8/7 Mannie PMPS 327, +2 283, +3 286, +4 250, +5 275

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle and Mannie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning LL!, ~O) ~O) ~O) and Happy Caturday!!

Yesterday's Condo

8/6 RECAP (vet day):
amps 165
+1 207
+2 203
+3 204
+6 347 pre-vet
+8 353 post-vet
pmps 383
+2 300
+3 187
+4 148
+5 100
+6 93


WOW -and what a day yesterday... Mannie survived his trip to the vet - with little affect on his BG numbers. We had a short lived bounce, only to wind up the day in green :mrgreen: It is nice to see him wind up his day(s) in the greens. We start today mid yellow - with a 245. Nice too to not see a pink start - hooray!

Mannie is in good spirits this morning. The vaccinations he received yesterday seem to have little affect on him, he is as alert this morning as he always is. Breffis #1 and #2 consumed, still keeping his status active as a member of the clean plate club. Funny - he disappeared for a bit last night about 8PM - found him out on the grass, rolling, rubbing and chewing: winding up his evening adventure on his back, belly soaking up the last few rays of sun. I hated to bring him in - he was so in the groove. This morning he's back to surveying the outdoors from his window perch, getting all the sniffs he can, waiting for the door to open and morning rounds to begin. Normalcy in Mannie-land.

Hey LL buddies! I am all better from my trip to that nasty vetty place. Thanks to my buddies who helped me get rid of the vetty smell - the parties were so grand. it was great to hang you with Moonie for a while so she wouldn't be lonely while her bean is away. And Shad-O and I compared vetty-bean notes. The "dislike the vet place" party was such fun. I feel all better now, even with my shaved belly... See you guys later - maybe we can surf some together. ~~ Mannie

Happy Caturday everyone!
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245

Happy Saturday morning to you two! Very nice mid yellow for Mannie after that wonderful night last night!
You are amazing with all the wonderful test you get during the night! How do you do it? @-)

Mannie....what a great night that was....!!!
I asked my Mommy if I could get my tummy shaved too cause it is SO kewl!
She said "no". just like that. And then she said "just becauze" so I guess I can't have
a kewl belly like you do.... :sad:
Well buddy, I hope you have a great day today!
Let's all do a conference all to Moonie, okay?
Talk later!
Shad-O
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245

Hey Mannie, That was a good get-the-vet-smell-out gathering last night. I'll remember it when I have to go to the vet on Monday!! We're both in yellow this morning, and I want to go surfing later, so let's plan something, OK?

Stu

Hi Michelle, Great numbers for Mannie, and it's wonderful that his vet appointment went well. I'm a bit apprehensive about giving Stu the antibiotic before I have a proper diagnosis, but the alternative of waiting 3 days to start medication when he might need it now persuaded me to go ahead. (one of the drawbacks of living in the country).
What do you have planned for today? A nice hike? We hope to get out to paddle later.

Ella
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245

Hi All!

Hey Ella - I hear you on the AB. I read all the comments last night, understood the others point of view, but kept thinking -it's three days to wait for a proper diagnosis, if you get it that day at all, and wow - long time. I would have done what you did... And hope I made the right decision. I just think you made the one you had to make... This morning I am off for a morning walk/trek/hike to the shore, and will stop in at the coffee shop on the way home - it's a nice little outing, gets me about 8 miles. Rain is coming - can see it on the radar, so think out this AM before it hits... after that - rest! All the physical labor of the past week has worn me out - achy back, legs, all... one of these days I will figure out how to "slow down" huh?? what is that!

Hi Pat! It was a great night for Mannie - especially after a vet day. :lol: on the night testing... Mannie is on a 4:30 AM/PM shoot time - a holdover from my working days - but I have kept it, mainly because it's nice to have his +6 happen at night when I would normally still be up, getting ready to end the day. It's just easier for me to do that, rather than get up mid-night to look for his nadir. i just don't always hear the alarm.....

