8/8 Bob AMPS=318 It's official....no bouncing..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL! Happy Fursday! One more day....

Well, I have determined that Bob is NOT bouncing. The days he went low since the transition to YA were days he was not eating. Now that I look back, I think a big reason he was so low on the wet food is that he probably wasn't even getting 100 calories a day. Every now and then he would actually EAT the food, but most of the time, he just licked it and, of course, sometimes he just ignored it. Sigh.

So, the YA is not making as big of an impact on his BG as I hoped, so now I must accept it and figure out what to do. I've decided to go with the SLGS protocol. I think it will be better on both of us with my schedule (I can increase him on the weekends and keep an eye on him). I did increase Bob to 1.5 this morning because he is staying high and flat. I probably will stay on the 1.5 through my trip and then start increasing by .25 once a week as needed. As long as he continues to eat, I'm sure he will be safe while I am gone.

Thank you so much Carl and Jane for the EXTREMELY early birthday wishes! Hector and Penelope pretty much forgot, but Bob left me a nice big hairball in the living room. I'm so confused as to where these are coming from. He's thrown one up every day. I thought it took time for a hairball to build up, but maybe they can barf them up every day. At least he's cleaning himself. I will be buying the Furminator from PetSupermarket tomorrow. Had to wait until payday because it's like $50! I think the kitties will like it though.

Thanks to everyone yesterday for the great hairball ideas! I hope everyone has a great day!
 
I would say they can hack up a hairball once a day... at least mine has done that in years past. I can usually predict that it's time for one when there is a lot of grooming.
That hair has to go somewhere.
Have a great day today.

happy+birthday!.gif
 
Thanks Rhiannon! What a cute kitty picture!!! I have no cake today, but I have homemade cookies! Yay! flip_cat
 
No cakes!!????? I fix! -- Tess, LL Chief Pastry Chef

Birthday-Cat_3.jpg


Dara, I might save on the Furminator and think about new insulin. I know it can go longer, but it doesn't suddenly go bad, it gradually loses potency. We just had the experience of a brand new pen that had lost potency. Tess's numbers went up to yellow, pink, red , even an increase didn't help. One day after getting a new Rx she was back in green. That pen had been properly stored in the fridge and never even taken out of the box. I would think about next time getting pens instead of the vial. Yes, a little more initial outlay, but you get 15ml instead of just 10 and each pen is sealed and lasts much longer unopened.
 
I don't use the pens either Dara, but I've seen a lot of talk about them. You get a box of 5 pens (3ml each)...and you just pull the insulin out of them, just like you'd do a vial (except don't add any air). They have a "dose dial", but that's for humans who aren't on such delicate doses as our sugarcats are and isn't exact enough.

You just use the syringes you've always used and pull the insulin out of the pen (it has a rubber stopper kind of like the vials do)

I've seen where some Target Stores will break a box of 5 up and let you buy one pen at a time, but this may vary from Target to Target.

The price is about the same as the 10ml vial, but since you only "Open" one at a time, the others stay sealed

There's also a Lantus Savings Card Program where you can sign up and get them for $25 per prescription (for 6 prescriptions). I'm pretty sure you have to sign up as someone without insurance and say you're taking care of a human child (they don't consider cats "children :cry: )
 
I'd had Nikki's insulin open since the end of April and as far as I know it was still effective. I still think the reason you aren't seeing the low numbers you did a couple weeks ago is because Bob is on a dose that's 1/4 what it was...Just IMO.


Either way, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! :RAHCAT Hope you take advantage of Bob's numbers to get out for a bit tonight! ;-) :YMHUG:
 
Thanks Chris for the Lantus information - I got the prescription card and it didn't even ask me who the prescription was for. it just let me print it. woo hoo! That will save me some big bucks! Thank you!!!

Hi Nikki - I just want to make sure Bob's getting the full potency from the insulin. I think the pens are a better deal, especially with that coupon. I'm hoping not to have to go up to 4.25 units again, but I just might. When Bob was on the regular dry food, he went from 1 unit to 4.25 units and it never changed a thing. He stayed in the yellows and pinks, just like now. I think his high numbers are from going back to dry food. I just hope with the zero carb, he won't have to go all the way back up to 4.25. Fingers crossed!
 
Oh yeah - thanks for bday wishes! I'm going out to eat with my parents. Might do something this weekend. I usually do something really fun for my bdays, but I just haven't been in the mood!
 
