Nervous Nelly here. Yes, he bounced. After his incident - they are calling it DKA but he didn't have high numbers to support that - I am so scared. Gone are the days when he could go to work with me....
Message to doc:
rasied his dose from 2 to 2.5 yesterday. This am he was 61, +1 he was 139 and I gave him 0.5.
Doc says: that (the 1/2 unit raise) may have been a little too much (and he's always wanting me to go up in halves!). If his BG is 100-200 range or high, give him 2.25 tonight & tomorrow. If he is eating well and the Bg is in the 50-100 range you should either reduce the dose by just 0.25 or 0.5 or feed, retest and if the glucose is up give normal dose. In this instance I might have been a little more cautious since you had just raised the dose (maybe given him 1.5 or 1.75) but 0.5 is low enough that he is likely going to have some rebound issues. You are doing great though. [he has told me no other client tests as much as I do...he means that as a complement I think-lol]