Hey Shad-O! I am so happy !!!!! that you like my shaved belly. Only drawback - it gets so cold at night... BRRRRRR, so keep your fur my friend! Agreed with Moonie! We need to keep her company! ~~ Mannie

Stu! You are on! See you very soon! and hey - after your vetty appt we will get together and get rid of that smell, and get you ready for your trip to NYC. DUDE! the BIG city - you are sooooooo lucky! See you soon!! ~~ Mannie

200 @ +2. hmmmmm - down, and dropping already, and might be a busy morning for him. better walk while I can. I fed 1 tsp HC, looking to slow the drop.
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200

glad to see Mannie did so well with the vet visit and hit green!
Let's see some more of those great numbers Mannie
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200

I'm glad to see that Mannie got to green last night and his amps was pretty good today. :-D I hope he gives you some good weekend numbers.
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200

Just catching up on all your adventures. Bear Man wants his twin to know that he has one of "those" shaves too, and he finds it very .... breezy.
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200

Great to see the yellow AMPS!!! I had the same...but just barely! I think Lightning was closer to orange than yellow! :-D Hope Mannie continues to drop....but slowly....Have a great day!!
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +5 270

Bear Man! They got you too????? OMG dude - what is with our beans! uh.... yeah..... breezy.... :oops: i bet you are like me - the rest of my fluff is so long that you can't really see my belly. :? phew! ~~ Hey - you be cool! We should hang out one of these days. See ya! ~~ Mannie

Hi all! Nice morning yes! I think I may have overdone the HC to slow the drop - we are back up to 270.... who knows. :roll: maybe his internal organs said - noooooo, not yet, you had green last night. :shock:

270 @ +5
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +5 270

Hi Michelle and Mannie!

Glad the bad vetty visit wasn't too bad! Nice green for Mannie last night.....lets see more of that!
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +5 270, +8 290

CHLOE!! I HAVE MISSED YOU!!!!!! You need to make a return visit to camp Mannie - it would be so cool! Your bean told my bean that you are on such a small dose now - that is just the best, maybe soon you will be - well, you know. It will be a while for me... See ya soon! ~~ Mannie

Hey Chris! Chloe sure is looking well - what great numbers she is. Very very nice! Yep - vetty visit was OK - will see what all the tests show, but he seems fine. The other two however need dentals, so oh goodie! I hope work is better for you - it sounded very crazy. Hope too that the recent changes in your area work out well.

290 @ +8 - up we go - I hope he levels out some...
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +5 270, +8 290

Michelle, what is with our stinkin' kitties and these yellow surfs?! When Mannie visited green last night, I hope you waved hello from me. :lol: Have a great weekend!

Mannie-
It was so good to see you at the parties last night! Don't worry, by the end you didn't smell like the vet at all. I know what it's like to have a bald tummy. When I started eating wet food, I lost all the fur on my belly (it was totally bald!!). My bean said that I am allergic to fish, and my fur has grown back but not as thick as my other fur. I thought everyone would make fun of me, but no one did except my stupid brother. He doesn't know anything anyway, so I don't care. Anyway, it will be nicer without the mats, PLUS your bean won't be chasing you with scissors and a brush. Sounds like we're having a party at Stu's on Monday to get rid of his vet smell, so I'll see you then!
<3, Buzz
P.S. Maybe we should surf the blues tonight, just for a change of scenery?
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +5 270, +8 290, PMPS 327

327 @ pmps. Mannie............ :YMSIGH:

and for anyone's amusement... Mannie's BW came back - which looks good. I have yet to get a copy, but the vet says all is OK. She did say that I Mannie's BG while there was a 403 (well, duh - poor guy was so stressed) and that she feels I need to stop feeding him wellness, as it is no good brought on the 403, that I should feed him MD if I ever want any hope of remission. WHAT? wellness sucks, and MD is great ??- what is that anyways 14% carbs??? OMG ohmygod_smile I smiled sweetly and said OK - sure we will go back to MD. as if! Now I really wish I had not forgotten Mannie's spreadsheet (dummie me left it at home on the table, by the door by the keys, by the carriers). :YMSIGH:

Hey Sarah! Of course we/he waved - coming down and going up - both directions! :lol: last nights greens were great, this pmps in pink is another heavy sigh. Though last night he started out at a 383, ended up with a 93. major diving involved - and I even fed that cycle, every test, with HC and gravy. :shock: crazy kitty. Slow tonight Mannie ok? Please?

BUZZ! no way - really? You had a food allergy and went naked? noooooo, that just must have been awful - and COLD. :lol: :lol: :lol: YES - no Scissors!!! They were on the table before I went to the vets - dodged another bullet.... See you later!! ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +5 270, +8 290, PMPS 327

Hey Mannie, We're both pink tonight. I bounced and you were flat yellow all day. Wonder what it all means? Then I got Clavamox all over my fur because I wouldn't open my mouth. Then this huge, fluffy white cat showed up at my back door and I wanted to chase it away, but the door wouldn't open. My beans were concerned because I don't have front claws (they were removed a long time ago, when one set of former beans had a baby). Boy, did I pound on that door. (the cat went away, so I guess I won?) I need cop cat lessons from you. Glad to hear your labs came back good, pal. I hope I have such good luck at the vet on Monday and then again in 2 weeks, when I get my first dental. See ya later. Let's get our numbers down and do some surfing.