Hi Dara, Happy Birthday to you! Enjoy dinner with your parents. Good luck with whichever protocol you decide works best for you. You're getting a lot of good feedback on the insulin and which one is best. That's a great help with the coupon. Scritches to Bob.

I wanted to thank you for your condolences with the loss of Maggie.
 
Hi Ann - Thank you for stopping by and the birthday wishes!

I hope you are feeling a little better although I know, like most of us do, it takes a long time to get feeling back to normal.

have a good day!
 
Hey Dara! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I use the pens ......and, I also get from Target. You have to make MANY calls to see if someone MIGHT sell a single pen - I made 14 calls, had no luck. Try to call Cosco, Sam's Club, Targets and also smaller pharmacies. I know Kat, who lives maybe an hour or so away from me found a place that would just do one - I had no luck - BUT "my Target" sold the 5 pens for like $290 and honored $100 from that coupon so I got the FIVE pens for $190. I also keep the unused pens in the fridge and the "pen in use" in one of those plastic tumblers - you know the kind that you can stick a straw in the middle - I keep it in there, insulin side of the pen DOWN and I keep the lid screwed on the tumbler - I just feel it's extra insulation and because the tumbler is sort of big & bright orange stripe - it's sort of an extra caution to be careful around it. Fortunately we have two fridges and I keep in it the basement one that we don't use nearly as much.
It's easy to draw from and, as I THINK the pens have a lesser quantity than the vial, you don't have as long of a usage, therefore, less worry of potency? Let me know if you need any more info! I am FAR from the expert here but I know what has worked for me :-D

Bern
 
Happy Birthday Dara!
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT party_cat party_cat

Good luck with the new dose and using the SLGS Protocol. I use the SLGS Protocol for Furball because of my work schedule. One thing I have found is that using below 90 for a reduction doesn't work. Furball doesn't hold those reductions. If I use around 50, she holds them better.
 
Re: 8/8 Bob PMPS=211

Thanks Carla! I think it will work for me for the same reason. I can't keep taking all this time to come home and check on Bob. I have to work to buy his insulin!!! I increased him this morning and I'm already happy to see this 211 tonight. He's usually 300 or above. :smile:

Thanks for the bday wishes. I ate way too much today. Blah!

Have a great night!
 
Happy Birthday, Dara!!! Birthdays are for eating way too much :-D !

My Target is one of those that will sell the pens one at a time...it's $57 per pen. Ounce for ounce, the vial is cheaper, but we were never getting all the way through the vial, so we switched to the pen and are now able to use every last drop.

Enjoy the rest of your birthday!!!
 
Happy Birthday Dara!


Didn't know how many candles to put on the cake, so put lots of fresh raspberries instead. ;-)
 

Attachments

  • birthday cake raspberry.jpg
    birthday cake raspberry.jpg
    21.4 KB · Views: 544
Amy&TrixieCat said:
Happy Birthday, Dara!!! Birthdays are for eating way too much :-D !

My Target is one of those that will sell the pens one at a time...it's $57 per pen. Ounce for ounce, the vial is cheaper, but we were never getting all the way through the vial, so we switched to the pen and are now able to use every last drop.

Enjoy the rest of your birthday!!!

Hi Amy - thank you! I'm still full......

I called my target and they will sell me one pen for $67! What's that about?? Oh well, I got that coupon so I can use it somehow I guess. You can use it up to $600.00. We shall see...

Deb & Wink said:
Didn't know how many candles to put on the cake, so put lots of fresh raspberries instead.

Thanks Deb! I'm not one to care too much about my age (yet!). But I appreciate the raspberries instead of setting off the fire alarm!

Carl & Bob said:
You could have gone with standard "29"
Cake! Yum!

Dara, here's a video that shows how to get insulin from the pens and the vial.-

That's true - I could tell you guys I'm 18 and work out every day and could be a model and you would never know. :lol: Thanks for the video! I'm going to check it out now!
 
- I could tell you guys I'm 18

You could have thought of that when you joined the board... But at the bottom of the main index page where your name appears on the "birthday list" we'd know you were fibbing :-D

Just like BGs, age is "just a number" ;-)
 
Hi Dara, Hope Bob lets you enjoy your b'day dinner out this weekend. I also get a single pen from Target using the discount coupon. They know it is for a cat since the script is from my vet, and it says feline. But they still honor it, and they put the rx in Cleo's name. Good luck!

Jane
 
:RAHCAT :RAHCAT HaPpY BiRtHdAy DARA :RAHCAT :RAHCAT


found furminators on ebay for $28
keep up the good work BOB be good to mom
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top