8/8 Apple AMPS 272 Dental Surgery, not eating

Caren & Apple

Member Since 2019
Good morning...Apple had dental surgery, few teeth and difficult fragments. Refusing to eat pates, watered down or mixed with gravy. He'll only take a few licks of FF pate gravy, no pate. Because he's diabetic all the suggestions online, kitten milk or straight gravies, baby food, are not good for him. Does anyone know what I can feed him, that won't hurt him. He paws at his face on occasion and let out a snarly scream about 1/2 ago. He was given pain meds for two days, and nothing for today.
 
Baby food is fine for diabetics. Many of us have used it. Gerber 2nd foods ham, beef, chicken and turkey are very popular. They contain cornstarch but the important part is that Apple eats something, anything, because of the possibility of hepatic lipidosis. Beechnut and Goya make baby foods that are just meat and water. It's not suggested for long term because it's not balanced for cats, but you can safely feed him baby food for several weeks until he starts feeling better. You may need to try assist feeding with a syringe. Video demonstration linked below.

I hope he starts eating for you and feels better soon. Kitties can start running down the dosing ladder quickly after dentals so I would try to test him as often as he will allow to keep him safe.

 
Last edited:
Thank you, PerfumedCatMom-Good to know about the baby foods, it's certainly worth a try as an option. I got large syringes yesterday at CVS, but have been holding off due to the pain he's experiencing. We'll give that a try as well. Do you know anything about tuna juice, tuna in water, for a diabetic? Ok off to trying to find the baby food, thanks again, have a great day. I forgot to add his spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...5EC6CbekoWcUyJS9TE3P59Ybc/edit#gid=1683978764
Numbers are staying high due to the FF gravy, he was doing great before
 
Thank you, PerfumedCatMom-Good to know about the baby foods, it's certainly worth a try as an option. I got large syringes yesterday at CVS, but have been holding off due to the pain he's experiencing. We'll give that a try as well. Do you know anything about tuna juice, tuna in water, for a diabetic? Ok off to trying to find the baby food, thanks again, have a great day. I forgot to add his spreadsheet: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...5EC6CbekoWcUyJS9TE3P59Ybc/edit#gid=1683978764
Numbers are staying high due to the FF gravy, he was doing great before
Tuna or sardines in spring water without salt are perfectly fine short term if they will get him to eat. And don't worry so much about the numbers right now. If HC is all he will eat, then that's what needs to happen. :bighug:
 
Did your vet not give you buprenorphine for pain? My older kitty had a dental with extractions in May and giving pain meds is standard practice.

I agree with Katherine. Stage 2 baby food (I've used Gerber or Beechnut) is fine. Just make sure there are no onions or garlic in any baby food your considering. The gravy in most food may not have much by way of protein in it but if that's all Apple will consider eating, that's OK. Also, you can consider using broth (low sodium and no onions or garlic) instead of other liquids as s temporary option.
 
Did your vet not give you buprenorphine for pain? My older kitty had a dental with extractions in May and giving pain meds is standard practice.

I agree with Katherine. Stage 2 baby food (I've used Gerber or Beechnut) is fine. Just make sure there are no onions or garlic in any baby food your considering. The gravy in most food may not have much by way of protein in it but if that's all Apple will consider eating, that's OK. Also, you can consider using broth (low sodium and no onions or garlic) instead of other liquids as s temporary option.
Stage 2? I was just ordering Stage one thinking it would be easier to swallow....so it must be stage 2?
 
I'm not sure what the difference is between stage 1 and stage 2. Stage 2 is pudding-like in texture. It's a puree.

ETA: Stage 1 would be fine. I looked it up. It's a more watered down version of a single protein.
 
I'm not sure what the difference is between stage 1 and stage 2. Stage 2 is pudding-like in texture. It's a puree.

ETA: Stage 1 would be fine. I looked it up. It's a more watered down version of a single protein.
Oh thank you, we live in a rural area and even baby food is scarce but we did find the stage one. As far as pain medication, we were given 2 pills, one per day..threw away the package so I can't say what it was. This is his first day without
 
I suspect that Apple's mouth hurts. It's also a bit nonsensical to expect a caregiver to pill a cat that's just had dental surgery! Buprenorphine can be given as a liquid that, using a syringe without a needle, you squirt into the cheek pocket or under the tongue so it's absorbed by the skin.

You could probably puree any protein in a blender so it was smooth and then water it down. You could even use a cat food that Apple likes.
 
I suspect that Apple's mouth hurts. It's also a bit nonsensical to expect a caregiver to pill a cat that's just had dental surgery! Buprenorphine can be given as a liquid that, using a syringe without a needle, you squirt into the cheek pocket or under the tongue so it's absorbed by the skin.

