8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +5 33, +5.25 79, +5.5 166, +6 250, +7 302

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ellen & Mama

Member Since 2011
Don't think this is working, i already reduced to .25 from .5 and even shot late cause I overslept and she's still going way too low again. This time I just gave her Karo straight off, and some food, cause it's too low to wait. And I can barely stay awake cause I was up with her last night with the same thing. Sooooo what do I do, give her a drop next time? She goes back to the vet tomorrow to retest kidney values etc so we'll see what they say. Talked to vet this morning and she didn't understand why she needs such tiny amounts (of course they started at 1 unit) and also said maybe now that UTI is fixed ... but still the #s go up to over 300 once insulin wears off so????

Am I missing something? Is this common?
Ellen & Mama
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

for now - breathe. let me get the picture.

so do i understand right - you gave her karo at 40 and she dropped to 33? did you give more karo or high carb food?

what is she at right now?
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

i see your other condo from today as well - we're going to want you to stick with one just for clarity's sake - do you see the answer sienne posted to you in the other one?

what is she now? i can't tell if this is something that happened earlier or is happening now.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

Sorry - I gave her Karo and now she's at 72 - the 40/33 were just 2 BG #s right in a row and after the 33 I figured it was time for Karo ..
The other condo was from yesterday/last night but I just posted it this morning when I woke up (so it's technically yesterday's #s) I didn't see any answers but I will recheck.
So the BG of 33 just happened a half hour ago - she was at 128, I took a nap, woke up and retested about and it was 40, then 33.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

How much time was there between the 40 and the 33? It's quite possible that this reflects the 20% variance due to the meter.

I think more is the issue of what you need to shoot. I've got a message out to a couple of people regarding Mama's numbers. I'll be back in a bit. Please test again in 30 min. Once HC/Karo wears off, numbers can drop.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

ellen, i'm going to back out of the question because sienne knows infinitely more than i do about this. you're in great hands!
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

The 40 and 33 were right after each other, she's at 72 now so I think it's OK, I was reading another sticky on treating hypoglycemia which says:

VERY LOW NUMBERS – WITHOUT SYMPTOMS
Retest glucose using a large blood sample to make certain you have enough blood, and if you still get a very low number (under 40 mg/dL or 1.9 – 2.2 mmol/L) administer a tablespoon of corn syrup, liquid glucose, pancake syrup or honey, or INSTA-GLUCOSE and follow with food until the blood glucose numbers rise to acceptable levels. The syrup can be mixed with wet food or poured over dry if the cat will eat the mixture. If using liquid glucose, dilute with water for a thinner consistency.
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 28&t=15887

But isn't a tablespoon of syrup a lot (15 mls?) I guess I thought 15 mls of gravy was more reasonable than syrup, so last night when she was at 58 I used a 3 ml cc syringe to suck up some gravy from food and syringe into her mouth....
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

we give 1 tsp (that's teaspoon) of the gravy from a can of high carb food, then wait 15ish minutes and retest.

here's the sticky for how to handle low numbers from the top of the lantus forum. the one you have sounds like way too much - i see it's from the main forum. not sure why they aren't the same, but since you use lantus, use this one. It's perhaps the most up to date.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

hi Ellen

so she is at 72 now right?
could you edit and update the subject line in this condo, I'm having trouble following which condo, and asked a moderator to merge if they can.
scratch that! I just saw it is last nite's numbers but with todays date, it is monday right? :lol:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49534


I'm going to assume this is the current condo of whats happening.


will you be able to follow up until pmps time tonite? hopefully its going ok.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

If she is up to 72 she is safe for now, but keep checking every 30 minutes as it will wear off. Syrup usually lasts for 2 hours for Tess, but I only give her a drop or 2.

Others will be by with dosing advice, i Just want to say that it is not unheard of for a cat to get a tiny amount but really still need it. Tess has been getting just .1u for over 3 months, but still rockets up if I do a fur shot.

here's a link to your other condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=49534&view=unread#unread
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

Please do update your subject line. (Go to your first post in this thread, click on the "edit" button at the top of the text box. Update the subject line then click on "submit."

