8/8 Calley's AMPS 310, +6 251

Status
Not open for further replies.
Did you test her again last night after shooting a full dose on a 106? If not her higher numbers today are probably from her either crashing or coming close to crashing overnight last night.

I can shoot Autumn low to stay low because I have tested her for over 2 years multiple times a day. I can predict what she will do reasonably well on a given dose. I will not shoot a full dose on Cassanova below 120 because I haven't had him long enough to predict what he'll do other than he can often drop very quickly.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
What does crashing mean? Yes I gave her the shot last night after testing at 8pm but I did not test her again. I thought on Lantus we were to shoot regardless of the numbers so the insulin stays steady in her system. If this is not how it goes, I need to know the rules as I don't want to harm her obviously.

I fed her after the shot and then again when I went to bed at midnight.

Help
 
Yes and no on shooting on any number depending on data for a particular dose. In the very beginning we start people with a no shoot number of 150. Actually 200 if they are new to testing. As you gather data we lower that number. As we see how the cat responds to the insulin. I.e. do they drop hard and fast, hit their low point early in the cycle or drop and surf (stay in a particular range)


There are several ways to deal with a lower than expected preshot number.

1) stall without feeding for 30 minutes and retest, if rising and close to 150 shoot as planned

2) shoot a reduced dose (50-75% of the normal dose)

3) skip completely knowing they'll be high at the next shot time.

Crashing is when they get dangerously close to hypo range. 40 or below.

Standard rule of thumb is better too high for a day than too low for a minute. High numbers kill over time but a hypo can kill very quickly.

Which is why we recommend a minimum of 4 tests a day ..both preshots, a midcycle and a lights out or a test right before going to bed for the night. If they are falling fast on the lights out test better throw a extra pot of coffee on because your now on hypo watch. If that happens since we're pretty quiet here at night. Post on Health with the 911 icon and Hypo Watch. Someone with experience will jump in and guide you. No one will leave that thread until we're sure you and Calley are out of the woods. We might hand you off to another experienced care giver if we're seeing double but someone will stay with you.

If you haven't yet I highly advise reading the stickies at the top of this forum (the ones with stars) that will tell you about Lantus, how to handle low numbers and how to handle a hypo should it occur.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
When I go back to work i'll be doing good to get two tests in per day....if that. With my schedule and all the afterschool activities and going to school at night, I need her to be on a twice/day test. She will only be fed twice a day too. I don't have anyone to help with her care and I can't afford to hire anyone. On the weekends I can do more I hope.

Ok...so if the number is less than 150 I will do a reduced shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top