8/8 Minnie PMPS 244 +9 182

Retest every 20 mins. If you are there to monitor her and gave supplies, you can shoot the rise as soon as the BG is above 50, with the full dose. Because she’s on Lev, you’ve got some time for the BG to continue to rise after you are able to shoot…and then feed.

Great SS! Love all your tabs.
 
Thanks for jumping in so quickly! It's always a shock when it happens.

Still under 50 after 20min and a few mouthfuls of LC (paw lickin chicken so very low 3%) - though the novamax reads 73. I'm sticking with the Freestyle as my monitor - the novamax is always a bit higher but right now that higher number just eases my panic. Waiting another 20 without feeding (took me so long to write this, re-check is now in 5 min)
 
11:25 +25min 52 - I'm going to stall another 20 without food this time, just to be sure that last lift wasn't from the food she had. Sound right?

Madame would prefer a rotating Special du Jour? ;-) I hope Minnie had a good day. Her numbers look really good!!
Right now it seems to be - give me something different every time you put a dish down!


I'm speculating now...since that's all I really can do. I wonder if she is off her food because she is down in lower BG now? Now I think about it, I think she was like this last time she was hitting low numbers and when I went with the tough love approach (this is what you're getting, eat it or eat nothing) that worked. Will try that again once she gets into decent numbers again today. PS is a TERRIBLE time for nadir!! :)
 
Last edited:
Phew, finally shot!

planned AMPS 10:20 (+12.5) 45x2 1tsp LC 3%
10:40 +20min 49 / novamax 73 no food
11:00 +20min 48 1 tsp LC3 %
11:25 +25min 52 no food
11:45 +20min 53 / novamax 70 - shot and 'breakfast' LC 3%

Finally this last time she actually seemed interested in food (licking plastic bags was a clue), though she left 1/3 of it. Probably the 1/3 with the meds stirred in! I stuck with LC just to see how much she rises.
 
11:25 +25min 52 - I'm going to stall another 20 without food this time, just to be sure that last lift wasn't from the food she had. Sound right?


Right now it seems to be - give me something different every time you put a dish down!


I'm speculating now...since that's all I really can do. I wonder if she is off her food because she is down in lower BG now? Now I think about it, I think she was like this last time she was hitting low numbers and when I went with the tough love approach (this is what you're getting, eat it or eat nothing) that worked. Will try that again once she gets into decent numbers again today. PS is a TERRIBLE time for nadir!! :)
I’d have shot already because of Levemir onset being at +4. My Gracie got great overlap and carryover on Lev and you could be seeing that as well. That’s why it’s important to shoot as soon as the BG is over 50 if you’ve only given LC.

On the SS, instead of putting +20, +20 which I know means 20 mins, it should be the hours since last shot, roughly. You started out correctly with the +12.5 but then kept adding minutes. I actually prefer if all the stalled shot BGs are in the +11 column so the only thing in the AMPS column is the BG you shot and at what + time you shot it. Make sense?

Cross posted so glad you shot.
 
I’d have shot already because of Levemir onset being at +4. My Gracie got great overlap and carryover on Lev and you could be seeing that as well. That’s why it’s important to shoot as soon as the BG is over 50 if you’ve only given LC.

On the SS, instead of putting +20, +20 which I know means 20 mins, it should be the hours since last shot, roughly. You started out correctly with the +12.5 but then kept adding minutes. I actually prefer if all the stalled shot BGs are in the +11 column so the only thing in the AMPS column is the BG you shot and at what + time you shot it. Make sense?

Cross posted so glad you shot.
Please hold for s/s updates :)

I understand about shooting as soon as BG over 50 but I hesitated one more 20min interval because a) I'd given some food and wasn't convinced the increase from 48 to 52 wasn't food influenced and b) a couple of weeks ago she seemed to be nadiring (is that a verb?? it is now) at +3/+15. I still can't quite get my head round a nadir at +3 and onset at +4, even if part of my brain knows it makes sense.

Thanks for the guidance!
 
Please hold for s/s updates :)

I understand about shooting as soon as BG over 50 but I hesitated one more 20min interval because a) I'd given some food and wasn't convinced the increase from 48 to 52 wasn't food influenced and b) a couple of weeks ago she seemed to be nadiring (is that a verb?? it is now) at +3/+15. I still can't quite get my head round a nadir at +3 and onset at +4, even if part of my brain knows it makes sense.

Thanks for the guidance!
Great observations! This is exactly what my Gracie did on Lev. It means they are getting that much desired carryover and overlap which is very beneficial to them although can be a bit harrowing at first when they start turning out BGs around or less than 100.

Until you get comfy with it, it’s really best to shoot absolutely as soon as the BG is over 50 so you can feed a decent meal to let the BG climb just a tad before onset. Not much…you don’t want to ruin the overlap/carryover and extended duration. It’s a very fine line.

You are doing a great job!
 