Stu
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +5 270, +8 290, PMPS 327

Hey Mannie, My gosh what a horror yesterday must have been. My poor bud! At least no toofus cleaning. I missed the parties yesterday. Mom was freaking out, THERE WERE ANTS IN MY FOOD, there was WATER and that noisy monster came back!! I just hid in the tablecloths, nice and quiet there. Everything is moved around here when I came out so I had a time making sure that nothing was missing. Now she's upset about my nummers. :roll: What's up tonight? I need out!! -- Tess

Hi Michelle, I misse out on a lot yesterday! Oh MY, brave of you to take 3 at once and beautiful numbers last night. So glad all the tests came back fine.

You are right, that is the gel I use for Tess. It never seems to have effected her BG. Keep it refrigerated and it will last over 6 months. I put it in a smaller bottle, easier to use. I've used on Tess for years, she has always had tartar problems. I wonder if that is why it has been easy to start brushing her teeth.

Have a good night tonight, sorry I was AWOL just had to deal with things.
 
Re: 8/7 Mannie AMPS 245, +2 200, +8 290, PMPS 327, +2 283

283 @ +2 -- we seem to be on the move. kind of like last night. i have fed this with HC - it is hard for me to give HC with a 283 number, but have also learned that, with Mannie, when his +2 is much lower than the ps, that without it he just plummets quickly. At least the HC slows it some. Might be busy again tonight...

Hey Ann! Yep - yesterday was fun, omg - 3 at once... it just took forever 1.5 hours in a vets office with unhappy scared kitties. Mannie was so mad that he peed on their floor.... :oops: so far his labs looked good, will get a copy when I take the other two for their dentals this coming week. great - more $$$$. and thanks on the gel/rinse - i will give it a shot - we also use plaque-off, but no evidence so far that it is helping. Hope this stuff does - otherwise we are in there twice a year for dentals.... uh noooooooo! I hope all is well now with your household - no worries - we all knew you had things to take care of.

Stu! :shock: dude you spilled your meds? heeheehee - it is great huh when we refuse to open our mouths and our beans struggle to get that stupid thingie in there and they think they have when they haven't and then the stuff just is everywhere... it's my fav part. Did you get that cat - huh?!?!?!?!?!? You won buddy! you scared him away! Did you show your fangs? and make snarly noises? and hiss and spit on the glass? and the stare down - it's all in the stare down. I think you make a fine cop cat! I am so proud. You totally rock! And now worries - I will come and keep you company when you go to the vet, it you want. I agree - lets go surf! and We need to get Tess - she is really stressed out and wants to get away for a while... poor Tess - she had ants in her food!!!! DUDE!!! ~~ Mannie

Tess!!! OMG!!!!!!!! ANTS in your food????? Did they eat much? yes you need to get away - let's go to Stu's and we can surf - he's had the weirdest nummers - and a 25!!!!! and he too wants to get away. We could have a cookout on the beach and surf some. we will have to make up for the parties you missed yesterday - we had one at shadow's cuz he had been to vet and i had, and we had vetty smell so yeah - it was cool. anyways - let's go to Stu's and cook stuff on the beach and surf. See ya! ~~ Mannie
 
what's with all the flat yellow, Mannie, you have plans for tomorrow? :mrgreen:

I remember shortly after Lucy's diagnosis, one of her old vets excitedly gave me a printout of an article and told me that the article showed a great remission rate using DM canned food so I should think about switching. When I got home and read the article, it didn't say that at all! It was about Dr. Hodgkins and her tight regulation protocol for PZI along with a wet food diet. It did mention that she had created DM. I was happy that she was doing research and trying to find new information about diabetes, but it might have been helpful to actually read the article. :lol:
 
omg - that is too funny. and do ya think? What was funny to me, and the call from my vet, and her food diagnosis, was that she based that on one BG reading - taken at the vet office. one and one only. as if that reading was Mannie's whole diabetic life. :shock: I just said sure - because the bottom line is that she does support all that I do for Mannie, home testing,, dose adjustments, feeding schedules, all - haha, except maybe the type of food......
 
Nice and even there for Mannie, that doesn't happen often.

Interesting on the food discussion. I just finished reading Dr. Hodgkins' book. She didn't have a whole of good to say about the prescription diets. Her main focus was low carb or preferably a raw diet. I didn't know she had developed DM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top