8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304/ 4 232/ 7 256 back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76497&p=827413#p827413
Yesterday:
Yesterday was another red & purple day for Rosy. Completed the 6th cycle on the 1u insulin BiD Planned to have a dose increae to 1.25u but put on halt... Did not turn on the aircon till PMPS as I wanted to see if the temp has an effect on Rosy's bg, but no, it is not the case.
Today:
Took Rosy to vet for check up & blood work. Rosy weigh 4.2kg vs the 4kg in Feb. I do noticed she has loss a bit of weight these 2 weeks. Everything normal on physical checking. Vet noticed there is a small bulge at one side of her inner thigh, canbe a hernia but not an issue need to be addressed. The blood work came out fine. Nothing suspicious, just the white blood cell a tiny bit elevated. Vet suspected canbe parasite worm or something, will prescribe deworm med. Thyroid everything normal. He did not do a urinalysis as he did not think it is necessary to bring an extra trama since I did a swap check on her urine yesterday & found everything normal other than a glucose of 50/2.8
He did a bg test from the blood which read 216
Because of the lowered PS bg this morning, I did not increase Rosy's dose, kept her at 1u to see how she's doing today. I think an increase is inevitable, but hesitate to increase by a full 0.25u Judging from her bg recorded this week, the 0.25u is required ( Oh! I'm going in round! :lol: )

AMPS 155 gave canned food & 1u (w food at +2)
+3 374 this is an hr after food
+5 216 record from vet office

@Jane, Roni, Sienne, Marjorie, Michelle, Ella, Pip, Melain, Libby, ann, Lisa, Dyana ( wow! everybody on the LL family!)
Thankyou for all your support, couragement & visiting Rosy's condo!
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

PMPS 304 gave canned dinner & 1u
Will increase dose to 1.25u tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

Good luck with the new dose when you do the increase. I'm glad everything looks pretty good, at the vet visit.

Enjoy your evening. I'm off to work.
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

Vet stress induced pmps? Tarragon goes high with a vetty visit. Glad to hear everything looked good at the visit. Now come on down Rosy. It's all over and your back home with your bean. Have a great night Helen!!
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

PMPS 155 gave canned food & 1u (w food at +2)
+3 374 this is an hr after food
+5 216 record from vet office
I'm confused. You tested at PMPS, fed, and then shot at +2? Or, do you mean you fed again at +2?

That's a HUGE food spike. Can you make sure you know what the carb content is of what you're feeding? For example, it looks like you're feeding Wellness Core. The fish flavor of Core is 13% carb. The chicken/turkey flavor is 8%. The fish variety is clearly medium carb. I'm beginning to wonder if the variation in Rosy's numbers are food-related.
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

That's good news about the b/w! I hope the deworm med will clear things up for her. Now let's see you come down, Rosy, nice and smooth for your MomBean. Take care, Helen.
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

Good Evening Helen.....good luck with new dose, if you decide to do it. Rosy's amps looked good. Lots of cats get higher bg numbers from vet visit stress, that could be the answer to tonight's higher ps.

In answer to your question about vet visits for Checkers. He goes for routine physicals about once a year, and when he appears to not feel well. He's 16, with imperfect kidneys, and a bad disk in his spine, near tail.

I'm glad Rosy's vet visit and bloodwork went well. :-D
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

@ Sienne
That is PMPS 304 gave canned dinner & 1u

The AM cycle reading was
AMPS 155 (I was shocked to see this blue) gave breakfast (Core +Wiskas LC) & 1u
food also given at +2
+3 374 ( I began to doubt my AMPS reading because that was little blood sample there) canbe food induced
+5 216 (this is a reading from the vet using blood drawn from vein & tested on a Xcel tester; I am using Bayer)

I am using half half Core mixed with Wiskas chicken loaf for Rosy because I believe the Core is of better quality. Other than Core, I am also using the Ziwipeak to mix with Wiskas. Rosy have been eating this mix since March.
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

You may have been feeding this since March but you need to consider the carb counts. If you are seeing unexpectedly higher numbers, I'm thinking it's the carbs.
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304 back from vet

Hi guys .. I am glad the vetty visit went well .. it always feels like a huge weight off the back when vet visits and blood work comes out good, isn't it? I wonder if Sienne is right, and if you started messing around with lower carb foods if you would see lower numbers from rosy .. just a thought anyways ..
 
Re: 8/7 Rosy AMPS 155/ PMPS 304/ 4 232 back from vet

PM +4 232 gave steamed chicken an hr ago. Rosy has throw up, canbe caused by the grass she ate.

@Sienne , Devon
We dont have much choice on LC canned food listed in HK. We dont have the FF classic here. The Wellness Core is & Ziwipeak is listed and I am already using . The Australian made Wiskas chicken loaf type was kindly confirmed by Serryn to be a LC. Ive tried to add in more home cooked so as to have a guarantee to it's LC.
 
Hi Helen,
I've been out most of the day and just want to wish you and Rosy good luck with the dose increase tomorrow morning. Give it time to settle in.

Have a good night. I'm glad that all checked out OK at the vet's.

Hugs from us,

Ella & Rusty
 
Vetty visits are often stressful for kitties, and it may take a cycle to clear back to lower numbers. Good luck on the dosecrease, and Rosy, work that juice! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top