
Wait until you see what his numbers are at +11 to +12 tonight first. If they are still dropping, then you need to wait. Anesthesia can cause the insulin to work 'better'. Definitely a reduced dose tonight just to be on the safe side.
 
ok Ladies, thanks..
SO....I will check him at 9pm tonight, if he is around 300 or so then maybe
shoot 1/2 dose so this way I can shoot him at 6am (yes I am finally changing his time)
, or is his time completely off now??
and now I cant shoo tuntil 9am?
sorry I am confused
 
I don't know about the dosing. I'm sorry he's feeling bad and I hope he leaves those stitches alone! :sad:
 
So glad he's done and on the mend. I would wait and see what his bg is at PS and depending what it is shoot a reduced dose. The anesthesia makes them more sensative to the insulin and they can run low for a while.

If I were you I would call the vet in the morning and tell them he is scratching at his stitches and seems to be in pain and ask for Bupe. If you had 5 teeth pulled would you want something more than an advil? Poor guy. :sad:
 
I shot a reduced dose the night of Henry's dental (1/2 the usual dose).
I agree, I would ask the vet for some Bupe. Thats a lot of teeth pulled at one time, he may be in pain for a few days and eat less.
If he keeps messing with his mouth, he may need an Elizabethan collar to wear until his mouth heals more to keep him from pulling his stitches out.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top