8/8 mocha pmps 162 +2 205 +3 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterDevonMocha

Member Since 2009
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21767

WCR: seems to be doing fine today except for the BM on the floor, again. It was between +10 when I got up to test her last and it wasn't there and then when peter got up it was. Not real sure what's up with this again but I guess we ride it out.

Thank you for all the nice words last night, it was just one of those nights. We both seem much more refreshed this morning. Of course, we did HC the heck out of Mocha and she did go up, into the yellows at one point but this morning she is back down to blue so we are reducing her dose, again, a full .25 so now she is at a (F)2.0. I know we are still doing (F) and (S) doses, but that's only because we were on a (F)2.5 when we took the first full .25 reduction. We will see how she does with this reduction too.

Is it normal for her at this point to still be seeing yellows and pinks on occasion?
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150

Morning Devon...Mocha is looking so SO SO good!! :mrgreen:

There is a lot online about inappropriate elimination....so many good articles. I got some Cat Attract (as well as Raja being on a course of Clavamox and a happy pill in case it was behavioral The urinalysis showed trace blood so she will be on Clavamox for a total of 2 weeks.) The behavior stopped the second day of treatment and so far, she is doing very well with taking the meds.

The information I read was that it is best to rule out any physical problem by having a vet visit. The Cat Attract is herbal scented litter that attracts the cat to the LB. There are a whole bunch of suggestions about confining the kitty in one room and well, all sorts of good ideas. First is to rule out any infection or other problem with a visit to your vet. They said that if Raja didn't stop in 2 weeks, they would do tests to see if she has bladder stones or some other issue.

So while Raja doesn't have a bacterial infection, there was a trace of blood. I am assuming as with everything else, if left untreated it could become far worse. I think that they do these things to get us to notice....and they sometimes develop a LB aversion because they associate it with the pain they experience while trying to go. So my thought is that a vet visit for this problem is in order....I know that everyone else has given so many hints and ideas over the past few weeks and nothing seems to have changed anything. But really, how can any of us know if our kitty is sick unless we realize they are doing something "differently" and then we go to the vet. While giving pills and ABs are NO fun, and the vet visit is extra money with the tests and whatnot, the avoidance of doing these things is far more costly in the long run. If the tests are normal, then you can feel safe in thinking that it is just behavioral...but you do need to rule out any illness or problem.

WCF's idea about taking shifts between you and peter is a great one!! I hope that taking naps is possible with you during the day too. Going down the dosing ladder is much harder than going UP as Libby said. But Mocha is doing so well...she is moving right along with a purpose it seems! Great looking SS...you guys are so fortunate to have this going on right now...you are doing such a great job with her too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150

Great AMPS. I don't know if there's a "normal" with regard to where numbers will be. Obviously, it would be wonderful if Mocha stayed in the below 120 range but if not, as long as she brings her numbers back into that range, all should be good.

Devon - how many litter boxes do you have? One book by a feline behaviorist that I read recommends 1-1/2 boxes per cat in a multiple cat household. I'm wondering if an additional litter box may help.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150

Hi Devon, amps 150 is really great! Mocha is doing so well lately. I don't have any advice for you about Mocha not using the litterbox. (If anything we have the opposite situation: a cat who loves to devote lots of time to getting his litterbox "just right".) Maybe a trip to the vet would rule out any health reasons.

Hang in there!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150

Nice amps Mocha!

No advice here either on the LB - mine are all in the same boat as Stu - too much attention on getting it all just right. But we do have a multi-cat household, have been told numerous times that in that situation you need more than 1 box, which we do do. It seems to work - might be something that you could consider?

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150

thanks everyone for the suggestions. If mocha was consistently going outside of the box, we would most likely take her to the vet. But one day she goes in the box, the next day she goes out, then ten days in a row she goes in the box, then one time she doesnt! She never ever pee's outside the box (well, unless you count pee through where the top lid and bottom box connect) We have two litter boxes in the house and both are scooped every single day. The litter boxes are at opposite ends of the house, one in our bedroom, one in the laundry room. They are exactly the same boxes, and both cat's use either box. We have not changed litters in the almost 7 years we have had mocha. The boxes have not moved since we moved into this house almost 7 years ago. Absolutely nothing is different that's what is so frustrating and what's even more frustrating is her pattern. She never ever did this before (except when she was a kitten while we were living at my moms, and she wouldn't go in the box, AT ALL!) and for years and years we never had a problem, not even before diagnosis. Then about two months ago she started doing this hit and miss thing and did that for a few weeks then nothing whatsoever. Every single time she went in the box. Then the last two nights she does it outside of the box!