Great observations! This is exactly what my Gracie did on Lev. It means they are getting that much desired carryover and overlap which is very beneficial to them although can be a bit harrowing at first when they start turning out BGs around or less than 100.

Until you get comfy with it, it’s really best to shoot absolutely as soon as the BG is over 50 so you can feed a decent meal to let the BG climb just a tad before onset. Not much…you don’t want to ruin the overlap/carryover and extended duration. It’s a very fine line.

You are doing a great job!
Thank you! This is a bit out of the blue after the long string of yellows. Also her appetite has been really off the last few days - even the vet wondered if start of pancreatitis, so I'm extra cautious with these low numbers. That's why I like cross-checking with the novamax since it reads about 20 higher, helps alleviate the panic I would otherwise be feeling. Also compared to what has been normal, she isn't really eating a 'decent' meal. But! I completely get what you're saying - just need the 2 parts of my brain to come to terms with each other's opinion.

ETA - fixed the s/s but those 20min intervals are a nightmare converting to decimals so I went with h:mm :)
 
Thank you! This is a bit out of the blue after the long string of yellows. Also her appetite has been really off the last few days - even the vet wondered if start of pancreatitis, so I'm extra cautious with these low numbers. That's why I like cross-checking with the novamax since it reads about 20 higher, helps alleviate the panic I would otherwise be feeling. Also compared to what has been normal, she isn't really eating a 'decent' meal. But! I completely get what you're saying - just need the 2 parts of my brain to come to terms with each other's opinion.

ETA - fixed the s/s but those 20min intervals are a nightmare converting to decimals so I went with h:mm :)
I would just be really cautious about comparing two meters. They won’t always have the same variance.
 
I would just be really cautious about comparing two meters. They won’t always have the same variance.
Oh yes, I don't do this regularly and I have seen the variance discrepancy at different BGs. Mostly I use Novamax as a backup when she has lower numbers; my longer term goal is to use the Novamax full time

UGH. Back to limes at +3.5, I waited too long to check. She ate a bit at +1/+2 and was sleeping. I took 3 tests in succession getting 39 (small blood drop so wasn't convinced) then 45 and 41. Is this a definite reduction I suppose, down to 3.5u?
 
You do have the best SS! Like an encyclopedia of knowledge.

Whew, you've had quite the morning as well. Is she headed up yet?
Thank you! It's grown and grown - partly because I couldn't figure a good reliable way of bookmarking everything and then finding it easily again and partly out of paranoia that the site will be down or I don't have internet access when I need the info or for whatever reason don't get info as quickly as I'd like. Every time I see something that looks useful, I find a place for it on Minnie's s/s :)

She's up a bit after some MC with karo but I think it's going to be work all day long since we only just got to onset :facepalm: but, she's happy enough. Lots of purring and asking to be brushed today!
 
Thank you! It's grown and grown - partly because I couldn't figure a good reliable way of bookmarking everything and then finding it easily again and partly out of paranoia that the site will be down or I don't have internet access when I need the info or for whatever reason don't get info as quickly as I'd like. Every time I see something that looks useful, I find a place for it on Minnie's s/s :)

She's up a bit after some MC with karo but I think it's going to be work all day long since we only just got to onset :facepalm: but, she's happy enough. Lots of purring and asking to be brushed today!
Yup yup, exactly. I too bookmark things and then forget they even exist. On the SS is better because I look at it everyday.
 
11:25 +25min 52 - I'm going to stall another 20 without food this time, just to be sure that last lift wasn't from the food she had. Sound right?


Right now it seems to be - give me something different every time you put a dish down!


I'm speculating now...since that's all I really can do. I wonder if she is off her food because she is down in lower BG now? Now I think about it, I think she was like this last time she was hitting low numbers and when I went with the tough love approach (this is what you're getting, eat it or eat nothing) that worked. Will try that again once she gets into decent numbers again today. PS is a TERRIBLE time for nadir!! :)
Sorry, Minnie. I am afraid that I was one was the one suggesting a “tough love” approach.
 
You get a couple of Oy veys! from Auntie Katherine today, Miss Minnie! The 30s always make me wince when I see them, but you did an awesome job keeping her afloat, Liz!
 
What’s Grammy’s Pot Pie? I know you will reduce tonight…. But I fear that unless she bounces, you may not get much sleep.
It's one of Merrick's varieties - 6% carb, 252mg Phos/100kcal.

Yeah...not looking forward to tonight. Shot time 11:20pm:banghead: won't even have the next day's Olympics to watch! You'd hope she'll bounce but....I'm looking back at her s/s. Early July she had a stretch with bounceless limes.