You could probably puree any protein in a blender so it was smooth and then water it down. You could even use a cat food that Apple likes.
Yes, it hurts him horribly as displayed by the pawing at the mouth and snarling, hiding under furniture. How long was your cat on the Buprenorphine? I'll demand it tomorrow, if you tell me it was more than 2 days.
 
I just dug out the instructions from my vet. It didn't say how long but I know it was more than 2 days.

Also, did they do post-dental x-rays? If not, they should have. It's the only way to know that they got all of the tooth roots or any fragments out. If any are remaining, it could be the cause for discomfort.
 
I just dug out the instructions from my vet. It didn't say how long but I know it was more than 2 days.

Also, did they do post-dental x-rays? If not, they should have. It's the only way to know that they got all of the tooth roots or any fragments out. If any are remaining, it could be the cause for discomfort.
There was no mention of post op dental and there's nothing on the bill. I'll certainly bring that up tomorrow. Thanks for the info, I'll get those x-rays done.
 
Great information! Thank you all. Shooter goes in for a dental tomorrow. The estimate doesn't show anything about pain medication for home. It just shows an injection of ampicilin and meloxicam. I do have gabapentin liquid at home but I'm afraid he's going to run around foaming at the mouth with it being so bitter. Is buprenorphine the same?

Caren I sure hope Apple starts eating better soon. This whole thing, before and after, is nerve racking, isn't it?? :(
 
What did Apple get done? What extractions and how long ago? How many extractions and were any of them the canine teeth? You need to be careful for a few days and may want to really try to coax him to lick off your finger etc before attempting a syringe in his mouth for eating (squirting Buprenex in cheek pocket is fine). Gotta be careful of the stitches (if they even put those in there), if not, you don't want to open up any wounds.

Chessie had a Buprenorphine shot that lasted 2 days. After that she had oral Buprenex for many days afterwards it honestly all depends on the patient and how much pain medication and for how long it is needed. If he is snarling and the surgery was 2 days ago or less, it could also be a reaction to either the anethesia or the injectable Buprenex. Those are heavy hitters and can really wig cats out. I ended up giving Chessie some sub q fluids b/c she refused to drink water, and I was trying to help flush the anethesia etc out of her system. She really got quite sick. These things can be tough on seniors.
 
What did Apple get done? What extractions and how long ago? How many extractions and were any of them the canine teeth? You need to be careful for a few days and may want to really try to coax him to lick off your finger etc before attempting a syringe in his mouth for eating (squirting Buprenex in cheek pocket is fine). Gotta be careful of the stitches (if they even put those in there), if not, you don't want to open up any wounds.

Chessie had a Buprenorphine shot that lasted 2 days. After that she had oral Buprenex for many days afterwards it honestly all depends on the patient and how much pain medication and for how long it is needed. If he is snarling and the surgery was 2 days ago or less, it could also be a reaction to either the anethesia or the injectable Buprenex. Those are heavy hitters and can really wig cats out. I ended up giving Chessie some sub q fluids b/c she refused to drink water, and I was trying to help flush the anethesia etc out of her system. She really got quite sick. These things can be tough on seniors.
He had his surgery on Thursday, 8/5. He was sent home with 2 pills, for pain. He ate a little after surgery, at home, Thursday and a little on Friday. Saturday/Sunday he's barely licked gravy. He had one canine that was extracted, one tooth and fragments. Apple is 8 years old. He was also a maniac for 2 days, running, jumping etc., it didn't seem like he slept at all. I'm really worried and wonder if I should continue the forced feeding whether he likes it or not?? I'm going in the back and keeping it in that pocket area, barely in his mouth.
 
Great information! Thank you all. Shooter goes in for a dental tomorrow. The estimate doesn't show anything about pain medication for home. It just shows an injection of ampicilin and meloxicam. I do have gabapentin liquid at home but I'm afraid he's going to run around foaming at the mouth with it being so bitter. Is buprenorphine the same?

Caren I sure hope Apple starts eating better soon. This whole thing, before and after, is nerve racking, isn't it?? :(
I wish you and Shooter a very pleasant experience. After reading all the great outcomes from other cat moms, I'm really upset Apple is going through this.
 
@Heather82372
Meloxicam (Metacam) is a non-steroidal anti-inflammatory that's used for pain. However, in the US, it carries an FDA black box warning for it's use in cats. It can cause renal failure. I won't permit it's. use for my cats and my current vet, who is a feline specialist, will not use it.
 
I just dug out the instructions from my vet. It didn't say how long but I know it was more than 2 days.

Also, did they do post-dental x-rays? If not, they should have. It's the only way to know that they got all of the tooth roots or any fragments out. If any are remaining, it could be the cause for discomfort.
The most important question I forgot to ask...if he's not eating we can't get the shot. How long can he go without one, and what constitutes a meal, certainly not a few licks
 
Did you give Apple a shot today? If so, the only numbers on your SS is your AMPS.

A cat needs to have eaten in 2 - 3 days otherwise there can be complications involving the liver.
 
