? 8/8 Phoenix AMPS 115, + 3 BG 437

Scdal

Member Since 2020
@Bandit's Mom
@tiffmaxee
I am so upset and worried. Phoenix had great numbers yesterday and last night after increasing his insulin to 11.25 units. But
at +3 this morning, his BG went up to 437.

I was shocked! Until last week, Phoenix had never bounced into the 400 range unless I gave a fur shot or had to skip a shot. He has mostly stayed at 10.25 units for about 6 months.

Usually when I increase his insulin, it takes about 3 days for any significant change. But this time, by his second injection, he had already gone a lot lower. These high numbers along with the odd way he is reacting to the increase is scaring me.
I talked to his vet Friday afternoon and mentioned this to him. He didn't seem very concerned about it. He said he would be concerned if Phoenix's numbers didn't drop after the increase. The vet has ordered some probiotics for his diarrhea and has also ordered me a vial of B-12 to give Phoenix. I will pick them up this week.

Phoenix seems to be acting fine and is eating great but I am very worried. Any input from anyone would be greatly appreciated.
 
When you give a fur shot or skip a shot, the resulting numbers aren't a bounce. It's the effect of not giving insulin.

What you're seeing today is a bounce! Phoenix may be a late nadir kitty (i.e., you're seeing lower numbers later than mid-cycle) and numbers start rising early in the cycle the way they would if the nadir was at mid-cycle. Late nadirs are not all that common but it does happen.

I think I've mentioned this before but it would help to know which high dose condition Phoenix has. Insulin resistance (insulin auto antibodies) is a time limited condition and once you break through the resistance, numbers stay low. Acromegaly is due to a pituitary tumor than can wax and wane with its production of growth hormone which influences numbers.
 
Back
Top