Wish somebody could give me an explanation as to what's going on with her! I wouldn't do anything different but I hate not understanding :) She seemed off her food but not nauseous - picky and not eating as much even before BG dropping, the IM suspected possible early pancreatitis flare then a few days later this big old dive. And she's been on the same dose for ages - 20 cycles with one dose of 2u. Mystery cat.:cat:
 
You get a couple of Oy veys! from Auntie Katherine today, Miss Minnie! The 30s always make me wince when I see them, but you did an awesome job keeping her afloat, Liz!
For me, the 30s justify keeping the Novamax as backup monitor, to keep me somewhat sane since I know it reads ~20higher when we're down here. Otherwise headless chicken time. Plus based on her behavior I am always shocked to see the 30s, she just sits there as if nothing's going on.
 
It's one of Merrick's varieties - 6% carb, 252mg Phos/100kcal.

Yeah...not looking forward to tonight. Shot time 11:20pm:banghead: won't even have the next day's Olympics to watch! You'd hope she'll bounce but....I'm looking back at her s/s. Early July she had a stretch with bounceless limes.

Wish somebody could give me an explanation as to what's going on with her! I wouldn't do anything different but I hate not understanding :) She seemed off her food but not nauseous - picky and not eating as much even before BG dropping, the IM suspected possible early pancreatitis flare then a few days later this big old dive. And she's been on the same dose for ages - 20 cycles with one dose of 2u. Mystery cat.:cat:
I am also totally freaking out about Minnie’s limes today…. But I am trying to play it cool since I know that you can handle it.
 
And I totally used two meters for Darcy! I just didn’t usually report it. In our case, I used my ReliOn Premier most of the time, but it did read higher than my ReliOn Prime. So when he went low on the Premier, I would test with the Prime to really give me a better sense of how low he was going since I saw that the Premier artificially inflated his numbers. You, on the other hand, are using the Nova Max to give you a slightly higher number to give you a perspective that hopefully helps you not to freak out and do the headless chicken.
 
Oh yes, I don't do this regularly and I have seen the variance discrepancy at different BGs. Mostly I use Novamax as a backup when she has lower numbers; my longer term goal is to use the Novamax full time

UGH. Back to limes at +3.5, I waited too long to check. She ate a bit at +1/+2 and was sleeping. I took 3 tests in succession getting 39 (small blood drop so wasn't convinced) then 45 and 41. Is this a definite reduction I suppose, down to 3.5u?
Oh boy. Sorry…I thought she was in good shape so left the board for a while. Remember how I said you get a little time after you shoot to get the BG up? And if she’s getting carryover and overlap so that her nadir is around +15, those early hours after the subsequent shot really require watching.

Remember that if you shoot a reduced dose one cycle, as you noted, the cycle count starts over so this is actually her 12th cycle at this dose. Looks like she finally really filled that depot!

Congrats on the reduction. If she does bounce, I wouldn’t shoot through it….I’d go ahead and take the reduction and try to get some rest. There’s also nothing wrong with feeding her a little higher carb food between now and +10 to get her BG up. That doesn’t necessarily mean HC but just a higher end LC or a MC.
 
Oh boy. Sorry…I thought she was in good shape so left the board for a while. Remember how I said you get a little time after you shoot to get the BG up? And if she’s getting carryover and overlap so that her nadir is around +15, those early hours after the subsequent shot really require watching.

Remember that if you shoot a reduced dose one cycle, as you noted, the cycle count starts over so this is actually her 12th cycle at this dose. Looks like she finally really filled that depot!

Congrats on the reduction. If she does bounce, I wouldn’t shoot through it….I’d go ahead and take the reduction and try to get some rest. There’s also nothing wrong with feeding her a little higher carb food between now and +10 to get her BG up. That doesn’t necessarily mean HC but just a higher end LC or a MC.
No worries! Thanks for your help first thing when I was more worried. Live and learn, I should have checked earlier but I'm surprised she hasn't wanted to eat at those low numbers - usually she's looking for food, today she would eat if I put it in front of her but wasn't asking for it.

Question - what do you mean by "I wouldn't shoot through it"? I'm guessing you mean reduce to 3.5u even if she bounces?

I've been feeding her 14% MC but she's lost interest now (sleeping) so I'm a bit on edge for the next few readings. Will take your advice and maybe dig out some higher carb stuff. My aim right now is to keep >60 so we're on hourly testing, she is getting very unhappy with all the poking.
 
Question - what do you mean by "I wouldn't shoot through it"? I'm guessing you mean reduce to 3.5u even if she bounces?
Often when a kitty bounces high by shot time and has earned a reduction, we shoot through the bounce with the higher, not the new dose, as it helps them through the bounce. But, after the day you all have had, I’d reduce at PMPS even if she does bounce high.
 
Often when a kitty bounces high by shot time and has earned a reduction, we shoot through the bounce with the higher, not the new dose, as it helps them through the bounce. But, after the day you all have had, I’d reduce at PMPS even if she does bounce high.
Got it, thank you! Agree completely. I'm hoping for a bounce, Minnie is not in the mood for all-night pokeys.
 
Back
Top