I suppose if this continues we will have to get her into the vet, but right now that is not financially in the budget and with twix going to the vet last month that took all of our "just in case" money. It's always something ... but you all know what Im saying!
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150

sorry to hear Mocha is still having LB issues, I wonder if she's craving attention or she's upset about something? I hope you figure it out soon. In the meantime, this is a wonderful amps and good luck with the new dose.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72

Just a question .. mocha is throwing out lots of greens and blues lately, but a few pinks and some yellows ... she has dropped a good bit in her dosing amount, but we were wondering if this is her on her way to being regulated? I know we are reducing by .25u now to get ahead of the shed, so once we find the right dose where she does not drop like a bomb, will she be considered regulated?
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56

Hi Devon,
I woke up this morning and realized I hadn't voted for your cake yet, so I just did. You are way ahead of everyone else, too. You are very talented, but why isn't your cake a Siamese cat? LOL

I'm sorry about the LB issues. Are you sure its Mocha and not Twix? Or could Twix be doing something that is upsetting Mocha. Have you tried Felaway? Several years ago when I had similar issues I used Felaway and it seemed to help.

I can't answer your questions about regulation, but Mocha sure is having great numbers lately.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56

Hey Devon,

Sometimes Marco or Miss Kitty will go outside the LB. I've noticed that they will usually do it if they had a hard time going in the LB first. Maybe a little constipooted? Someone on here once mentioned that if the kitteh is constipooted that they associate the LB with pain and will find another place. Just a thought. :)

Nice numbahs btw.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56

I would still do a vet visit, even tho mocha's not consistantly not using the box. Muffin was sometimes using hers and other times not and for that reason I skipped the vet visit as well, and concentrated on the LB itself - different litters, covered ones, self-scooping ones, etc. Lo and behold, when I finally did take her to the vet, she's diabetic. Since treatment started, she has used the box every time, and now I feel guilty for not taking her sooner. Just my 2 cents worth...
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56 +7 49

thank you everyone for the LB suggestions. The night before was mochas first time going outside of the box in a long time, probably a month or more, and it was like a regular BM for her. However early this morning peter was the one who discovered it, and he said it was a little soft for her, we are thinking it might have been the overload of HC w/ Karo syrup that possibly upset her tummy.

We will try to get her into the vet and I hate to keep saying this, but money IS an issue for us, like I'm sure it is for so many others on this site. We're having some car problems right now (new tires, new fuel pump, well NEED a new fuel pump as our car is now leaving us stranded if it's below a 1/4 tank) our kitchen sink is leaking (there's a bowl to catch the water) and peter's medical bills are starting to roll in (you know, the 95% that insurance doesn't cover) I wish all we had to focus on are vet bills but that just isn't the case.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56 +7 49

I don't think Mocha is on her way to being regulated. I think she *is* regulated. :mrgreen: Ok, so she has a little bounce every now and then, but look at how beautiful her numbers are 90% of the time.

I know what you mean, though. I was scared to use that word because I was scared it would jinx something.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56 +7 49

What lovely numbers again for Mocha today. My turn to be jealous.

We all get discouraged and venting helps. That's a big reason we are here. We cn express ourselves and not be thought of as nuts. It's the sugardance, very few are lucky enough to get a straight sprint to the finish.

The cats too can get frustrated with everything we do for/to them. I don't know what to say on the LB issue that hasn't been said. There may be a few other things to try. Can you put newspaper or pee pads down to at least make it easier to clean up? What about a second LB in your rooM? I know you have to keep Mocha separated because of food issues, sorry but I can't remember why? Could Mocha be anxious because she is not with you other cat at night? Sometimes it is just an accumulation of several factors. Just throwing thoughts out to see if any thing in them is new.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56 +7 49

Hi Devon. What wonderful numbers Mocha is showing you. :-D
Is it possible that she waits until the last second to go potty, and then finds Twix in the box...so she can't wait...or can't get to other box in time?
I don't have the problem right now, but my Samantha (GA) did the same. Actually, I never could prove it was her, but she would also poop on the floor occasionally. Never did know why.
 
Re: 8/8 mocha amps 150 +4 72 +6 56 +7 49 +8 70

libby, I must say while I was reading that first sentence you wrote, my heart sank. But then I read the next sentence and my heart soared! We so want mocha to be regulated but had given up hope and then she proves us wrong by these numbers she's throwing out. Dare we say we have a regulated diabetic cat?? :shock:

Ann, do not be jealous .. tess throws out beautiful numbers almost every single day!

I don't think mocha is anxious about being separated from twix (we do this because of food issues, twix is a kibble cat). This has been done every night for the past year and a half. Cleaning up her mess isn't normally a huge problem, because it's always solids, never liquid so a quick scoop and it's all done. I'm not sure if another LB could fit in our room but I suppose it is something we could try to figure out.

I do want to thank everyone on their suggestions and advice!

Barb, I just got your message. At night mocha get's locked up with us so she has free access to the LB at all times.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top