8/8 Henry

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nice greens there yesterday! I wonder what he did mid cycle for you yesterday with that lower pmps. Next time that happens, are you able to get a spot check in before going to bed?
 
Soory for the high number today...but great number yesterday!
It will all come together!
dont worry

have a great day and thanks for the well wishes

Denise andShakes
 
By the time I got him to a level I could shoot last night it was almost 12:00a.m.
I zonked out for the night shortly after. :mrgreen:
I try to do the spot checks on the weekends, this week my sister and kids are in from Texas and I have had to take care of my 93 year old grandmother getting her dinner ready, meds, etc, in the evenings so my mother can have a break while they are visiting so I've been tired.
My sister wants to go Savannah overnight later in the week and I am afraid to go and leave Henry. Neither Ior DH have ever tried to give Henry a shot alone.
Will see what the day brings with his numbers. A +4 is looking iffy right now. It started raining and thundering before noon today and he is camped out under the bed as the storming continues.
 
That looks like a pretty good number for after a thunderstorm! You gotta train DH to give shots! :smile:
 
DH and I can give shots alone now. I had to learn since DH travels so much for business. Now if we could only find someone that could give Alex a shot while we go away!
 
With PZ what you see is what you get. If he gives you a nice blue PS then you need to reduce his dose accordingly.

If you shoot your regular dose into a lower PS he will dump sugar and give you higher numbers and then you end up shooting into overly inflated numbers which will start a vicious cycle of it's own. Especially if you can't test through it.

Good luck with all the company. It can be fun and exhausting all at the same time.
 
Rob & Harley said:
If you shoot your regular dose into a lower PS he will dump sugar and give you higher numbers and then you end up shooting into overly inflated numbers which will start a vicious cycle of it's own. Especially if you can't test through it.

I disagree, but we already knew that :-D IMO it really depends on the cat and the numbers. Sometimes shooting a reduced dose gives you high numbers the next day. Sometimes kitty's body is overly protective and will dump glucose from the liver the first few times you shoot into lower numbers, so that can be true some of the time. Eventually though, in order to achieve tight regulation, you will have to work your way into shooting lower and lower numbers till you are off insulin.
 
Again, that is the protocol for the L's.

With PZ what you see is what you get. Insulin is in and out in about 12 hours.

I have backed off the last few months to see if you were right, but IMHO that hasn't proven to be true. We have too many people shooting 3 units into a nice blue only to go back to flat yellows. Why not reward a nice blue with the amount of insulin they are asking for to continue the trend?
 
I reduced his insulin last night for his PMPS from 3U to 2.8.

PMPS tonight 255, 23 points lower than +6 gave 3U
 
Rob & Harley said:
With PZ what you see is what you get. If he gives you a nice blue PS then you need to reduce his dose accordingly.

If you shoot your regular dose into a lower PS he will dump sugar and give you higher numbers and then you end up shooting into overly inflated numbers which will start a vicious cycle of it's own. Especially if you can't test through it.

That just was not my experience with Bix (PZI Vet for full disclosure!). I know some people say that, and shoot the numbers and all that, but it just wasn't my experience. ECID. It is absolutely *not* a given though that with a full dose on a lower PS they will dump sugar - they might, but only if they go low, which from what I have seen they typically don't do. Typically when we see people reduce, the numbers go high b/c it is not enough insulin.

It is not true that it (full dose on lower PS) is solely L advice. This is the advice I was given for Bix on PZI, and it got him regulated. PZI has no formal protocol, and shooting sliding scale is only ONE route among several. Generally when I recommend someone reduce the dose on a lower PS it is not with the intention of sliding scale, it is with the intention of getting data-ready to shoot lower PSs, with the idea of moving up to the full dose *if the data supports that move*. The difference with the Ls is that we don't go below 150 for the PS.

Everyone has to judge for themselves I guess.

Angela, at least you know now that he can get a perfect cycle, woohoo!!!!! Do you know if anything was different? Was his eating pattern the same? Any chance the dose was a hair over the line or something like that, so a tiny bit more insulin? Sometimes 1 drop seems to make all the difference, but obviously I am grasping at straws to have a nice tidy explanation!
 
The only difference I really can see on 8/7 is instead of giving him a 1/2 can of FF at a time yesterday, a few times I only gave him a 1/3 at a time during the day mainly before noon but he was ravenous early 8/7 so he ate more than usual before noon.
And I may have shot a very tiny amount (just a hair above 3U for his am dose 0n 8/7.
Trying to catch him now for a spot check but he has run under the bed so don't know if I will be able to or not.
 
Wow, you really have your hands full with family and Henry. If you want to go away, can you and DH practice shooting by yourselves with the other one nearby for support?
 
We're trying to get practice, it makes me nervous though. I think he may be able to get a relative to help hold Henry if I go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top