8/8 Lucy PMPS=140;+2=65;+3=63;+4=67 // DIARRHEA AGAIN...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning,

Yesterday's condo

8/7 AMPS=106; +2=65; +3=119; 8.75=124
8/7 PMPS=160'; +2=112; +6.5=142

8/8 AMPS=160; +2=124; +9.5=140
8/8 PMPS=140; +2=65; +3=63; +4=67

Her AMPS is higher than usual, but she seems to be feeling better this morning than last night.
Yesterday she had diarrhea, and didn't seem to be feeling well in the evening, so I was worried about her IBD worsening.
But early this morning, she pooped normal poo, and kept trying to wake me up before the alarm, so she must be feeling better.
She ate half of her 1st breakfast by herself, and the rest by finger-feeding.

I hope everyone's having a nice day!
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy AMPS=160;+2=124

Morning sweet Lucy, Lucky and her need to hang out maybe then we could sleep in :lol: Glad her numbers came down, looking good
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy AMPS=160;+2=124

I'm glad to hear Miss Lucy is feeling better this morning...it's such a rollercoaster with our furbabies sometimes. That +2 is looking very nice. Have a great day, Mariko!
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy AMPS=160;+2=124

Yay on the normal poo. I'm glad Lucy is feeling better today. I hope she'll get back to some greens soon.
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy PMPS=140

Thank you for cheering Lucy's good poop this morning, but unfortunately she had a diarrhea again before dinner.
And her BG crept up again.
She seems to be feeling good, and her appetite also seems good.
She ate the 1st dinner by herself.

This reminds me when she was originally diagnosed with IBD years ago.
She was having frequent diarrhea, but her appetite and vitality were quite good.
Like the vet suspected after the recent bloodwork, Lucy may not be holding the steroid reduction well.
The vet I've been talking to is off until Sunday, so I'll hold the current dose until then and if she continues to have diarrhea, I'll call the vet on Sunday morning.
She'll probably advise me to increase the steroid dose back to what it was before.
That's fine, because I wanted to reduce the pred dose to better manage her diabetes, but it seems to be having an opposite effect.
I'm thinking it's possibly the inflammation that's giving her these higher numbers.
I hope I can make her IBD better without steroid, but I don't know if there is different medications.
I'll talk to the vet about that too, but if it has to be pred, so be it. At least I tried.

I'm going to keep her on slippery elm bark powder, but I'm going to hold probiotic today.
If her diarrhea is caused by the lost protein into intestines, the vet didn't think probiotic would help anyway....

I wonder.... if I bring a poop sample, can they see if there is actually lost protein in it?
Or can they only see bacteria???
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy PMPS=140 // DIARRHEA AGAIN...

Sorry Lucy has the squirts. I hope she gets over them soon. I have no idea what can and can't be seen in poop - that's sooo not my job! Have a good night guys!
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy PMPS=140 // DIARRHEA AGAIN...

I'm sorry Lucy had another flare up tonight. I bet you're right...she probably needs to go back on her old dose of pred. It does sound like increasing the pred will help you better manage her diabetes, even though that seems counter-intuitive. I'm glad she's feeling good!
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy PMPS=140;+2=65 // DIARRHEA AGAIN...

WOW!!! LUCY!!!
WHAT A DIVE!!!!

She is feeling good, and ate all her 3 dinners by herself.
Hope she'll slow down, and surf safely, but I'll be testing her more tonight.
 
Re: 8/8 Lucy PMPS=140;+2=65!!! // DIARRHEA AGAIN...

Hi Mariko,

Wonder if there is any relations between Lucy's green and the diarrhea?
Maybe some of the Sr folk would know.

But nice greens
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top