He had his surgery on Thursday, 8/5. He was sent home with 2 pills, for pain. He ate a little after surgery, at home, Thursday and a little on Friday. Saturday/Sunday he's barely licked gravy. He had one canine that was extracted, one tooth and fragments. Apple is 8 years old. He was also a maniac for 2 days, running, jumping etc., it didn't seem like he slept at all. I'm really worried and wonder if I should continue the forced feeding whether he likes it or not?? I'm going in the back and keeping it in that pocket area, barely in his mouth.
  1. I know that canine extractions can be painful. Do you know if they gave Buprenex injection before sending him home? Also can you ask if they sutured that wound? It’s a pretty big hole if not so I would monitor to make sure no infection. Chessie had a lot of pain and weird behavior on the injectable version of Bupe (a lot stronger and more potent than what you put on the gums). It also takes about 3 days for anesthesia and that buprenex injection to wear off so I would expect him to start being more normal as of today. Has he improved at all today less snarling etc? Also Chessie wouldn’t eat anything either. Except her HARD food ugh. So I watered it down real good and she still ate it that way. The Gerber baby food meat was also helpful I would put some on her nose so she had to lick off and when she realized it was yummy she would lick from my finger. Definitely would not self start eating wet food like your kitty.
 
  1. I know that canine extractions can be painful. Do you know if they gave Buprenex injection before sending him home? Also can you ask if they sutured that wound? It’s a pretty big hole if not so I would monitor to make sure no infection. Chessie had a lot of pain and weird behavior on the injectable version of Bupe (a lot stronger and more potent than what you put on the gums). It also takes about 3 days for anesthesia and that buprenex injection to wear off so I would expect him to start being more normal as of today. Has he improved at all today less snarling etc? Also Chessie wouldn’t eat anything either. Except her HARD food ugh. So I watered it down real good and she still ate it that way. The Gerber baby food meat was also helpful I would put some on her nose so she had to lick off and when she realized it was yummy she would lick from my finger. Definitely would not self start eating wet food like your kitty.
Unfortunately, she sent us home with two pain pills. He did get sutures at the canine site. I got him to eat a little baby food, but it's still a little granular even in the first stage jar. He did drink the juice out of the tuna cans as well. Thanks for the reply Margaret and Pearl.
 
Did you give Apple a shot today? If so, the only numbers on your SS is your AMPS.

A cat needs to have eaten in 2 - 3 days otherwise there can be complications involving the liver.
He did manage a small amount of the Stage on Chicken baby food, maybe two syringes full, that he licked. Another two syringes of the spring water in the tuna can, and we gave him his shot. Let me fill in the numbers on the spread sheet. I only got a +5 amps and his most recent at 5:00 p.m. est, 316
 
What 1st stage Gerber did you find? I wasn't aware they made any meat in other than their 2nd stage. I thought 2nd stage is when babies are introduced to meat?

Beechnut baby food in beef flavor is not granular at all, and 0% carb. The Beechnut turkey and chicken are granular.
Gerber Ham is 11% and Gerber Beef is 13% but any food is better than no food!
 
Caren it looks like you gave Apple insulin before taking him for his dental? I was told not to give any because of the fasting overnight. Is this incorrect?
 
@Heather82372
It's less of an issue of having been fasted overnight. You do not want to give your cat food before anesthesia so you would not be feeding your cat the morning of the dental -- hence either no insulin or a very reduced dose. Additionally, anesthesia can lower BG so it should be monitored while the cat is at the vet's office.
 
What 1st stage Gerber did you find? I wasn't aware they made any meat in other than their 2nd stage. I thought 2nd stage is when babies are introduced to meat?

Beechnut baby food in beef flavor is not granular at all, and 0% carb. The Beechnut turkey and chicken are granular.
Gerber Ham is 11% and Gerber Beef is 13% but any food is better than no food!
Yes it was 1st stage, they didn't have any second.. it was the chicken, I believe we got some beef, I'll check and try it. Thanks for the info
 
We gave him half dose, per instructions and no food after midnight. It was a 10 a.m. appt.

I am DREADING the morning! He usually starts crying for food at 6:30am. We don't leave for the vet until 8:00am. He is going to SCREAM for an hour and a half. I just might have to leave the house during that time. And what about the 2 other cats? How do I feed them without him knowing? I feel so bad/sad for him already. :(
 
I am DREADING the morning! He usually starts crying for food at 6:30am. We don't leave for the vet until 8:00am. He is going to SCREAM for an hour and a half. I just might have to leave the house during that time. And what about the 2 other cats? How do I feed them without him knowing? I feel so bad/sad for him already. :(
That part was particularly hard..Apple eats all the time, his last meal is 3:00 a.m. leaving 2 hours before his test at 5:00 a.m. I had to put the other cats in a room and feed them, while he waited outside the door :(
 
Back
Top