Tooloo
Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=101729
I forgot to put in a topic on my last post, and it disappeared.
So here we go again. I printed out the information on tight regulation protocol and also the information on the looser protocol. I'll study them both.
Today, his AMPS was 115, and since I was going to be gone all day, I didn't shoot. I got home at 6:45 and he tested 110. This was with no a.m. shot! Waited 1/2 hour and tested again - 139. Since it was going up, and since I'm gone again tomorrow and don't want to give a very large dose in the morning, I went ahead and gave him the 1.25 dose. I'll test again before bed and likely get up in the night to test one more time - maybe more.
The problem I have is that I'm gone all day most Mondays through Thursdays. That varies some, but most of the time, that's my schedule. Can I do the tight regulation protocol with this schedule? Obviously not exactly since I can't test frequently on those days.
I'm canceling the vet appt. on Friday. The vet history is this: About 3 weeks ago he was diagnosed; two weeks ago vet showed me how to shoot insulin and prescribed 2 units twice a day with NO testing for 2 weeks. Then they would do the full day curve (Friday's appt.) and sell me an AlphaTrak for $386. He almost immediately showed signs of hypo on the 2 units. I reduced dose and started testing with Relion Confirm. I can do the curve myself on Friday or Saturday. So I don't see the point in going back. It's a $200 appointment and stress to my kitty. I know they mean well, but I think they lack data.
My spreadsheet is updated if anyone wouldn't mind looking at it - you've all been a great help. I could use further advice. Should I continue to try and stick with the tight regulation protocol despite my schedule?
Thanks again!
I forgot to put in a topic on my last post, and it disappeared.
Today, his AMPS was 115, and since I was going to be gone all day, I didn't shoot. I got home at 6:45 and he tested 110. This was with no a.m. shot! Waited 1/2 hour and tested again - 139. Since it was going up, and since I'm gone again tomorrow and don't want to give a very large dose in the morning, I went ahead and gave him the 1.25 dose. I'll test again before bed and likely get up in the night to test one more time - maybe more.
The problem I have is that I'm gone all day most Mondays through Thursdays. That varies some, but most of the time, that's my schedule. Can I do the tight regulation protocol with this schedule? Obviously not exactly since I can't test frequently on those days.
I'm canceling the vet appt. on Friday. The vet history is this: About 3 weeks ago he was diagnosed; two weeks ago vet showed me how to shoot insulin and prescribed 2 units twice a day with NO testing for 2 weeks. Then they would do the full day curve (Friday's appt.) and sell me an AlphaTrak for $386. He almost immediately showed signs of hypo on the 2 units. I reduced dose and started testing with Relion Confirm. I can do the curve myself on Friday or Saturday. So I don't see the point in going back. It's a $200 appointment and stress to my kitty. I know they mean well, but I think they lack data.
My spreadsheet is updated if anyone wouldn't mind looking at it - you've all been a great help. I could use further advice. Should I continue to try and stick with the tight regulation protocol despite my schedule?
Thanks again!