? 8/8 Butternut AMPS=197 +7=101 +9=61 +11=92 PMPS=115

Dandelion

Member Since 2015
Last condo

Butternut's AMPS has gone blue but still bouncing(?) in the AM. Nadirs - right side of SS - are going green. I expect blue and green numbers as this cycle progresses. Am inclined to hold his dose @1.5u but wondering what other's think about his progress and dose at this point? :)
Physically he's much improved in strength, mobility, endurance, desire to move about.

Thanks.

Discoveries on this forum that we've purchased and like:

okocat
magnifier
FoodFurLife arriving today - I hope this gets the seal of approval

:)
 
Let’s see what he does today
I love Okocat as well, wouldn’t use anything else
Have foodfurlife as well, sometimes he will eat other time nope
 
Sounds like Butternut is feeling better, that's fantastic! :bighug:
Love Okokat, it's the best! We've been using only that since Leo's dx in Feb 2018.
Good luck with the new food, I hope he likes it!
 
I'm feeing him more frequently today to see if I can slow down the drop. Still trying to figure out food for him so experimenting. I might ruin his green streak today but he's kind of zonked in the mornings when the pink-yellow dive happens.
 
I'm glad Butternut is feeling so good. I'd wait and see what he does today and tonight before making a decision on the dose.

that's what I was thinking and still trying to make sense of what I see in his SS too... patterns and all. The physical improvements counts for a lot IMO, even though numbers are still high in places. He is moving around MUCH more. :):cool:
 
I would have considered retesting that +1. That's an unusually high number especially in light of the +5.

Is there a reason you're holding the dose more than 3 days?
 
Good point on the +1. Need to question those when they show up.

I am holding because, as was explained to me, his last increase and the one prior were improperly timed and gave a lot of momentum to his break = I didn't want long enough for the break. Plus a load of other information about his patterns I'm still digesting so I know when increase again if needed. And, because many of his nadirs are <100 or continue to go green since reducing to 1.5 and to make use of the "at least 10 cycles" if he needs to.
  • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
I would have considered retesting that +1. That's an unusually high number especially in light of the +5.
I was looking at that, too. I wonder if we're seeing BIPO combined with a big food spike? It's not at all that unusual if you scroll up. It's kind of hard to see since the spreadsheet is set up to scroll. If it didn't move I think it might be more obvious.

ETA: BIPO from the previous shot.
 
I was looking at that, too. I wonder if we're seeing BIPO combined with a big food spike? It's not at all that unusual if you scroll up. It's kind of hard to see since the spreadsheet is set up to scroll. If it didn't move I think it might be more obvious.

ETA: BIPO from the previous shot.

I'm still digesting what you wrote a couple days ago and trying to make sense of it by studying his SS. :confused:
 
Oh, lol. So if this is occurring what's that mean for him?
At this point, nothing. It would just explain those high +1 numbers. If that's what it is, you're getting pretty good duration. That's a plus... and often common with Levemir.

Depending on what happens the rest of today/tonight, I think I'd take the dose up to 1.75u tomorrow morning.
Did I shorten the duration of the previous shot by giving him food during those greens last night?
Maybe a little, but no big deal. I probably would have done the same if for no other reason than wanting to get some sleep!


Just my thoughts. Others may feel differently...
 
At this point, nothing. It would just explain those high +1 numbers. If that's what it is, you're getting pretty good duration. That's a plus... and often common with Levemir.

Depending on what happens the rest of today/tonight, I think I'd take the dose up to 1.75u tomorrow morning.

.

Depending on what happens.... What would make you hold vs increase dose in the AM... what are you looking for? Mostly blue+green for the rest of the day = hold? If not, dosecrease? Clawing my way up the learning curve. :)

He did not have his morning walk since it was pouring rain. Those walks really help lower and/or stabilize his numbers.

Yes, I need some sleep. :blackeye:

Thanks for your input. Much appreciated!
 
Depending on what happens.... What would make you hold vs increase dose in the AM... what are you looking for? Mostly blue+green for the rest of the day = hold? If not, dosecrease? Clawing my way up the learning curve. :)
It's time for an increase because I don't think you'll get any more than what you've already seen on this dose. That said, if he's too low for your comfort hold the dose OR if he's quickly dropping while in double digits, hold the dose. Otherwise shoot and monitor. You want to have enough insulin on board to pull the higher numbers down.

If you haven't already take a look at this post: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve. It's a technique that may serve Butternut well.

I have to run, but will stop by later tonight to see if you have any questions.
 
A higher dose could make him BIPO at lower bg values, is this correct thinking? He still might BIPO but at least he won't be in pink which makes him soooo sleepy. Before he's meal around 5:30 AM to the time he eats @ AMPS, he's a different cat. Active and awake. Thanks for having a look at his sheet and making me aware of BIPO, if this is what's happening. Helps me connect his SS data to what I see him doing.
 
It's time for an increase because I don't think you'll get any more than what you've already seen on this dose. That said, if he's too low for your comfort hold the dose OR if he's quickly dropping while in double digits, hold the dose. Otherwise shoot and monitor. You want to have enough insulin on board to pull the higher numbers down.

If you haven't already take a look at this post: Using Food to Manipulate the Curve. It's a technique that may serve Butternut well.

I have to run, but will stop by later tonight to see if you have any questions.

Oh! Thanks for that link.. prolly answer some questions I had a few days ago. I HAVE been manipulating the curve but but wasn't sure .... anyway. Off to study. :bookworm::coffee: Thanks.
 
Back
Top