8/7 Napoleon AMPS - 397 PMPS 446 +4.5~ 335

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21677

We had quite an eventful PMPS number situation last night and ending up shooting one hour late and only a BCS. So much thanks to Ronnie and Libby for getting me though that one. 54 PMPS is not the easiest judgment call for a mommabean :dizcat
 
Re: 8/7 Napoleon AMPS - 397 +4 391- Is this a foolish idea?

I have a strong instinct to take him down to 2.75u. One being that this Thursday I am leaving for vacation for 5 days and my mom will be taking care of him. I don't want him dropping as low as he has and her not being able to reach me (I'm going to Canada) if he drops lower.

But I was having a thought and this is where I guess I need to know if I am, wrong - could he be rebounding so very much because he is just dropping TOO low, maybe? Too low for him? When he has been dropping it has been in the 40 and 50s. If I could maybe keep him 60s, 70s, 80s. He wouldn't rebound so much. Ronnie had also suggested feeding smaller meals may help with the bounces too. Just a thought, almost like something is pulling me to the 2.75 - but I would appreciate some input also so I make the right decision. Thanks guys!
 
Re: 8/7 Napoleon AMPS - 397 +4 391- Is this a foolish idea?

I think your PZI brain is showing. ;-)

Normally we find that the solution to bouncing is to either hold the dose and wait for it to stop, or to increase the dose and feed to prevent lows. In this case, I don't think Napoleon is ready for an increase, especially if you'll be going out of town. It can take a while for the bouncing to stop, but it will - check out Lucy's spreadsheet. Now we know more about manipulating curves with food, so if I was doing it again I probably would increase her dose more aggressively, and space out her meals at PS, +1, +2, +3 to help prevent her from dropping fast. Even without doing that, her bouncing did stop. I would hold this dose as long as you can.

Does your mom test? Does she know how to measure the insulin? Usually when someone is leaving a cat with a petsitter, we suggest lowering the dose and having the dose be something that can be measured on a line. Once we get closer to Thursday, it will be easier to know what dose will be safe.
 
Re: 8/7 Napoleon AMPS - 397 +4 391- Is this a foolish idea?

Thank you Libby.
I guess my concern was that he was going too low when he did go low. But if he is staying above 50, he should be fine right?
This does makes sense after your explanation and you are right about my PZI brain :lol: It rears its head now and again. "He's rebounding! He's rebounding! Somogyi!!" is what I tell myself.

My mom does test - she has gotten much better at it in the past week or so getting it every time whereas before she would say he fought her sometimes. He doesn't anymore, he just sits down for her now just like for me. She does know how to measure the insulin also, she has cared for him before when I have gone on vacation and has done a great job, but she was not testing at that time and he was never going as low as he is now.
 
Re: 8/7 Napoleon AMPS - 397 +4 391- Is this a foolish idea?

Napoleon...what a day you had yesterday....all those pretty greens! I bet you can find them again soon!
(or, maybe some blues...yes...blues would be nice too!) :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top