Re: 8/8 Michael AMPS 427
part of why he's so high is because you skipped his shot last night. not a bounce.
i think you should go back to 0.75u tonight. Lantus doesn't work as a hammer to bring down high numbers very well. You make dosing decisions with Lantus based upon the nadir - how low will this dose bring my cat? What you know is that the 0.75u can bring him down at least into the 70's, likely lower. When I see he was at 77 at +11 last night, that raises the possibility that he may have been lower earlier in the cycle. maybe not - no way to know.
Is your goal to get him off of insulin and becoming diet-controlled, or do you just want to maintain him on insulin? if you want him off, you're going to want to shoot lower numbers. Like last night, with a 77 at +11, we'd have encouraged you to recheck again at +12. He'd likely have been able to get a shot then.
Lantus is best when shot into low numbers - it has this awesome ability to hold the blood sugar flat in the normal ranges. But you need to shoot those numbers in order for it to happen.
Not sure if i've given you this link already - i kept writing the same thing over and over for new kitties about the benefits of shooting normal numbers, but if not, here is a
recent post explaining it.
In preparing for shooting lower numbers, it would be helpful if you can sprinkle your tests out a little more. Get a +10 once, a +1 another time, just test different times so we can see a better picture of what's going on. Read the "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" sticky at the top of this forum, particularly the part on becoming data ready.
There's absolutely no reason to believe he couldn't be one of the cats that goes off of insulin. Over 90% of newly diagnosed cats in the most recent study who become tightly regulated become diet-controlled. Newly diagnosed is important - the sooner the better, before the damage is too great to their pancreatic beta cells that produce insulin. When you get a preshot number between 50ish and 120ish - that's an opportunity to lower his whole range and flatten out his blood sugar. ya gotta grab it though!