8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375 +9/343 pmps 296 +6/302 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375 +9/343 pmps 296 +6/302

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member since 2011
last condo 8/1

we've got some pretty ugly numbers going this week. i think punkin's tumor has revved back up - his dose and numbers keep going up. i've increased his dose and now we're back up to 9 units *sigh.* today i noticed his pupils are blown open again. that acro tumor doesn't want to give up, it seems.

he does seem better with the C Diff, however. i got a refill on the prescription and his poop has been normal for about a week now. i'm continuing to give him probiotics with the metronidazole. overall he seems to feel better.

i'm continuing to use R on him to try to knock off these horrible highs, but always aware that i don't want to cause a terrible plummet in numbers either. it's such a balancing game. i pretty much use it post-nadir to prevent the rise, but i used it just now to try to keep him going up any farther. he's bouncing now from blues yesterday.

on a happier note, he continues to be a member of the CPC even though he doesn't really like the merrick's. i mix it with the crappier friskies to get him to eat, and he accepts it.

my daughter is here for a couple of days with her cat and punkin was delighted when anya and jackson were so busy hissing at each other that they ignored their chicken pieces - so punkin slipped in like Stealth Cat and ate it for them. what a good boy! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375

Julie, sorry to hear that Punkin has you doing the two step dance up again. He's now above Neko but that could change again next week. It all sounds very frustrating. I've often wondered if I should be using R to knock back those ugly numbers. I am glad to hear that the C Diff seems to be winding down, that one would definitely impact how he is feeling.

Enjoy your time with your daughter.
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375

Hey, Julie -

Sorry to hear about Punkin's yucky numbers. :sad: So sweet of him to 'take care' of the chicken pieces! :lol:

Have fun with your daughter!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375

Shasta and I are sending HUGE ((HUGS)) :YMHUG: to you and Punkin! Hope his numbers start to stabilize in the "good" range. Please tell your sneaky boy that we're sending happy thoughts and healing vines!

Deborah & sassy Shasta
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375

I'm sorry to hear that Punkin is needing more insulin again, bu it's great that the C. Diff is doing better. Poor kitty!! It's so sweet that Punkin helped out with the chicken treats :lol: !
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375 +9/343

julie & punkin said:
my daughter is here for a couple of days with her cat and punkin was delighted when anya and jackson were so busy hissing at each other that they ignored their chicken pieces - so punkin slipped in like Stealth Cat and ate it for them. what a good boy!
a kitty after Lucy's heart. :roll: No chicken goes to waste around here. Good boy to take care of that extra food for them.

Stoopid tumor... but good job trying to get ahead of it.
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375 +9/343

(((Julie))) I agree with Libby....stoooopid tumor but Punkin is so lucky to have you because you are on top of it all the time. Glad the clostridium is taking a bit of a break and Punkin is doing better.

Miss you!!!
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375 +9/343

As long as Punkin is feeling better, that's all that's important. I love the image of Punkin in stealth cat mode.

591b702f-be4a-42df-8058-aafc77839fe0.jpg
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375 +9/343

Yay for punkin having a good appy! :-D :-D And normal poos! Detective Poo is quite happy about that. As for the tumor: :-x .
Liz
 
Re: 8/7 punkin amps 321 +5/375 +9/343

hahaha love the Stealth Cat pic! he didn't have to work very hard to be stealthy - anya and jackson are both in high hiss mode at each other and he basically just walked in and ate it all. love that kitter.

i'm raising him by a unit tomorrow morning, getting a vetty appt and having her do blood work to check for any infection. he had more than a unit of R today in addition to his 9u doses. these high numbers are making me into a crazed woman. i feel like the mama bear needing to defend my little guy. :sad:

i appreciate everybody's comments - i am discouraged.
 
(((Julie)))

I'm so sorry to read that Punkin's tumour is having inferiority complex issues and seems to be feeling the need to overcompensate for that. Blasted, wretched, rotten bastard! I can only imagine the frustration of having to stay ahead of this type of development, but what I can say is that I'm amazed at the tremendous job you're doing! I'm glad that at least, for what little it's worth, you can vent a little here when it gets to be too much. Even from afar, I've always found the support here in LL (and on FDMG overall) is simply incredible.

Good luck with the increase today (it's the 8th of August here already :mrgreen:). I will send you lots and more lots of vines for the new dose to work well for Punkin, and for the vet appointment of course. Punkin has seriously hit the jackpot with you as his bean, working so very hard to defend him from the evil tumour monster attacks! Hang in there!!




Hugs and vines!
Jane
 
Hey Julie!!

Looks like Sushi & Punkin are on the same pogo stick these past few days; we need to go out there and tell them to stop playing and come inside! ;-)

I also feel Punkin's pain--I had C Diff earlier this year (one of the many health issues of the year). Ohhh my let me tell you it was NOT fun! :shock: Give Punkin some pets for me and tell him I said "I feel ya brotha!"
Can humans get C Diff from cats? I'm still baffled at how I ended up with it...

LOL your hiss story made me remember that last night, Sushi was harassing his sister at his usual 4am party. She was hissing and growling at him, which 1/2 wakes me up, (I'm always in such a lovely mood when this happens!) and I hear hiss growl booooing! :lol: She ran into the door stopper in the midst of her defense! Needless to say I turned from 1/2 asleep grouchy to 1/2 asleep LOL :lol: :lol:
 
Punkin???? whatcha doing up there? did you steal Rupies trampoline?????? get back down here right this instant!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top