Ann is right. We have a few kitties that are on a drop of insulin but need the drop and one person who gives a drop only when numbers are rising. It's also possible that Mama is a transient diabetic whose symptoms started due to infection.

As for dose, I had a curbside consult with Jill and Libby and we all are thinking along the same lines. Please reduce your dose to 0.1u. Yes, this is going to give you eye strain to measure. I'd suggest practicing a bit. Here's a link to a photo of what the dose should look like. The photos of the syringes are about 2/3 of the way down the page.

Your instincts are good -- a tablespoon of Karo would shoot numbers to the moon. I steer Gabby's numbers with Karo and use a drop or two -- maybe 3 - 4 if her numbers are really low. A teaspoon of gravy is about the right amount followed by a test in 15 - 30 min.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

When you say to edit the subject line I'm not sure what you mean? With new #s as I get them?
She went to 177 and now she's at like 260 at +6 so I guess she's OK, will recheck in an hour. Her poor ears I hope she isn't anemic there is so much blood flying around. I will try to do .1 next time. It seems like I barely gave her any this morning!
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

Yes go to ur first post in this thread and hit "edit", and update the subject line then submit

U may want to practice the new dose with ur used syringes, fruit juice or water works.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

And Ronnie, of course, means to practice drawing the dose up into the syringe, not practice shooting the cat with OJ. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +5 40/33, +6 250

thats what I meant! sorry I was trying to multi task :lol:

give it a try Ellen, that will save you time and trouble.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +4 40/33 Please help!

julie1220 said:
we give 1 tsp (that's teaspoon) of the gravy from a can of high carb food, then wait 15ish minutes and retest.

here's the sticky for how to handle low numbers from the top of the lantus forum. the one you have sounds like way too much - i see it's from the main forum. not sure why they aren't the same, but since you use lantus, use this one. It's perhaps the most up to date.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

The one I'm reading is actually linked at the bottom of the "Shooting and Handling Low Numbers" - that's how I found it - it's called
"How to treat HYPOS - THEY CAN KILL! Print this Out!!"

At the bottom of the "Low Numbers" sticky it has:

Be prepared:
HYPO TOOLBOX
LIST OF HYPO SYMPTOMS
TREATING HYPOGLYCEMIA

and I was using the "Treating Hypoglycemia" one. I guess that is not specifically for Lantus so maybe shouldn't be there, I don't know, it's very confusing there is a lot to read!
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +5 40/33, +5.25 79, +5.5 166, +6 250

yes there's a ton to read. and yes, it's very confusing - we hear that from everyone new and we all thought the same thing when we came on. that's why it's such a good thing there is quick personal help from people with more experience!

you did a perfect job on your editing of the subject line!

just keep asking if you have questions pop up. for now it looks like mama is doing just fine - nice and high exactly like we'd expect from a lotta carbs! :lol: looks like everything's working in that department!
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +5 40/33, +5.25 79, +5.5 166, +6 250

The "Treating Hypos" is more geared to symptomatic hypoglycemia. What you were dealing with, as do most of us, is an asymptomatic hypo or, more accurately, low numbers.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +5 33, +5.25 79, +5.5 166, +6 250, +7

Sienne and Gabby said:
The "Treating Hypos" is more geared to symptomatic hypoglycemia. What you were dealing with, as do most of us, is an asymptomatic hypo or, more accurately, low numbers.

OK good to know but not at all clear from the article - it actually has "very low numbers- without symptoms, low numbers - without symptoms, low numbers - mild symptoms, low numbers - moderate symptoms, and low numbers - severe symptoms" all with their own treatment instructions so that is why I was using the "very low numbers - without symptoms" for under 40. And I am not exactly sure if she has symptoms or not, she certainly doesn't feel good and just sits on the bed, but I always catch it so fast she probably doesn't have time to have any symptoms yet.

It probably doesn't matter as long as I know I can reverse it with karo, I'm good.
 
Re: 8/8 Mama AMPS 345 +5 33, +5.25 79, +5.5 166, +6 250, +7

OK I am going to practice with water that is a great idea. It seems like it is really only a couple drops to do .1 units. It's amazing so little insulin can have such a dramatic effect. Thanks for all the info and tips!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top